We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good location - but very basic comfort” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Parlamento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Parlamento
Ranked #195 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very good location - but very basic comfort”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is ideal. You will be in walking distance to the Spanish Steps, Trevi and many more sightseeing sites. At the same time you are just around the corner of the main shopping area in Rome.

But, this is or the place to choose if you go for a romantic stay. The shower in the bathroom would have needed some thorough cleaning and fixing, but on top getting into the shower was really difficult. We are not very tall nor overweight, but getting into the shower was not easy and simply not comfortable. Further we could not leave the windows open as it is rather loud during night. The pillows are so thin that even two of them would not give you the comfort needed for a good night sleep.
Overall the rate is good for the location, but I would only recommend staying for a short stay (1-2) nights and not if you are looking for a romantic place.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mitochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    272
    62
    14
    6
See reviews for
170
323
41
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel with my two children - Lovely clean rooms... perfect for a city break in Rome! Absolutely brilliant location - 5 minutes from the Trevi and Spanish Steps.
The service was also amazing, super friendly towards the children and very accommodating!
The continental breakfast was very good - I don't have anything bad to say about my stay at Hotel Parlamento.

I am used to staying at the big five star chain hotels around the world but would strongly recommend staying in this hotel when in Rome to get the REAL 'Rome" experience'.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

is everything and this small hotel has that...minutes from the major sites, lots of restaurants and shopping. The staff are friendly and helpful with a nice continental breakfast every morning. The roof top terrace was great at the end of the day to sit back and have a glass of wine...or two.

The rooms are clean, but small and thats fine but the lack of air conditioning when we where there in Oct was a killer. It was not available to us and the room was much too warm with the window closed and way too noisy with it open. This hotel needs AC available all year long...with it I wouldn't hesitate to go back...without it no

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank koiman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed 3 nights. The best aspect was being able to check in early as our flight arrived at 7 am, so we didn't have to hang about waiting for the room to be made up.
The accommodation was spotless, quiet and really central. We were able to walk to all the sights or access the metro easily.
The staff were extremely helpful in recommending restaurants and in providing information to make our stay an extremely enjoyable one.
Breakfast was more than adequate.
We will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

So first off let me say that this place is not a stand alone hotel. For those who are used to European travel this should come as no surprise at all. For those of us that are first timers to Europe this will be surprising. I had no idea that this hotel was just one of a few in the building, but now I know and so you do.
Second thing, this place is in a very perfect location to everything! Stores, attractions, public transportation, live free music, necessities...everything. That's really all I cared about when I was looking for accommodations anyway, I mean who goes to Rome to spend their days and nights in a hotel room...unless you are planning on being there for weeks or months. Otherwise save your money and stay here.
(Now before my next statement, let me say that I think the room I got was one of their "last minute" reservation rooms. It was literally right next to the front desk. Most likely, had I made reservations way ahead of time, I would have gotten a better room.)
I was able to get a room last minute at a super reasonable price, 119 euros! But of course some things will be extra, like a/c..I'm American, very American...I need my a/c especially in June! 12 euros per day per person. Breakfast is included each day so that was nice, save a buck or two. Simple; fruit cereal, coffee, tea. The hotel manager Andrea, was very nice and accommodating. The room was ok, a little drab but nothing to cry over.
Third thing, the rooftop was really awesome, not glamorous, but a really nice view and quaint decor. A little warning about the elevator, it's extremely tiny, like only one person tiny and maybe one piece of luggage. My guest and I had to take turns and wait for each other going and coming. But it's a quick ride and it's Rome, so who cares. I only bring it up because it was a little surprising...remember I'm American!
Please make sure that if you need to use your American electrical stuff; hair curlers, charge your phone, computer, etc. bring your own converter. The converters they had did not work with any of my stuff. Good thing this was the last leg of a trip after a 7 day cruise and I wasn't doing anything fancy. I would have been a bit peeved about not being able to do my hair. so I just wore it wild, curly and free.
The bed that we slept in was not very comfortable at all, as a matter of fact my back hurt after. This place is not fancy at all, just very convenient. So don't go expecting the Waldorf or anything.
I would definitely stay here again if I want to save money, but I would make reservations way ahead of time to get a better room.

Room Tip: Make your reservations early to possibly get a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elegantblkchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights. We loved being able to walk to most of the sights. The hotel is really hidden behind a huge door and then inside a courtyard and then up a half flight of stairs and then you take a very small elevator up to the 4th floor. The room and bath was tiny but adequate. At breakfast they had, among other things, croissants with Nutella which was delicious. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We decided to pay a little more to stay in the center of the city and did not regret the choice. We were able to walk to many sites, and the metro was close to take to others. Although the room and bathroom are quite small (but this seems to be the norm in Rome and most large European cities), it was extremely clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. The one complaint I had was the bed and pillows were a little hard for my preference. We had a room facing the courtyard and it was quiet, even with the windows open. It was nice to start the day with breakfast, although no hot items, we loved having cappuccinos and espressos made to order!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cl361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#117 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Colonna
Hotel San Silvestro
Hotel San Silvestro
#543 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Colonna
Infinity Hotel Roma
Infinity Hotel Roma
#54 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Hotel Regno
Hotel Regno
#151 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
Trevi
Trevi 41 Hotel
Trevi 41 Hotel
#84 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Trevi
Tritone Hotel
Tritone Hotel
#351 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parlamento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parlamento

Property: Hotel Parlamento
Address: Via delle Convertite 5, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#167 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#174 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Parlamento 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Parlamento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parlamento Hotel Rome
Hotel Parlamento Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing