We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and good, quiet location”
Review of Hotel Modigliani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Modigliani
Ranked #132 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Like most reviewers on this website stated before me, the location of this hotel is excellent: very close to the metro and at walking distance from most things tourists want to see in Rome. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I had a quiet and clean room and the bed was okay. The shower was a bit on the small side, but not problematically so. I had read some negative remarks on the breakfast, but found that there was a good choice of everything, especially for Italy, where breakfasts in general are not that extensive. The only more or less 'negative' thing I can say about this hotel is that I really don't like the style of the interior decoration, but who cares?

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antje O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

307 - 313 of 1,302 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

This hotel is very close to every thing like Spanish step, Fontana de trevi and piazza barberini, but our room was like sardines can, I was with my niece and we can moved in the room, the bath was clean but extremely small, thank god this was only one night

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria Elena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This was my second stay at this hotel; first with a Japanese friend for 4 nights this March and now overnight during a cruise in August. The location is excellent - close to metro, Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and Borghese Gardens. Staff are very friendly and helpful. I also used airport pick up and return on earlier visit, and left bags on first and last day. The room and shower were good and the quiet side street location meant a good nights sleep. The air conditioning was appreciated in August! Good breakfast although juice and coffee were rather weak for my taste.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a large shower which I preferred, and requested on my booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelsin2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with a friend for a long weekend in Rome.
Location: excellent. Short walk to the Spanish steps and the park. Easy walk to all other attractions as well (we walked everywhere)
Staff: Kind and extremely helpful
Communal areas: Clean, smart
Room:
Excellent bathroom, good shower
Beds - could be more comfortable. Quality of sleep was not that great. Rooms are quiet.
Breakfast: good food. Coffee was nice.

Really enjoyed our stay. Only downside was the beds. Would suggest it as a place to stay for friends although I haven't tried other hotels in Rome in the same category.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finnishbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Modigliani on the first and last night of our Italy trip since we flew in and out of Rome. The staff could not have been friendlier. We asked the hotel to arrange transportation from the airport, and we arrived to find a driver waiting for us. Even though we arrived in the morning, our room was already ready which allowed us to drop our bags before exploring the city. The location is great; just a 4 minute walk to the Metro stop, so it's a perfect "hub" to explore Rome. The only drawback is that the rooms and bathrooms are a little cramped. I know that this is probably standard for Rome hotels, but for the cost I was expecting a little more room. Other than that, I have no complaints and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the street. There is a beautiful little garden behind the hotel and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

At jewel just off the beaten path. Centrally located so was easy to access the main sites of Rome. It is close to the subway so we were able to get around using it as we'll. the hotel is extremely clean and well kept. We had one small problem with the bathroom which was fixed immediately. The breakfast was excellent. A great choice.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the front street is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel is in a good location near the Spanish Steps and the common areas are comfortable without being overdone. We had a standard room for a couple of nights and found the bed was very comfortable but the room itself was very tight and the bathroom, especially the shower, so small as to be almost unusable. The service was good and the staff were very helpful. Other rooms may be fine but avoid room 202 if you need elbow room.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Alastair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#161 of 1,271 in Rome
1,228 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#44 of 1,271 in Rome
1,588 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Imperiale
Hotel Imperiale
#232 of 1,271 in Rome
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Hotel Fellini
Hotel Fellini
#153 of 1,271 in Rome
796 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#112 of 1,271 in Rome
867 reviews
Colonna
9 Hotel Cesari
9 Hotel Cesari
#108 of 1,271 in Rome
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modigliani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modigliani

Address: Via della Purificazione 42, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#94 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#96 Family Hotel in Rome
#169 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $82 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Modigliani 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet old street near the Spanish Steps and the imposing Via Veneto Hotels, this boutique Hotel is the ideal and charming place to have a pleasant holiday in Rome.The delightful inner garden and the large tasteful drawing-room offer the quietness so rare in the Rome Hotels. In this Bed and breakfast Hotels you’ll find the best cappuccino and 23 rooms with air conditioning, minibar, satellite Tv, safe, hairdryer and bath shower. The Superior rooms on the top floor of the Hotel offer a spectacular view on Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Modigliani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modigliani Hotel Rome
Hotel Modigliani Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing