We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky hotel, good value & good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Ranked #70 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Overall this hotel was a very good value. Here are some pros and cons:

PROS:
- Good location, easy to get to most of the major sites
- Clean rooms & unique decor
- Very comfy beds, and they give you ear plugs if you're not used to a little street noise
- The shower is quite nice and is very big
- Excellent complementary breakfast
- Very good value
- Check in and check out is easy, and since we were leaving for the airport early in the morning they arranged bagged breakfasts for us and a taxi to come pick us up (at the same price that all taxis charge to go to the airport).

CONS:
- The rooms are small and have a kind of "pod hotel" feel (a whole wall opens up to reveal the bathroom, but then that wall can kind of try to close in on you while you're trying to use the sink if you don't open it all the way up.
- There isn't a lot of privacy in the bathroom in general... the toilet has a separate door, but it has big gaps and is frosted glass.
- The only coffee maker in the room is just a hot water pot with instant coffee.
- The set up of the entire hotel is a little strange, because it's in a building that has offices and other things in it. You have to ring a bell outside to get in the front door late at night.

But overall we had a good experience there. The service was good, the room was comfortable and clean and Rome itself is what you're there to see anyway!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Liz L,

thank you very much for sharing your experience at Dharma. I am happy that you had a good stay even though the concept behind Dharma wansn't really your "cup of tea". Feel free to come back next time you're in Rome.

Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

627 - 633 of 1,231 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

I would warmly recommend this very nice hotel. Perfect location for this high standing hotel close to the Termini Station and the metro, you are ideally located near the down town. Easy way to visit Rome walking. I stayed there 2 days and the great location help me out enjoying Rome by myself.
The room is very confortable,clean, and modern. The bedding is extremly confortable. The nice and big bathroom is really appreaciated. I'd like to specially thank the staff which is really friendly and professional nevertheless i would recommend the maid to be quieter early morning :-).
I didn't get the opportunity to take the breakfast which is served outside the hotel in the beside restaurant. Finally a nice place to stay for a short/long weekend in this fantastic city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benjamin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear theloubifarang

Thank you for your stay at Dharma Hotel. We are delighted that you have chosen to share your experience in our hotel and that you are satisfied with your choice. Thank you for the advice on the work of our waiter, we will do everything to optimize their work and minimize the noise.
I hope you can come back and visit us next time!

Best Regards

Lorenzo Macinanti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We arrived the hotel by taxi from Roma Termini, though the hotel was really close from the train station, within 15 mins by walk. The hotel occupied 3rd and 5th floor of a historic building on Via Torino (it was closer to the Reppublica Metro Station indeed). Our room was on 3rd floor Room 301. Upon arrival, the front staff, which was a lady, greeted us. She was a very nice woman and she gave us precise and detailed information about what we could do in Rome and explained to us the features in the room patiently. The room was facing Via Torino, though could still hear some noise, but it was fine to us. The room was spacious with a sofa bed, free wifi, electronic safe, a queen bed, a wardrobe behind the bed, flat TV, a small fridge, a big washroom with two basins, a bath tub with rain shower. The hotel's front door would close sometime at night and we needed to ring the door bell to ask someone to open the door for us, though the doors on each floor could be opened by the room access card. The room rate we paid included complimentary continental breakfasts at ground floor Caffe Cotto. Overall, the hotel was nice and worth for money in terms of its location and the size of and amenities provided in the room. Will stay there again when visiting Rome in future.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UncleDanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear UncleDanny,

thank you very much for sharing you awesome story at Dharma Hotel, we appreciate your kind and corteous feedback. We are very glad that you enjoyed our "welcome" hosted by Daniela - she can be very professional and friendly at same time. All in all, I am very happy to know that your stay in Rome was so pleasant and relaxed. Feel free to come back anytime! Thanks for support,

Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in June in a standard room. The rooms are very modern, and quite unexpected. They are large clean, and well designed. The hotel is a little bit hard to find the first time you visit - as it shares a building with other hotels. But once you have checked in, everything is quite smooth. The reception is on the 5th floor and the rooms are on other floors.

The location is ok, but we would prefer to stay in another location on our next visit to Rome. We found this area to be full of tourists, and for authentic Italian food, we travelled to other suburbs.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Andrew W,

thank you very much for sharing your experience at Dharma Hotel, we appreciate your effort. We are happy that you stay here went alright and smooth. About location, you are right, City Centre is first choice for many travellers visiting Rome, if you want to stay next to sightseeing areas.
Feel free to come back next time you're in Rome

Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Had a great time in a very stylish hotel. Superior rooms with great service from the staff...... Carlo is the man!! Brilliantly located in the heart of Rome as it is very close to all the attractions. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Mark J,

thank you very much for sharing your stunning stay at Dharma Hotel, we appreciate your effort. We are very, very glad that you had such a good time and you wanted to post your awesome story. Feel free to come back anytime you're in Rome.

Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

"Welcome home," said Carlo (one of them, there's two!) to me and that was exactly the feeling that I had after coming back from Paris with my mother to this hotel for our second 2-night stay while visiting a couple of European cities. On our first stay we were at the Deluxe Suite (301) and at the Wellness one (501) on our second. I did enjoy both since they have different décor but both equally comfortable/spacious.
The breakfast/food in general was really good at the Cotto restaurant (adjacent to the building). The hotel is located around the corner from one of the entrances to the Repubblica Metro Station which is very convenient to move around the center of Rome. And a few minutes walk to Termini (Train Central Station).
The area is a bit noisy and the Wi-Fi signal gets lost when inactive so you'd have to re-log on again and again but those are really minor issues. Thanks to Lorenzo, Carlo, Maximiliano and the staff in general for making our stays very comfortable/smooth/very pleasant. Hopefully, I'll see you guys soon!

Room Tip: On our first stay we were at the Deluxe Suite (301) and at the Wellness one (501) on our second
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Victor P,

thank you very much for sharing your experience at Dharma! We are very happy to read about your feedback, I think that your story will be very helpful for our future guests.
Feel free to send me more tips or suggestions how we can make a better and better service for our guests, that would be very much appreciated.
Feel free to join us again next time you're in Rome!

Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

It's hard to find nice, modern, clean and sleek hotels like this one in the centre of Rome for this price. this is a boutique hotel, basically a number of rooms within a building with a reception. Besides the fact that the reception is closed from 6am to 8am, thge staff have really gone above and beyond to help us with out early taxi and takeaway breakfast so that we could take an early flight. We spent 2 very comfortable night at this hotel in Rome, and I would definitely come back if I were to visit Rome again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amiscell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear amiscell,

thank you very much for sharing your experience at Dharma Hotel, we appreciate it.
We are very glad to know that your stay here was perfect and a good vibe.
Feel free to come back anytime you're in Rome,

Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,272 in Rome
7,021 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,272 in Rome
1,414 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#19 of 1,272 in Rome
4,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,272 in Rome
3,054 reviews
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#83 of 1,272 in Rome
2,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites

Address: Via Torino 122, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $114 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dharma Hotel is a Newly decorated, modern Hotel with Rooms & Suites with Jacuzzi, Turkish bath and Rain Showers. You can choose from several room types and service from the Official Site of the Dharma Hotel and book the best room and suite for your special time in Rome. If you look for the perfect sightseeing place, you cannot easily beat Dharma Hotel's location, a stone's throw to Termini Central Station (easy links to all Rome airports and cruiseship terminal) and all public transport bus/metro/tram lines. Also, walking distance to Colosseum, Roman Forum, Trevi fountain, Spanish Steps, Piazza Venezia. The hotel is situated within an ancient building, liberty style, for the lovers of architecture and fine design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing