We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value to the price”
Review of Hotel Papa Germano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Papa Germano
Ranked #449 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

I read good reviews of this place. They were completely true. I spend a 2 night with me girlfriend in Papa Germano. It's a great place for people who want to relax after a whole day of city exploring. Everything was clean. Charwoman comes everyday. There is no breakfast in the price, but it is not nessesery becouse Rome is full of smaller and bigger restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank majan26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 295 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Papa Germano was recommended, and I was pleasantly surprised. A five minute walk from Termini Station along a busy road, so there's no uneasiness if you're alone. Reception was very friendly and noted all places on interest on a map, including the metro and bus lines. Room was street facing, and though there was construction while there, closed windows drowned out most of the sound. My double room had a double bed, and a single bed in the corner. I wasn't charged extra, and the single was handy to lay out clothes and such. Bathroom was quite modern with standup shower and doors. There was ALWAYS hot water, which hasn't been the case in other Rome hotels. Room Wifi worked most of the time, sometimes a weak signal, and it is shut off during the night; though the computers in the lobby are always on and available. Breakfast was typical Italian-hotel style with cereals and pastries, sliced cheese and meats. Coffee and a variety of teas, too. There is no elevator I can recall, but staff is there if help is needed with luggage. All in all, it was great for a stay in Rome, and affordable!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelChicaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised about how comfortable and quiet this room was, since it was so inexpensive. We slept well in the bed and there was plenty of hot water. There was a refrigerator in room which was excellent since we stocked in with groceries. The ceilings were high and it was clean. Were only 10 minutes or so to Termini station for airport transportation as well as many buses and trains. The free wifi worked well. At 60 euro a night (not including an addition 2 euro per person per night city tax) this was a fine bargain. My only complaint is that the room was quite cold. We asked at the desk if they could turn on the heat and the man told us the building manager controls it and they could only turn it on with his permission.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PicnicAtTheCathedral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed for a few days at Papa Germano's last summer and would recommend it. It close to center of the town that you can walk anywhere. If going further, there's metro couple blocks away.
Place was really clean, wi-fi worked grat. There's no elevator in the building, so that might be challenge for some. During the day there is market down the street, where you can stock up on fresh fruits, veggies, meats and such... Also few restaurants close by if you're eating out. It was difficult getting parking spot close by, but we walked most of the time anyhow, as driving in Rome is sometimes, actually all the time quite "interesting" During night area, might not look quite safe, but we never had any problems.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaloVII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed here with two friends for 4 nights. We were looking for a budget place and were really happy with our find. The young guy who was at the desk on our arrival was very helpful, provided us with maps and was happy to give us direction to restaurants and bars, he also helped carry our suitcases up the stairs. Wifi was included, though from our second floor room we had trouble with reception so often sat down in the lobby area which was very comfy. The room itself was basic however very clean, with separate bathroom, though the toilet was real close to the sink so for someone taller may have been tricky, lots of spaces to store clothing etc and large mirror. Got very hot on the second floor, we never found the remote to the air con but then I'm sure if we'd asked the staff would have helped us. Quite a lot of noise could be heard from the streets but the window when closed blocked out a surprising amount of sound. Breakfast was included in our reservation and there was a good selection.

The hotel is located about 10 mins walk from the termini station (main station in Rome), and very flat, though the cobblestones were a bit annoying. I have to admit the area itself did not feel particularly safe, quite a few odd people around, however there was a young school group staying in the hotel next to us so it can't be that unsafe, plus the hotels security was very good, particularly at night and they had security cameras.

Overall very happy with our stay, thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keentoseetheworld88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Papa Germano's was EXCELLENT. Very friendly and helpful staff, immaculately clean, centrally located for both walking and to Metro, Wi-fi was perfect for connections. It was also very safe and secure. and 5 minutes from Termini, very near great little cafes, and all of the sights to see in Rome. I would recommend this to anyone. The price was great, and in my opinion this should be rated as more than a 2 star hotel. Great time!

Room Tip: The inner rooms with windows facing the courtyard have less street noise, but all of the rooms are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PajeOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We, my son and daughter and I - stayed twice at Papa Germano in August 2012. We were very pleased with the place, it was very clean (extremely clen to be honest) and the room were quite okay. The location is excellent, 5 minutes walk from Termini. In the neighbourhood you will find many good restauramts with decent prices and far better food then you get in the more central (tourist-) places in Rome. Though buses and the metro is close to the hostel we used taxi - and from the hostel to i. e. you pay 8 - 10 Euro. I will recommend it to everyone, but mark there is no elevator so heavy luggage isn't to much fun to carry up three stairs, but that is also the only negative thing to say about the place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LillehammerGro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Domidea Hotel
#212 of 1,269 in Rome
655 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#363 of 1,269 in Rome
429 reviews
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#254 of 1,269 in Rome
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#198 of 1,269 in Rome
679 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Il Papavero
Hotel Il Papavero
#1,002 of 1,269 in Rome
372 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#195 of 1,269 in Rome
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Papa Germano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Papa Germano

Address: Via Calatafimi 14A, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $49 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Papa Germano 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 star hotel, recently renovated, located near the station Termini, few minutes walking from the main attractions and points of interest. Rooms with/without private bath with air conditioning, sat TV, telephone and hairdryer. Since 1969. Recommended by international travel guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Papa Germano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papa Germano Hotel
Papa Germano Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing