We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Rome”
Review of Hotel Modigliani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Modigliani
Ranked #124 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed five nights at the Hotel Modigliani, November 18-22, 2013. The hotel is well located, close to the Piazza Barberini Metro stop and one street over from the Via Veneto. It is also very close to the Spanish Steps and within easy walking distance to the Trevi Fountain. The common areas in the hotel are quite lovely with marble floors and comfortable seating. The staff is extremely helpful and willing to do whatever it takes to make your stay enjoyable. The breakfast room is also a beautiful, large area with lots of choices of breakfast foods, juices and a self-serve coffee maker which makes several kinds of different and delicious coffees. The staff helping out at breakfast are very nice and friendly. The rooms at the hotel are small but spotlessly clean, as is the bathroom. Best shower we had in all of Italy...great water pressure and a large stall. Wifi is available for free in the common areas. You can pay a little extra to have it in the room, but the common area is so inviting we didn't find it necessary. There is a lift which is very convenient. Overall a great stay in a conveniently located hotel run by an excellent staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Strive49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,287)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Modigliani
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 1,287 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed four nights at Hotel Modiligiani in mid-November. It's a warm, welcoming place, with very upbeat, obliging front-of-house staff, an attractive lobby which works as a comfortable living room, and a lovely light breakfast room which is a pleasure to go down to in the morning - which is not always the case with hotels. Our room was fine too, comfortable bed, good shower pressure - only downside is no wifi in your bedroom unless you pay a supplement. Free wifi in the lobby though. Very good location, within walking distance of most of what you'd want to see in Rome in a few days, and the railway station. The hotel recommends some restaurants nearby - we tried two, and were very happy. Overall, a winner.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in the Hotel Modigliani. When we turned into the narrow side street I wasn't sure what to expect, but as soon as we stepped inside the lobby it became clear that this hotel is a real hidden gem. The decor is beautiful but more importantly, the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. The balcony in our room overlooked the adorable little courtyard. Eating breakfast there on the mosaic-topped tables must be idyllic in the summer. As we visited the hotel in November, we had breakfast inside. It was delicious, great start to a day spent seeing the sights, which are almost all within an easy walking distance. I would highly recommend this hotel and I look forward to returning to it!

Room Tip: The little bit extra you pay for a room with a balcony is worth it!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gallags5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We enjoyed our two night stay at hotel Modigliani. Our room was small but comfortable and very clean. The front desk helped us with with transportation to the airport since we had to leave in the middle of the night for a 6am flight. The breakfast buffet had a wide variety of choices.
We will stay at this location again.

Room Tip: Room 501 has a surprise view.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1616linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

This hotel was recommended by friends. We stayed two nights and would definitely stay here again. Apart from being excellent value in a great location (the walk from Termini station is 30 minutes but just 2 minutes from Barberini subway stop and near the Spanish Steps), the added bonus was the helpfulness and friendliness of the different staff members we dealt with. We ate at restaurants they recommended (one was superb and costly; the other had ambiance but lesser quality food and of course less costly). Had a quiet room over the back courtyard. Room was smallish but with enough space for two suitcases. Very clean with nice towels on a warm rack. We had to leave very early in the morning, and the person on the desk fetched us a cup of coffee to go and some fruit. Breakfast on the first day was full of good choices. Nice lobby; nice common sitting area; nice breakfast room and courtyard. You can order taxi to the airport for a fee just above the cost of a taxi to the station and purchase of train ticket. They ordered us a taxi as we had already purchased our return ticket to the airport. Free WiFi downstairs but a charge for room-use. The small street is a bit dark at night, and we needed (but could have asked for) a second glass ...but these are just quibbles. This is the perfect place to stay in Rome on a budget.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The hotel's great location makes it easy to walk to most historical sites in Rome. The staff was helpful before, during and after our trip, making it easy to have the vacation we wanted. The hotel is beautiful, the door is open 24 hours a day with staff immediately available at the front desk, breakfast is provided, and the view from rooms with balconies overlooking the garden is wonderful. Just be sure to ask ahead of time if you want one of those rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VickyT535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We spent our last night of our Italy trip here and wished we had found it sooner. The rooms were spotless and the staff were extremely helpful. The goal of the owners is obviously to have each patron leave the hotel feeling like royalty. The view over the city was spectacular and the location was perfect!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#114 of 1,267 in Rome
858 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
#58 of 1,267 in Rome
396 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#170 of 1,267 in Rome
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,267 in Rome
2,966 reviews
Trevi
Relais Trevi 95 Boutique Hotel
Colonna
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#43 of 1,267 in Rome
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modigliani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modigliani

Address: Via della Purificazione 42, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#94 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#96 Family Hotel in Rome
#169 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $94 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Modigliani 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet old street near the Spanish Steps and the imposing Via Veneto Hotels, this boutique Hotel is the ideal and charming place to have a pleasant holiday in Rome.The delightful inner garden and the large tasteful drawing-room offer the quietness so rare in the Rome Hotels. In this Bed and breakfast Hotels you’ll find the best cappuccino and 23 rooms with air conditioning, minibar, satellite Tv, safe, hairdryer and bath shower. The Superior rooms on the top floor of the Hotel offer a spectacular view on Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Modigliani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modigliani Hotel Rome
Hotel Modigliani Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing