We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, very nice rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Madrid
Ranked #117 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
American Fork, UTah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location, very nice rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We took our 3 children to Rome and stayed at one of the suites of the Hotel Madrid. The location was great-- the Spanish Steps are around the corner (as is the Metro), and the Trevi Fountain is maybe 10 minutes away. We actually walked to Vatican City, the Colosseum, the Borghese museum, and just about every other site in Rome from our Hotel.

The room was very nice-- one room with 2 single beds and one room with a King and a single-- all 5 of us fit in there very nicely. The hotel was clean and had great air conditioning. The wifi never worked in our room, but we could get the signal in the hall and as we were just checking email to make sure we had no emergencies at home, it was just fine.

The breakfast was good-- nice selection of breads, eggs, bacon, juices, yogurt, fruits, and cereals. Mirela was especially sweet to our kids-- even remembered their names and that they liked hot chocolate in the morning.

This was our second stay in the Hotel Madrid and we were definitely not disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KGarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FulvioG, Direttore at Hotel Madrid, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Mr KGarr,
thank you so much for your kind review,
We are very proud to read how much you are satisfied for your choice of Hotel Madrid
and for your positive notes about our Family suite , the buffet breakfast, and our staff hospitality
( like Mrs Mirella !!!).
We are pleased to inform you that the wi-fi problem was promptly fixed, please note that booking on our official website wifi is always free !!!
Best regards from me and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    295
    76
    14
    8
See reviews for
358
218
32
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel was recommended to us by another friend who knows Rome well. The location is just perfect, with most of the ancient beauties of Rome within walking distance. I had a single room, which was only "so-so" in appearance, but perfectly clean and I slept well. Unfortunately, our Alitalia flight from Boston had been cancelled, so we arrived a day late. My friends had booked a double room, and with my single room, they gave us a break and only charged 4 nights on one room and 3 nights on the other to make up for the fact that it wasn't our fault re: the cancelled flight. We appreciated the consideration. The staff were extremely helpful, and they provided us with excellent restaurant recommendations. The hotel is clean and secure, and the location can't be beaten. Be careful when you step out the front door, though -- look left and right before you do, or you could get smushed!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristinIthaca_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FulvioG, Direttore at Hotel Madrid, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Kristin,
we are very pleased that you had a good stay in Rome. Thanks for taking the time to write a nice review.
We sincerely hope to see you again in Rome in the future.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

The staffs are very much helpful and considerate. The room is clean and quiet with plenty of space for me and husband with 2 big suit cases. Great location and easy access to many of the Rome's Landmarks. Breadfast at the terrace roof with sunshine and great view make us unforgettable. Only downside is the water pressure for the shower is very weak. Anyway we will go back to stay in Hotel Madrid again when visit Rome ^~^

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cora W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FulvioG, Direttore at Hotel Madrid, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
thanks so much for your post and for the compliments that make us happy.
Yes, our location sure is the best that you can find in Rome,
From the Hotel you can visit Rome without having to take public transportation, because we are in the heart of Rome.
Via dei Condotti, Via del Corso , the Colosseum, the Vatican Museums, Piazza del Popolo, Trevi Fountain, Piazza Navona, Panthen, via dei Fori Imperiali are reachable from 2 to 20-minute by walk.
The entire staff is always at your disposal to help you to live Rome in the best way possible. We always try to do our best to make feel at home.
I really hope that you can come back to visit us again.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We reserved a "family suite" that consisted of two rooms and a bath. First room had two twin beds, the second room had a king bed and twin bed and the hotel added a pack and play for the 3 year old. The rooms are small as is typical for european hotels. The room was clean, this is an older hotel and in no way is fancy, the location is the value. There is a nice breakfast included and served on the roof top patio with a few of all of Rome, this is amazing, Even with a 3 and 5 year old we walked to everything including the Vatican, which includes a nice walk along the river. You are close enough to the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain to be able to visit these large social gathering areas during the day and again at night. There are great restaurants every where around the hotel and a larag grocery store within two blocks for that extra beer, wine and cheese(there is a mini bar refridgerator in the room). By your Roma passes from the front desk and avoid the lines.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donrltr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FulvioG, Direttore at Hotel Madrid, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for choosing Hotel Madrid and thank you for taking the time to write your review.
We are glad you had a good stay in Rome and we hope you will come back soon in the future.
For more informations and news follow us on facebook or twitter.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel was 5 minutes from the Spanish steps and the Trevi Fountain. We loved the location. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was good. Great cappuccino. Nice room and bathroom. Great 3 star hotel!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aek123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FulvioG, Direttore at Hotel Madrid, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay and for your review!
It was a pleasure to assist you during your stay.
Thank you for having appreciated our staff, our location and our selection for the buffet breakfast!
Follow us on facebook and twitter!!!
See you again in the future, we all send you our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We chose hotel Madrid because of its perfect location. The hotel is located only 5 min walk from Spanish steps and the nearest metro station. It is a short walking distance to everywhere within the historical city center. You have to accept that within this district the room rates are comparable to 4 star hotels. Only the hotel standard is 3 stars.

However Hotel Madrid is a good average 3 star hotel. It is small, but very clean. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly. There is a small “lobby bar”, read this: a sofa in the reception corner and a possibility to buy drinks. I never saw anybody sitting there.

The breakfast room is very nice at a roof terrace with large windows. The breakfast is average but very adequate 3 star hotel breakfast. The waitress was busy but friendly. A nice cup of cappuccino was a perfect start for morning.

The room itself is again ...3 star standard. We had a triple room with enough space, clean bath room, TV and minibar. The bed was not very comfortable. The soundproofing between other rooms was bad. The cleaning was very good.

Although it was April, the temperature was as high as +28 C in some days. The room was very warm and there was a heavy musty smell. We asked if A/C could be switched on, but we were informed that it is possible only in the summer time. Very typical 3 star hotel service. Only in 4-5 star hotels the customer is listened and understood properly.

The hotel staff arranged a taxi for us to the airport. The car came at precise time and charged 50 euros, exactly as promised.

In conclusion, we were quite satisfied with this average 3 star hotel. However in my opinion, this hotel is little bit overrated in TA.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kalapoika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FulvioG, Direttore at Hotel Madrid, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your review.
We are sorry to read that you were dissapointed with the air conditioning,
Each room has a individually remote control and maybe there was a miscommunication with our staff, at the request of customers even out of season we never denied the air conditioning!
Our staff are committed to ensure and serve our guests in the best and friendliest manner possible in order so that every body feels like at home.
We hope we can welcome you again some time in the near future,
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I have stayed at the Hotel Madrid several times in the past, love the location, and the employees are so helpful in any and all requests. It is a quick walk to the train station, as well as the Trevi Fountain, and to all major sites in Rome. The breakfast room is lovely, and how I enjoy gazing over St. Peter's every morning over my coffee. I would highly recommend this hotel, and the reception staff is excellent......especially Luciano. I look forward to visiting again next year!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LoveRome834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FulvioG, Direttore at Hotel Madrid, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
we are very happy that you spent a peaceful stay in Rome.
We are grateful for writing your great review and we are glad you enjoyed our staff
( Mr. Luciano ) and the organization of our hotel.
For special offers and informations remember to follow us on facebook !!!
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
#57 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Colonna
Infinity Hotel Roma
Infinity Hotel Roma
#56 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#94 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#285 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Trevi
Hotel Dei Borgognoni
Hotel Dei Borgognoni
#93 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madrid

Property: Hotel Madrid
Address: Via Mario De' Fiori 93, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#135 Family Hotel in Rome
#137 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#177 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Madrid 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome is an immense city but there is only one place that represents it like no other - Piazza di Spagna. Here on these authentic Roman streets, only 100 meters from the Spanish Steps (Piazza di Spagna) and the Trevi Fountain (Fontana di Trevi), is located the 3-star Hotel Madrid where the staff welcomes you as family and everything is in walking distance. Singles, doubles triples and our big family suites with free wi-fi. Panoramic Roof-garden for your morning buffet breakfast with view and a good thea in the afternoon ! Private Limo Service from and to the Internatinal Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madrid Hotel Rome
Hotel Madrid Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing