We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little hotel.”
Review of Hotel Gregoriana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gregoriana
Ranked #411 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A great little hotel.”
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Located near the top of the Spanish Steps, the Hotel Gregoriana is a great place to stay.

The rooms are tastefully decorated in an "Erte" style, they are comfortable and impeccably clean.

Although within easy walking distance of many of the attractions of Old Rome, the hotel is both calm and quiet.

All of the staff are friendly and helpful. We were given great restaurant recommendations as well as suggestions for sightseeing and strolling around the city.

Breakfast is simple but adequate and, for a little extra, you can enhance it if you wish.

This would be our first choice for another stay in this part of Rome.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGregoriana, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gregoriana, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for having taken the time to share with us this kind review.

We really have appreciated your words and we are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Gregoriana.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in the future, in the meantime, please receive our kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    42
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
27
47
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, MD
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The room was comfortable and chic, though small. The location is terrific, near many attractions, but also on a very quiet street. We were able to check in early, as we arrived on an early morning flight, and we appreciated this.

The breakfast is small - rolls, toast, jam, and tea or coffee. Fresh fruit is not available without an extra charge.

Stefano at the front desk was very helpful in giving us directions and information on getting around the city.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the main floor, as they are only steps from the reception area.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SereneRockville_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGregoriana, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gregoriana, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for your kind review.

We are very pleased to read that you have appreciated the hotel and the location.

Regarding the breakfast, included in the room rate, we serve the classic continental breakfast with hot drinks, bread, croissant, biscuits and rusks by Gentilini, jam, honey, butter, spreadable cheese and 'Nutella'. Fresh fruit or juice, korn flakes, yogurt, eggs or ham are available with an extra charge.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in Rome, in the meantime, please receive our kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very nice 3 stars hotel. Clean, efficient, with very nice and helpful staff; especially at the reception.
The room was nicely furnished and the bathroom just lovely. The location is ideal: next to Piazza di Spagna. The Pantheon, Piazza Navona, Fontana di Trevi can easily be reached by foot. Via Condotti and via Frattina, the shopping streets are also nearby.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 3rd floor which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank switzerlandsunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGregoriana, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Gregoriana, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you very much for your kind review.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel Gregoriana and appreciated the work of the staff.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in the future, in the meantime, please receive our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, Usa
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My son and I stayed at the Hotel Gregoriana in March, and had a wonderful visit. We contacted Aldo, the innkeeper, prior to our visit, and he had a car waiting for us at the airport to bring us to the hotel (60 euros, which was very reasonable considering it was 7 a.m. and we were exhausted - the idea of catching a cab was not enticing at that hour with no sleep! The return trip was 50 euros, for a total of 110, payable in cash upon checkout).

We arrived at the hotel around 8:30 a.m., and our room was ready. Fantastic, as we were able to freshen up for our 1st day in Rome. We had Room M, right off the elevator, with a quaint balcony overlooking the internal courtyard. The room was quiet, and I am sure we would have spent more time on the balcony if the weather had been slightly warmer and drier. The room had hardwood floors and 2 twin beds that were pushed together. Perfect for us. The bathroom was modern, and all was clean and in great condition.

I cannot speak to the breakfast, since we were out the door early every morning, nor the television since we were tired at the end of each day and did not watch tv. I know the tv had english-language CNN, but I am not sure if there were other english-language choices.

My only comment would be that this is not actually a non-smoking hotel (I thought it was, though I knew going in that in Europe smoking is more common and expected than in California). There are ashtrays in the rooms and at times there was a very distinct odor of cigarettes in the corridors. It was not over-powering, but if you are sensitive this could be an issue. I ended up purchasing eyedrops because the tobacco (everywhere in Rome) irritates my eyes.

In any event, the beds were very comfortable, the decor was updated and pleasing, the room was perfect for our purposes, and the location at the top of the Spanish Steps and close to the Trevi Fountain and the Villa Borghese, is perfect. Aldo and the nighttime desk clerk are very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that does not need a hotel with full services, such as room-service/restaurant/etc. We had a fantastic stay.

Room Tip: We enjoyed Room M - the room is a nice size, the balcony was wonderful and the bathroom is modern an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GigiLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGregoriana, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Gregoriana, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for having taken the time to share this detailed review, for us is very important to know what is good and what is not so that we can always do something more in order to meet our Guest expectations.

We are very pleased to read that you have appreciated your stay at the Hotel Gregoriana.

Regarding the odor of cigarettes, I have to apologize. All the rooms and the corridors are non-smoking and the ashtrays should be used only on the balcony or on the terrace on the top floor.

We would like to thank you again for the kind review and we really look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I got to Rome the day before Easter. The staff was so lovely. They checked me right in at 8am so that I could get some much needed rest. The hotel is immaculate. Beautiful rooftop deck spacious rooms and lovely bathrooms. A 3 minute walk to the Spanish Steps and maybe best of all they bring you breakfast in bed at no extra charge. I loved this place and the staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaK895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGregoriana, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gregoriana, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

we would really like to thank you for your kind review, which is much appreciated.
(And for the beautiful words on our Facebook page too!)

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your Easter stay at the Hotel Gregoriana and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We traveled with our daughter and booked two rooms at the Gregoriana this fall. We love it. as already stated, this is a boutique hotel with no gathering place, but we didn't need one. Rooms were good-sized, and baths just beautiful and well stocked. If traveling as a single, ask to see the bath because the single room had a small shower, small even for a young, slim, American girl. We found the hotel by walking down Via Gregoriana last year and noted what a quiet street is was, even in the middle of a very busy part of Rome. The hotel is steps away from the top of the Spanish Steps, from which point you can go anywhere in the city, so great location. The front desk staff was helpful and engaging, and just charming. There is no internet access except in the rooftop lounge, which was a bit of an inconvenience at first, but then a non-event when we got used to it. We loved this hotel and hope to return next year, with no interest in looking at other Rome hotels again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGregoriana, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gregoriana, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your review.
We are really pleased to read that you have appreciated our hotel and the location.

At the moment we only have a cable internet connection in the rooms and, as you know, the wi-fi area is in the living room on the top floor but we are improving it so that the signal will reach any part of the hotel. Maybe for your next visit...

Looking forward to welcoming you to our hotel soon, in the meantime, please receive our best wishes for a happy and healty 2013.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Of all the places we stayed in Italy (and we stayed in some high-priced, glamorous places), we liked Gregoriana the best. It's small, warm, welcoming, and the staff was as helpful as can be. There's no lobby to speak of, but there's a lounge on the top level for internet access. We especially liked the neighborhood: though centrally located it was quiet and felt residential. It isn't trendy. The decor is Art Deco 20s style. The rooms have high ceilings, the plumbing is modern, the breakfast was not opulent but got us going, happily, every day. We were happy with the choice.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are interior, i.e. they don't look out over scenic city views, but a modest courty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meret O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGregoriana, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Gregoriana, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for having taken the time to share with us your kind review, which was much appreciated.

Since it is very important for us to meet our guests expectations, we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Gregoriana.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future, in the meantime, we wish you a Marry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
#65 of 1,258 in Rome
364 reviews
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#293 of 1,258 in Rome
273 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#612 of 1,258 in Rome
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#111 of 1,258 in Rome
843 reviews
Campo Marzio
La Lumiere di Piazza di Spagna
Campo Marzio
Hotel Piazza di Spagna
Hotel Piazza di Spagna
#398 of 1,258 in Rome
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gregoriana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gregoriana

Property: Hotel Gregoriana
Address: Via Gregoriana 18, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#164 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#249 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gregoriana 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HRS, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Gregoriana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gregoriana Hotel Rome
Hotel Gregoriana Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing