We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely building and attentive staff”
Review of Marta Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marta Guest House
Ranked #894 of 3,692 Rome B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely building and attentive staff”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Quite possibly the best location for staying in Rome, especially first timers who want to see all the sites. The airport Sitbus stopped right outside the property, and we received a warm welcome in fluent English and French. Our host provided us with a map and also marked out the bus routes for us which was just what we needed.

Our room was number six, which overlooked the courtyard and was peaceful, the bed was a good size, with plenty of space to hang clothes etc. Free WiFi was an unexpected bonus, and we made good use of this. The bathroom was small, but perfectly adequate, with clean towels provided everyday; our bedding was changed daily also which was lovely.

Breakfast was simple, toast, croissants, jams and coffee, and whilst there wasn't a massive choice, it was enough to keep the hunger pangs at bay until lunchtime. I would echo another reviewers statement in that good fresh Italian bread would've made all the difference, and perhaps some cheese.

All in all, we were delighted. We will definitely stay at Marta's again, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: For those wanting a good nights sleep ask for a room overlooking the courtyard, as the street side c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BipBip2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    84
    29
    8
    7
See reviews for
31
92
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Is an excelent place to stay in Rome, the attention of the staff is excelent they always recommend you places to eat around the zone and they are very kindly if you have any request, they also speak many languages, not just italian and english but spanish, french, etc.
The rooms of the hotel are enormous it has a lovely bathroom, and for those staying in winter I can tell you that they are very warm.
To conclude I also have to say that the breakfast is excelent it has a great variety and quality and quantity of food and drinks and its served between 7 and 11 so you have plenty of time to go.
When I go back to Rome I'll definitely go to Martasguesthouse.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agustin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arad, Romania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

- The location is in 5 minute walking distance from the Vatican, 15 minutes from the Pantheon
- Less than 50m from the bus station (to and from the airport / train station)
- Close to restaurants ( I highly recommand http://www.ristoranteraf.it/ ) / cafés / gift shops and pubs ( Morrison's is very nice and 1 min dist. )
- Very friendly and hospitable hosts
- Italian style breakfast: pastries (delicious) + different kinds of coffee (tea / water)
- Tall rooms, pleasantly furnished with hairdryer, TV, safe
- Clean sheets, towels changed daily

It's placed in a beautiful and safe area, the building itself is lovely, it's peaceful and quiet around.

Quality / price ratio: great!
I would go back anytime!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreea_G11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I went to rome last week and my experience in marta's place was excelent. Everybody there made us feel like if we were in our house. The rooms were very warm and clean. Beds and pillows were very comfortable. I insist: you wont find a better location and best relation price-quality.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

It's nothing fancy but the staff were so helpful and this place worked out perfectly for us, especially for the price. I liked staying a little out of the center of all the touristy things but still able to walk across the Ponte Sant'Angelo into the city center and close to a bus stop. It was a nice quiet and cool haven for us to return to in the middle of our hot sweaty days for our siesta, and also at night. Also, we were close to the best gelato I've ever had.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trento
2 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The room was small and hardly got any light. The bathroom was also very small and the sink was so small that you couldn't even wash your hands. I asked for a different room, which turned out to be smaller and just as dark and the mattress was really thin and uncomfortable. Thankfully, the bathroom (and especially the sink) was a little larger. In both rooms the cell phone got no signal.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Algamaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Hotel Fellini
Hotel Fellini
#164 of 1,263 in Rome
775 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Navona
Hotel Navona
#124 of 1,263 in Rome
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Diplomatic
Hotel Diplomatic
#216 of 1,263 in Rome
798 reviews
Esquilino
Da Marta & Alida all'Esquilino
Da Marta & Alida all'Esquilino
#2,388 of 3,692 in Rome
39 reviews
Prati
Day by Day
Day by Day
#360 of 3,692 in Rome
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marta Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marta Guest House

Property: Marta Guest House
Address: Via Tacito 41, 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #894 of 3,692 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Marta Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marta Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marta Guest House Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing