We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in heart of the Old City”
Review of Hotel Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Madrid
Ranked #116 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Quite comfortable with a large room on the top floor. Very good breakfast and most friendly staff in the breakfast area that is service on the roof terrace. Concierge was friendly and helpful. We took advantage of the cash discount for further savings. En suite bath, with a small shower.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L10133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FulvioG, Direttore at Hotel Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Sir or Madame,

thank you very much for your beautiful review.
I will be more than happy to share your nice comment to all our Staff !
It is a great pleasure to have such a wonderful guest like you and we are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (858)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Madrid
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

278 - 284 of 858 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2012

My friend and I stayed at this hotel and paid for our accommodation upon leaving. When we got back to Australia and i received my Visa statement from my bank, the hotel had made a separate charge of 1 other night that we had not stayed on. I contacted my bank, who then in turn contacted the hotel's bank to reverse the charges, but Hotel Madrid did not respond to their bank's request. We did not get a refund and the case got closed.

Room Tip: Don't go to this hotel
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank caro1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FulvioG, Direttore at Hotel Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

 
Dear Sir or Madame,
We're very sad and surprised for the review you left here.
In 37 years of life of the Hotel Madrid in Rome, nothing similar to what you described here has ever happened. Also, it's very strange but we never received any complaint about an overcharged from a guest, a bank and from a credit card company.
Then, we officially invite you now to let us have your documentation for the overcharged.
If it won't happen, we'll take the appropriate lawfully measures
Regards
 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We were lucky to have friends recommend this hotel as we needed to find a place that would easily accomodate four guests. At the Hotel Madrid we had a room that upon entering had two single beds and further along another room with a king bed. The two rooms were separated by a door and we shared a very large and clean bathroom. This arrangement was perfect for our party especially as we were able to have some privacy but still be able to spend time with our friends (we planned on having our friends meet us in Roma for a 60th birthday celebration and this hotel gave us the opportunity to 'hang out' with each other almost all the time we were there).
The hotel itself is centrally located and we walked to almost everything we wanted to see (with the exception of dinner on the other side of the Tiber). There was excellent shopping and dining within steps of the hotel and while we were only there for four nights we became familiar with places to pick up sandwiches and wine for a few of our excursions.
The daily breakfast was a real bonus - offering a large variety of options - and an enjoyable atmosphere to begin our day. The dining area is on top of the hotel and has some very lovely views of Rome. The staff were very nice and added to the pleasant feel.
Finally, the front desk staff here couldn't have been nicer and more professional. They were all very helpful and friendly - helping us with a dinner recommendation on our first night and helping with a car service to the airport on our final day. Instructions on how to get to places was never a problem.
We would certainly stay at the Hotel Madrid on our next trip to Roma and would recommend it to anyone interested in a place that offers convenience, value and great service.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diBiella51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FulvioG, Direttore at Hotel Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2012

Dear Mr Dibiella,

I am delighted to hear you had a great experience at Hotel Madrid and that you found the hotel and our location perfect and beautiful.
We strive to provide excellence to all our Guests and I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your room , your buffet breakfast and your stay..

Thank you for sharing your review, I will share your kind comments with the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Hotel Madrid Roma,

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located right in the center of the city's shopping district, adjacent to the Spanish Steps. The room is relatively spacious. Large shower and equipped. Relatively rich breakfast.
The air conditioner dripped into the room (on the carpet) so the room smelled of mildew

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FulvioG, Direttore at Hotel Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Dear guest,
it's a pleasure to read you beautiful review.
We are glad to know that you did appreciate your stay in our Hotel and we thank you for sharing your experience with the other travelers.
We're sorry for the problem with your a/c
All our staff hope to have the opportunity to meet you again and to make you have another great stay.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for 4 nights. Perfect location....very central and within walking distance of so many of the great sights in Rome. Felt very safe here. Rooms were very comfortable and the bathroom was quite spacious. Breakfast on the terrace was delightful...the ladies in the kitchen were lovely and worked hard to make sure we ate well. Wonderful view of the rooftops of Rome from the terrace. Front desk extremely helpful and very pleasant. Wi-fi worked very well from our room. Have recommended it already to family and friends travelling to Rome. This was my second trip here and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind consideration,
It' a pleasure for us to know your satisfaction.

I am Looking forward to welcome you again,
in "your new home" in the heart of the Historical centre of Rome

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The staff are warm and knowledgable, the location a perfect launching pad for this magnificent city. We had a suite as we were in Rome for a few days and wasted a home base. Although the junior suite living room was small, the relaxing space was nice to have. But Rome kept us busy of course. Ask the front dest about the 1st century house with layers of churches built above that you can visit. Take a torch. When we went there (2008) there were no tourists, but the best thing we saw!

Room Tip: The Junior Suite was worth the extra cost
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BiddyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to share your review on Tripadvisor.
We strive to provide excellence to all our Guests and I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your Family suite and our location .
I will certainly share your kind comment with the Concierge and all our team.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel Madrid Roma in the future.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed at the wonderful hotel from June 10-12th. Love the location and our rooms. Staff was sweet and helpful. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. We arrived in Rome after an overnight flight from the states. When we arrived at 9:30am our rooms were ready! We would stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sari64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Dear guest,
We are so glad and so grateful for the beautiful review that you have posted.
We are so happy to know that you enjoyed the stay at the Hotel Madrid and our services have met your expectation.
We really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again and to share with you another great journey in the eternal city.
All the staff wishes you the best for the future
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
#60 of 1,267 in Rome
396 reviews
Colonna
Infinity Hotel Roma
Infinity Hotel Roma
#62 of 1,267 in Rome
652 reviews
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#291 of 1,267 in Rome
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#104 of 1,267 in Rome
1,207 reviews
Trevi
Trevi 41 Hotel
Trevi 41 Hotel
#85 of 1,267 in Rome
655 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel San Carlo
Hotel San Carlo
#174 of 1,267 in Rome
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madrid

Address: Via Mario De' Fiori 93, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#135 Family Hotel in Rome
#137 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#177 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $128 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Madrid 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome is an immense city but there is only one place that represents it like no other - Piazza di Spagna. Here on these authentic Roman streets, only 100 meters from the Spanish Steps (Piazza di Spagna) and the Trevi Fountain (Fontana di Trevi), is located the 3-star Hotel Madrid where the staff welcomes you as family and everything is in walking distance. Singles, doubles triples and our big family suites with free wi-fi. Panoramic Roof-garden for your morning buffet breakfast with view and a good thea in the afternoon ! Private Limo Service from and to the Internatinal Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madrid Hotel Rome
Hotel Madrid Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing