We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service!”
Review of Hotel Gregoriana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gregoriana
Ranked #382 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this lovely little hotel for 7 days in early September, 2012. The staff was so friendly and always ready to answer our questions. We also liked the fact that breakfast was included (very good coffee and we particularly enjoyed the slightly sweet and lightly orange flavored croissants). We particularly liked its location, close to many sites by foot (a subway stop also close by). If you are from N. America, bring an adapter for the electrical outlet (NOT THE SAME AS IN FRANCE). However, if you forgot to pack one, there is a store very near the hotel where you can purchase one for about 8-10 euros.

Room Tip: We sent an email to the hotel requesting a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jadefirehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGregoriana, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gregoriana, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear guest, we would like to thank you very much for your review.
We are very pleased that you have appreciated our hotel and we really look forward to welcoming you in Rome again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 151 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2011

We had a wonderful 5 night stay. The rooms are up to date, very clean and have lovely ammenities. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we felt like family. The staff lead by Aldo was without exception extremely friendly and helpful. Upon arrival, they were outside on the front steps to greet us, help with luggage and take us up to our rooms. Upon departure there were hugs, kisses and thank yous with promises to return from everyone. The staff was happy to make dinner reservations, give advice, call for taxis and really anything that you needed. The location is amazing. On a quiet street just 1/2 block from the top of the Spanish Steps. There were 2 cafes in the square at the top of street that were very good and we stopped in everyday for our pre dinner cockatails and people watching. The waiters greeted us every time like old friends and could not have been nicer. Hotel Gregoriana is walking distance to everything and the fact that it is on a quiet street but not far from all that Rome has to offer is a real bonus.
We were very pleased with our experience at Gregoriana and would definitely stay here when we return to Rome.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BethS921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

The location was perfect, just next to the Spanish Steps and within walking distance of almost everything that one would want to visit in Rome, could not have been better. A very well kept hotel, service of a high standard and rooms are welcoming and kept very clean. Bathroom was spotless. Breakfast was a very nice, especially cappuccino : ). It was a perfect city break . The staff is warm,friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: Double with covered balcony overlooking the internal courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vandelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

After reading exceptional reviews about the Hotel Gregoriana my husband and I decided to stay there.To say we were disappointed is an understatement.Upon our arrival we were given no information about what the hotel had to offer.The price we paid for our 5 day stay was ridiculously high considering the lack of facilities available.
We found the staff quite unhelpful and on our last morning we were told no one was available to give us breakfast despite the fact breakfast was supposed to be available from 7-10am.(We didn't leave the hotel until 7.30).
Admittedly, the rooms were clean and very modern but the hotel is definitely overpriced.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

This is my second time staying in the Hotel Gregoriana and it is lovely. The service is second to none. It is lovely to return to a place where they know who you are always provide excellent service.

It is truly a great art deco experience.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meag12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

I recently stayed one night at Hotel Gregoriana and did not enjoy my stay. I arrived at the hotel late afternoon and only had a short time to change to meet friends for dinner. I had a bath first thing, and afterward....the plug wouldnt come out of the drain. I called downstairs, and someone came to see it and told me that eventually the water would drain and the plug could be pryed out. Next, I looked around the room for an Iron to press a shirt for dinner. The man at the desk (there was nobobdy else working in the hotel) said that the cleaning staff had already left the hotel and there was no Iron. When I persisted, he called the manager on the phone and the manager basically laughed and said there was no services at that time of night (This was 5:30 in the afternoon on a Sat)
Just the week before My crew and I stayed at The Bailey's Hotel in Rome and they are the best kept secret in Rome. The Bailey's Hotel is much cheaper than the Gregoriana and in a great location. The only thing the Gregoriana has going for it is the proximity to the Spanish Steps. Maybe it was a good hotel in the past....but obviously things have changed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denboy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

My family has been staying at the Gregoriana for years. It is still as wonderful as I remember. They have renovated since I was in Rome last. We stayed in the apartment for 4 days to start our honeymoon. Aldo, as always, is wonderful. You can't beat the location. The beds are comfy and the room modern. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessdds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
#59 of 1,271 in Rome
437 reviews
Campo Marzio
Residenza Canova Tadolini
Residenza Canova Tadolini
#335 of 1,271 in Rome
493 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#112 of 1,271 in Rome
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#301 of 1,271 in Rome
285 reviews
Campo Marzio
Piazza di Spagna View
Piazza di Spagna View
#530 of 1,271 in Rome
158 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Piazza di Spagna
Hotel Piazza di Spagna
#398 of 1,271 in Rome
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gregoriana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gregoriana

Address: Via Gregoriana 18, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#164 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#249 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $139 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gregoriana 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Gregoriana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gregoriana Hotel Rome
Hotel Gregoriana Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing