We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for trip with teenagers!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Papa Germano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Papa Germano
Ranked #454 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
San Rafael, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for trip with teenagers!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

This review is a couple of years after-the-fact, but I've been meaning to put in a good word for this memorable hotel! My high-school Latin students, a parent chaperon, and myself found Gino and his staff to be wonderful, and we had a very comfortable one-week stay in February 2011. I had chosen this hotel because it was a little off the main roads but still near the train station. There were good reviews and the online booking they offer was easy. The Hotel Papa Germano is not fancy, but it is clean and well-managed, and the owner and staff are extremely helpful. It was great that there were computers for my students to email their parents every day. The breakfast was nice, too, with more than just rolls and cereal. There were hard-boiled eggs, ham, cheese, milk, and croissants, along with the cereal, every morning. If you would like a friendly, simple place to stay in Rome that does not cost a mint, stay here! I'm planning to bring another group in 2015.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    116
    49
    11
    7
See reviews for
46
83
48
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
299 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We first visited Papa's in 2007 and I originally picked it because it is close to Termini and I knew that I would be tired after a long flight. But we came to really like the people who work here led by Papa who is the sweetest man. Claudio, Anna and now Hanna usually work days and they are very helpful about answering any questions. There is maid service every day which is nice. A nice breakfast (included), which has bread, meat, cheese, hard boiled eggs, yoghert, juice cereal, coffee etc. Free internet in the rooms or free use of computers in common room. On this trip we are staying 6 nights in Rome and then heading to Tuscany and Venice. We will return to Papa's for 3 nights and then fly home. Everything that you would want to see is accessible from this hotel. On this trip my wife was feeling sick, so I mentioned it to Papa, and he sent us to his doctor. Papa Germanos will continue to be our hotel in Rome.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

With German kids going back and forth knocking on doors over and over, neighbors' drunken singing at 2:30 am, this is not a place to got a goog night's sleep. It's clean, a good location, and cheap. Bring earplugs.

Room Tip: Rome is noisy, face it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eastsidematt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed in Papa Germano this year in February. It's very well located and within 10 minutes walk from Roma Termini. The Termini connects you to all part of the city and with other cities across Italy. The hotel is cosy and clean and the hosts are nice and friendly. There is free internet and the hotel also serves breakfast if it has more than 5-6 guests. OVerall value for money and safe place to stay for few days.

Room Tip: All rooms are same
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BaishPune_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a clean, pleasant hotel. While by no means luxurious, we would certainly stay here again. The location was a short walk to the train station and we found the best pizza and gelato vendors literally one block away from our hotel. Papa is charming and welcoming. We felt safe even when traveling with our small children. The showers are poor but if you can overlook that you'll be happy with your choice. Affordable and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hskrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Dodge, IA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Clean
Safe
Affordable

These three things are the epitome of Hotel Papa Germano. Would certainly stay here again. A short walk to bus stops. Very close to the train station. Very welcoming host. Decent meal in the morning. Overall a great value.

You'll only be dissappointed if you expect more.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don_woody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Very nice place, friendly staff, small but clean rooms at a good location. The cleaner did the rooms every day and the communal bathrooms were also spotless throughout the day. The staff were very helpful and had lots of good tips about bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#306 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel il Papavero
Hotel il Papavero
#969 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Hotel Lodi
#259 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#374 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#315 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Texas
Hotel Texas
#714 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Papa Germano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Papa Germano

Property: Hotel Papa Germano
Address: Via Calatafimi 14A, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Papa Germano 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 star hotel, recently renovated, located near the station Termini, few minutes walking from the main attractions and points of interest. Rooms with/without private bath with air conditioning, sat TV, telephone and hairdryer. Since 1969. Recommended by international travel guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Papa Germano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papa Germano Hotel
Papa Germano Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing