We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful little place-costly but great location”
Review of Celio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Celio Hotel
Ranked #536 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Luxor, Egypt
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful little place-costly but great location”
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Only stayed 2 nights, and it cost a small fortune but it was a great little old place...in walking distance to the Colosseum. Beautiful rooms and building....very fancy.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank empressginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    67
    18
    11
    23
See reviews for
28
40
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The location of this hotel is excellent - just a minute walk to the coliseum. About 5-8 min. walk to Metro. The rooms and bathrooms are quite small, but are furnished very nicely and are very clean and have great decor. There is wifi, but it works only in the lobby. There is no lift, so rooms on the first floor are desirable! Great breakfast in the morning - yummy croissants, bread, yogurt.

Room Tip: Try to get a 1st floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hikeTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Hotel is wonderfully decorated and clean. Roberto the Manager was extremely helpful and accommodating. We also stayed on the top floor with private terrace jacuzzi room and shower. Room service offered. No lifts. Great location, within walking distance to Colosseum, forum and historical sites. There are lots of great restaurants, all within walking distance. A great experience for our first trip to Rome, one day we hope to return and stay here again. Great coffees from the intimate relaxing bar area. Easy to catch a taxi, White cabs rank a short distance away and supermarket. Many thanks to Roberto and staff for making our stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Top floor suite jacuzzi in rooms, shower terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ribena001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2011

A great 3 star experience. Meaning rooms were clean but small. Staff was courteous but mostly left you alone. Good location within walking distance to coliseum, forum, and ancient downtown (e.g., pantheon). Good choice for somebody that doesn't need a lot of help/recommendations for things to do from staff but wants a good location for cheap-er price.

Wifi was great - FaceTime, skype and Netflix worked perfectly.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2011

Great Hotel specially for the price and location.Small hotel very close to the Coliseum, metro station and main attractions. Across the street was a small grocery store and around the corner we found some great places to eat. Staff was friendly and very helpful. We arrive early in the morning they stored our luggage, we came back to the hotel before check in time and they had our room ready for us. I could not have picked a better place to stay. I thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast. You need to see this quaint hotel loved the mosaic tiled floors.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viajerafeliz53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2011

This charming boutique hotel is located in the best part of Rome, especially for those who want to spend their time walking & sightseeing! Not only did we love the location, the owner and his staff were extremely friendly & polite. The location also gave us the opportunity to walk to restaurants and night, go into the grocery store if we wanted a snack, change money around the corner, or just begin our day with one of the most magnificent sights in Rome - the Colosseum!

This 140 year old home is a sight to see in itself. We had a fairly large room (for the 3 of us) and what some people might consider as a small bathroom (but there is only so much remodeling that can be done to an antique house). They are nicely decorated, clean, and have an outlet for American plugs. For those of you who need to stay connected, free Wi-Fi is available in the lobby.

As you head down to the breakfast area, check out the frescoes and decor - very fitting for the location. There are so many little things to appreciate in this hotel. The continental breakfast was delicious - exactly what I expected for being in Italy, and the perfect start to the day!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 512TexasTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2010

This hotel is a gem. Very tastefully decorated, comfortable beds and very clean rooms and bathroom. The towels were great! ( A personal rating indicator) We had a room w/ a little outside courtyard where we read, sipped wine before dinner and chatted. All of the staff were friendly, helpful with restaurant and travel tips; very accommodating.The location a block from the Colosseum/ Forum and the metro was very convenient.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathleeni60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Relais No9 Colosseo
Relais No9 Colosseo
#656 of 1,256 in Rome
58 reviews
Monti
Hotel Royal House
Hotel Royal House
#706 of 1,256 in Rome
136 reviews
Monti
Hotel Lancelot
Hotel Lancelot
#36 of 1,256 in Rome
1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Solis
Hotel Solis
#178 of 1,256 in Rome
553 reviews
Monti
Hotel Romano
Hotel Romano
#236 of 1,256 in Rome
208 reviews
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celio Hotel

Property: Celio Hotel
Address: Via Dei Santissimi Quattro 35/c, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #536 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Celio Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Celio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celio Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing