We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“o” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marta Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marta Guest House
Ranked #590 of 3,642 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    77
    26
    7
    6
See reviews for
29
81
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

It's nothing fancy but the staff were so helpful and this place worked out perfectly for us, especially for the price. I liked staying a little out of the center of all the touristy things but still able to walk across the Ponte Sant'Angelo into the city center and close to a bus stop. It was a nice quiet and cool haven for us to return to in the middle of our hot sweaty days for our siesta, and also at night. Also, we were close to the best gelato I've ever had.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trento
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The room was small and hardly got any light. The bathroom was also very small and the sink was so small that you couldn't even wash your hands. I asked for a different room, which turned out to be smaller and just as dark and the mattress was really thin and uncomfortable. Thankfully, the bathroom (and especially the sink) was a little larger. In both rooms the cell phone got no signal.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Algamaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. We picked it because we decided to split up our 4 nights in Rome -- 2 nights at a budget hotel near the Vatican and 2 nights at a nice B&B in the city center -- and this was our budget pick. I was expecting much less than what we got. We arrived very late, around midnight, due to a delayed flight, but that was no problem. The man who checked is in showed us to our room and was really friendly.

The room was quite large. I'm not sure if all the rooms were as large as ours, because our key chain said "Suite" (which we did not request) so ours perhaps may have been larger than the others. I liked the feeling of the room: old brick walls, tile floors, red and gold colors. We had a queen bed, a small sofa, a table, a small kitchenette area with a mini fridge and microwave, and a bathroom with the sink area outside of the toilet and shower.

The location was great, for our needs. We wanted to be close to the Vatican, and the walk from Marta Guest House to the Vatican Museum was super short - maybe 10-15 minutes. It was also in a nice neighborhood that lacked the traditional quaint Roman feel and felt more like a suburb, but it was clean and safe. It was also easy to take a bus from nearby Piazza Cavour to Trastevere.

We spoke to 3 different front desk attendants during our stay - one was moderately polite but the other 2 were incredibly friendly and helpful. The breakfast attendant was also very nice. The breakfast offered more than the traditional coffee and croissant, which is what I've learned to expect in Rome, but not much more (toast, yogurt, and cereal).

Only complaints: The bed was very hard and stiff, and the walls were thin so we could hear other guests coming and going late in the night and early in the morning. I saw other reviews that said street noise was a problem, but our windows faced the inner courtyard, so we didn't hear any traffic or people outside. Despite those two downsides, for the very affordable price, it was worth it and I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KRB222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bédar, Andalucia, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

The guest house was in a great location by Piazza Cavour, all the main sites were within easy walking distance and there is a bus stop around the corner to the airport.
The room was a good size and very clean with lovely cotton sheets on the bed and a really comfortable mattress. The fridge in the room had a couple of bottles of water and cans of soft drinks, we had one of these and they didn't charge us.
The bathroom was a good size but the bath was awful, the enamel had come off in many places and they'd tried to paint over some of it. The shower over the bath was fine but I wouldn't have taken a bath.
Our room overlooked the courtyard and so was very quiet, we didn't have the breakfast as the breakfast room was tiny and packed with people, it felt very claustrophobic. Instead we went to a cafe over the road and had coffee and pastries.
There are some great restaurants in the area, the best of these was Taki - a Japanese restaurant, we went on our first night and it was so good that we went back for lunch on our last day.
Overall a great budget hotel which we would use again.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet ask for a room overlooking the internal courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lerwick
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

The guest house is in a great location - very handy for the Vatican and just off Piazza Cavour which is a main bus terminus for all the sights but therein lies the problem. If you have a room overlooking the main street, it is very nosiy from 6am onwards. The bottle banks are emptied at midnight. Rooms overlooking the courtyard are quieter.

Our bathroom had the worst shower ever, loo seat kept coming off and overall, bathroom wasn't very clean. I spilt cream om the tiles at the beginning of our week and it was never cleaned off. The lamp in the bedroom was hanging by a thread and the TV never worked for more than 5 minutes before cutting out. Although we complained about all of this on a daily basis, nothing was ever done.

Their new breakfast room is a joke. One 2 slot toaster for 24 people and a kettle which takes ages to boil. Tables are far too high to sit at. You are obvioulsy not meant to linger here as it can get very crowded with people queing for their breakfast items.

Loved Rome but we won't be coming back to Marta's Guest House.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seal30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Tennessee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Good hotel. very helpful stuff. the location is wonderful.
The bathroom need more cleaning and the room need renovation
we had to pay extra 3euro per night for the A/C

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDoumit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Cassiodoro
Cassiodoro
#212 of 1,287 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Prati
B&B Mellini 39
B&B Mellini 39
#629 of 3,642 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Prati
La Maison De Marta
La Maison De Marta
#1,779 of 3,642 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Da Marta e Alida Bed & Breakfast
Prati
Relais Vacanze Romane
Relais Vacanze Romane
#1,459 of 3,642 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 8 reviews
Prati
Arts Seven Roma
Arts Seven Roma
#437 of 3,642 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marta Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marta Guest House

Property: Marta Guest House
Address: Via Tacito 41, 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #590 of 3,642 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Marta Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, SpeedyBooker.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Marta Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marta Guest House Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing