We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and everything else is average”
Review of Hotel Parlamento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Parlamento
Ranked #202 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent location and everything else is average”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We spent 6 nights in this central hotel in August 2012.
Here's briefly the likes and the dislikes in our point of view:
Likes:
-Central location where almost everything is within a walking distance (spanish steps, fontana di trevi, piazza navona, piazza del popolo, il Vittoriano and much more).
-Friendly staff that will do their best to help.
-Clean and comfortable rooms.
-Price is relatively ok, though still expensive, compared to similar hotels in Rome during that time of the year.
-Autogrill, a market that serves fast food,coffee and more till 11 pm and 11.30 on weekends, is right next to the hotel.
-Bus stops going to allover the city are very close to the hotel.

Dislikes:
-Having to carry the luggage ourselves for one floor at least (or two maximum).
-Not much variety in the breakfast.
-No mini-bar (fridge) which means that you're not going to be able to buy cold stuff because they'll go warm or bad after a short time.
-Having to pay extra for the air condition (12 euros per night!)
-Poor Wi-fi and all tv channels were in italian and most of them was even out of service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELZOHEIRY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelparlamento, Owner at Hotel Parlamento, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
i thank you for your e-mail; i'm surprise that as you made your reservation directly with us you didn't see our web-site were everything is explained. I would like to answer to your complains starting from luggage service. I inform all the guests that there are 7 stairs to climb up from the elevator and only 1 floor up in case rooms are upstairs; as we are 2 stars hotel of course we dont have luggage service but we help all guests in case they require for it. For clear policy i have published the breakfast menu on our web-site so you should know before what the breakfast was; as well as for the breakfast is clearly written on the web site that A/C is extra and is not mentioned anywere that we have a minibar; we do have CNN in english, French and German Channels on TV ;perhaps asking were they were on the remote was helping you to find them.... about the wi-fi can happen that somethimes is slow when everybody are using it all togehter;
anyhow i hope to see you again in my hotel
Plinio Chini owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    278
    63
    14
    6
See reviews for
175
327
41
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hexham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We (myself, husband and 8 yr old son) have just returned from Rome and a weeks stay at Hotel Parlamento. As with the others who have reviewed this hotel, we cannot emphasise just how wonderful the staff are.

The hotel is very central (just off Via Del Corso) and Pantheon & Trevi are very close by. Most of the attractions are in walking distance, however in the heat of August I would recommend using the buses (exceptional value). We were also a little hesitant about using public water fountains, but they were a god send.

Anyway, back to the hotel...we accepted to pay for the pick up from the airport, which while slightly expensive, I was pleased we did as I am not sure I would of found the hotel!! The room (we were in 68) was compact, but if you are going to Rome you basically want a clean bed and bathroom, our beds were made everyday and fresh linen/towels provided. The air-con was a great in the August heat. I was expecting some noise at night, but it was remarkably quiet.

Breakfast was more than we could of wanted (I think I read a negative review?) Hot Chocolate was made every morning for our son and our coffee was fabulous! There was cereal, yoghurts, fruit, cheese, a basket of bread & croissants....it set us up perfectly for the day.

But really the main selling point of this hotel and it has many good points! Were the staff. From the moment we arrived, they could not of been more helpful. We had planned to go to the beach for the day and I was given a list of which buses took me to which station, where I could get tickets from, which directions to take...which beach to head for,we had a great day. Nothing was too much trouble and everyone was fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had three nights in Rome at Hotel Parlamento. The staff were very friendly and helpful, as has been noted by others. The room was charming and very clean, and I second the suggestion to go the extra dollar and pay for the air conditioning. It does drive the price per night up a bit, but in the August heat, it was worth it. The most charming aspect was enjoying breakfast on the rooftop terrace in the early morning sun.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed at this fantastic hotel for 4 nights in early August 2012. We are a family of 5 (including 3 teenagers) and we were at the end of a fortnight's backpacking in Italy and Sardinia. We chose Hotel Parlamento after considerable research as we couldn't decide whether to camp on the outskirts of Rome or stay in the centre. We made the right decision! For £40 per person per night we had a central location with the main sights within easy walking distance (so no extra transport costs), two comfortable rooms with aircon, tv and ensuite showers, plenty to eat for breakfast, access to the roof terrace and a private terrace, and lovely helpful staff. It was perfect for us!
We had the roof terrace almost to ourselves during our stay which was great, a lovely place to take breakfast or sit and read. Besides a double room we also had a triple room with its own private terrace. We were not troubled at all by street noise.
Every member of staff we spoke to was incredibly helpful and friendly.
Other reviewers have commented that the rooms and bathrooms are compact - it is true they are not huge but they are perfectly adequate for the price and how long do you spend in your room anyway? My only regret is that I didn't ask for extra pillows as they are very thin.
Rome Termini (main train station) is about 2km away so realistically, if you have rucksacks or other luggage, it is a taxi ride.
We will definitely stay at Hotel Parlamento when we visit Rome again, highly recommended!!

Room Tip: A 5th floor room means easy access to the lovely roof terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Smashing007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I have stayed at the Hotel Parlamento every time I have visited Rome and they have never let me down! The location is great, the staff members are friendly and helpful, and the price is right. If staying in the warmer months, I highly recommend paying the extra for the air conditioning, as leaving the windows open at night lets in all the nightly traffic noises, as well as the noises of the roosting pigeons! The hotel is within walking distance of many tourist sites as well as great shopping. Overall, a very good deal!

Room Tip: Request a room not overlooking the piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frodosuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed in 3 rooms for 3 nights at the Hotel Parlamento.

I have nothing bad to say about this hotel. Very central, clean, comfortable and friendly staff. Great price for central Rome also.

We would go back and stay there again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebbieGClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This hotel is in a prime location for walking to Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, and Via Condotti. Access to the hotel is a little tricky. We had 2 carry on bags and 2 checked bags. The hotel is not located right on the street so you have to walk with your bags to the building. The elevator is very small. My husband had to stack the luggage vertical. He was the only one to fit in the elevator with the luggage. I walked the steps but if you are not in good shape you can get a little winded. We were in Room 107 that opened directly onto the roof top terrace. Do not expect much of a view but it is nice to sit outside. The room is small but comfortable. I would suggest better pillows...they were very flat. We used the a/c for 12 euro a day...depending on the time of year of your visit...it is highly recommended. If you are a light sleeper, the opening and closing of guest room doors will awaken you. For English speakers there are only 2 channels available on the television which was great for my husband....Poker and 1 news channel (I can't remember but I think it was CNN)....but you shouldn't be watching that much tv anyway. All in all we were satisfied with the accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexansFan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#109 of 1,256 in Rome
828 reviews
Colonna
Infinity Hotel Roma
Infinity Hotel Roma
#64 of 1,256 in Rome
621 reviews
Colonna
Hotel San Silvestro
Hotel San Silvestro
#526 of 1,256 in Rome
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
#65 of 1,256 in Rome
351 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Fellini
Hotel Fellini
#169 of 1,256 in Rome
760 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Regno
Hotel Regno
#161 of 1,256 in Rome
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parlamento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parlamento

Property: Hotel Parlamento
Address: Via delle Convertite 5, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#167 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#174 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Parlamento 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Parlamento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parlamento Hotel Rome
Hotel Parlamento Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing