We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Madrid
Nearby Hotels
Barocco Hotel(Rome)
$384
$288
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
$311
$262
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$213
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$320
$242
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$474
$363
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$244
$189
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$193
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
$181
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palazzo Naiadi(Rome)
$409
$381
Autograph
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel des Artistes(Rome)(Great Value!)
$148
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Reviews (901)
Filter reviews
901 results
Traveler rating
460
331
85
17
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
460
331
85
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnear the spanish stepstrevi fountainexcellent locationroom suitefamily suiteroof gardenwithin walking distancearound the cornerhighly recommend hotelpiazza spagnathe hotel staffstar hotelhuge bathroomvia del corsoheart of romefront desk staffbuffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
287 - 292 of 901 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Finding somewhere that can accomodate a family of five in Europe is a challenge. Hotel Madrid was right in the heart with easy walking distance to Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain, excellent shopping including all the top designers, good selection of eating options including fine dining at Marios and if you really need it for some younger child mcdonalds is close too.

Luciano on the front reception is excellent and rooms are clean n spacious enough for the family for short periods of time, but go out as the local area atmosphere is great at night. The hotel provides parking, which they find somewhere and return the car within 30 minutes.

If travelling with children this also has an elevator n an ok buffet breakfast on a lovely rooftop terrace.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MyView2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FulvioG, Direttore at Hotel Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you so much for this beautiful review.
I do hope you consider Hotel Madrid as your new home in Rome.
Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you and your family upon your next stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Just spent three nights in Rome, staying at Hotel Madrid. The location was perfect for first time visitors to Rome being close to all the main attractions. The staff in the Hotel were welcoming and very friendly and were obviously keen to ensure we enjoyed our time in this wonderful city. The rooms were basic but comfortable and very clean. Wil definitely stay here again when I go back to Rome.

Room Tip: Air conditioning is better in the bigger family rooms. Rooms are small so if travelling with more than three people definitely book 2 rooms if affordable.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jennyb48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FulvioG, Direttore at Hotel Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Mrs Jenny B. ,

thank you very much for your lovely review!
We are really very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our property in the heart of the Historical centre of Rome.
Your beautiful comment regarding our staff is the best compliment that a Manager can receive and I will be pleased to relay it the entire team.

Looking forward to welcoming you back!

My warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

It was a quick decision to check in here, because we accidentally booked a hotel way outside the city. It is located right next to the Spanish Steps which is a great area of the city. The staff speaks English and was very helpful. We had internet for $5 per device for the entire stay, which was a fair price and convenient for us. I loved staying there despite small rooms and 130 euros per night. Great restaurants all around the block.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FulvioG, Direttore at Hotel Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind review.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the service of our team.
It is a real pleasure to have such a wonderful guest like you and we really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon in Rome!!!

My warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Excellently placed for the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, and Pantheon, and easily walkable to the Forum and Colosseum. Plenty of restaurants nearby, Comfortable (we had a two room plus bathroom suite), spotlessly clean. Efficient a/c.Good multi-choice breakfasts in pleasant rooftop terrace. Pleasant, helpful staff at front desk, and at breakfast. So no negative criticism and would return!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FulvioG, Direttore at Hotel Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Mr Rob,
first of all thanks for your review and that you have been here.
Please if you come back in Rome don't esitate to contact me directly.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Hotel Madrid is very good located nearby the Spanish steps and a metro station. There are also restaurants and bars in the neighborhood to grab lunch or dinner or have your aperitivo. Our room and bathroom were relatively large. No noise during night and airconditioning gave a good night rest after a whole day of city tripping. Breakfast was served on the roof terrace. Staff was friendly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FulvioG, Direttore at Hotel Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you for your kind review.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
Many regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews