We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel -”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Ranked #69 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2013

As per other reviewers, the hotel is ideally located in the heart of Rome. The rooms are stylish, with elegant design. We stayed for 5 nights start of April in a Junior suit, room, 302. The room had a fantastic shower/ steam room, big bathroom and nice jacuzzi bath. The room was cleaned daily to high standard. Slippers provided but no dressing gowns.

Noise - As per other reviewers the noise outside at some points is unbearable... it can get so noisy that you think the windows are open but they are all closed. During the day not a problem, but when the bin men come around at 01:00 for around 45 mins daily your night sleeps are disturbed. I have stayed i many city centre hotels ( for business and pleasure), and afraid to report this was probably the worse for noise... if the hotel could do something about the sound proofing of the Windows this would really help.

Aircon - The room was hot - We wanted to turn down the aircon but it didn't seem to work. Reception informed us that during the winter months its not in aircon mode, but room ambient mode, i.e if it falls below a certain temp the it would heat, but would not cool... suggestion... open the windows... during the day fine, but as per noise note above not a great solution. Everyone has there only preferred temperate, thus seems a bit silly for the units to be looked to seasonal modes.

Staff - Great welcome and staff always willing to help. The only thing i say is that they need to keep consistency in approach to ensure continued high standard service. I.e asking for where we could get an umbrella from only to be told no shops open... however a good tip would be to say people sell them on every street corner. Or a good extra would be to provide Hotel umbrellas.

All in all, great hotel, just needs to tweet a few things to get to that 5 star feel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Andy O,

thank you for sharing your candid feedback on Tripadvisor, we appreciate it.
Thank you very much your tips, we will take advantage of your kind effort.
We can't escape the air con winter mode until the end of March, this is not up to our will and it deals with energy saving rules. I think 99% of hotels in Rome adhere to this standard. Anyway, you should have noticed that we switched from winter to summer during your stay.

Just one thing about umbrellas: we have free umbrellas for our guests, they're in the entrance, you can borrow them anytime. You asked for "where can I buy one umbrella" and I just thought you wanted to buy a stylish umbrella and I started to think about one good shop... You looked very style-attentive and I just missed the point. Apologies for that, it was my fault.

Thank you again for your kind words of encouragement, we are very keen to our customers' point of view.

Feel free to contact me in private for further tips.

Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

669 - 675 of 1,230 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

BASICS

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights from 21-25 March 2013 and are 27 and 29 respectively.

LOCATION - 4.5/5.0
The location of the hotel was great as it is roughly only a 8-10 minute walk from Rome's main station Roma Termini and literally only around the corner from Repubblica (approx. 2 minutes walk), a station on Metro Line A which very conveniently gets you to the closest station to Vatican City, Ottaviano (approx. 15 mins). You should also note when leaving Repubblica, go towards the left and then exit right which saves you a bit of time and from crossing the road. It is also only around a 15 minutes walk from the Trevi Fountain so it makes for a nice stroll at night. There is a sign outside the hotel entrance which is very visible, but please note that the hotel itself is part of a larger complex that is shared and the reception for the hotel is actually on the 5th floor of the building so you will need to go there to check-in and out, Our room was on the 3rd floor so we only saw reception while checking in and out. Also note that reception is closed between 6-8am so if you need to check out that time, you need to check out the night before and leave the keys in the room when you leave in the morning. You can also request for a free boxed breakfast for that day if you tell them before the restaurant closes at 9:30pm. A side note being the restaurant the hotel uses to provide breakfast is not in the same building so you have to go outside, turn left and then it is the second door on the left. There is also a galeteria which opens until quite late just down the road if you fancied a late night gelati.

ROOM - 4.5/5.0
We booked a smart room on Agoda. The room we found to be very stylish and the decor very elegant, with some unique design. The room had a very relaxing and romantic ambience which we quite liked. It had a massive bathroom door with a mirror on the back which opens to reveal a sink and a toilet and a bidet behind another wall. There was no bathtub, but the walk-in shower was very nice and had a frosted glass door. There were sliding wardrobes behind the headboard of the bed on each side. The room had a big window with blinds, a decently enough sized flat screen TV, a mini-bar, air-con, hair dryer and a few complementaries (tea and snacks). There are a few complaints of noise from some reviewers, but it might depend on what side you are on as there wasn't any noise from our side so you might want to request a room opposite the roadside. So for us, the only slight negatives are that we couldn't find slippers or robes provided in the room.

SERVICE - 5.0/5.0
We did not see the staff that often, but we were certainly happy with the times that we did, they were friendly and professional. The maids did a good job cleaning our room daily in the mornings while we were out, and reception were very accommodating. We had to check out the night before as we were leaving while the reception was closed (6-8am), but we unfortunately checked out quite late that night and the restaurant was closed so it was too late to request a free boxed breakfast for the morning we were leaving. However, the reception must of remembered as just before we were leaving, they had called us to say that they had a spare boxed breakfast we could pick up if we wanted which we thought as a nice touch. The boxed breakfast included a mini croissant, a yoghurt, a bottle of water and a bread snack.

VALUE - 4.5/5.0
We paid £374 for 4 nights staying in a smart room booking with Agoda. I think for Rome, this is very good value for money on the basis of the service, location and quality of rooms. I'm not sure about booking with other websites, but with Agoda, it didn't include the hotel city tax, which is €2 a night per person which we weren't aware of. It's a small price to pay, and they do tell you about this when you arriv,e and you don't need to pay this until you check out, so remember to spare some euros to pay this.

CONCLUSION - 4.7/5.0
Overall, we very much enjoyed our short stay here and would definitely recommend it to others who plan on visiting Rome, especially if you are planning to make a side trip to Vatican City too.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank James_Vuong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear James_Vuong,

thank you very much for posting such an extraordinary and detailed review of your experience at Dharma Hotel! We are astonished by your true dedication.

I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our Smart Room, the economy & entry level room at Dharma... This is offering a very compact solution with stylish design and same features of other superior rooms at a cheaper rate.

Thank you for all your kind suggestions, we will take advantage for sure of your notes.

Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Dharma based on the recommendation of a friend, we loved it. We stayed in the wellness suite and took advantage of all of the amenities. The hotel staff was very helpful, including an excellent restaurant recommendation and assistance navigating during a Metro strike. The street noise was a contrast to the quiet of Venice, but was not bad at all. The hotel is walking distance from the Termini station and right around the corner from Metro and bus stops, making it convenient to all Rome.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillJE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear BillJE,

thank you very much for sharing your awesome experience at Dharma Hotel, we appreciate your effort.
Glad to know that you had such a great story to tell, feel free to come back anytime you're in Rome.
Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The hotel is only two blocks away from the metro station Repubblica and a 5 minutes walk from Termini. We were greeted upon arrival with a cold drink in the lobby and some explanation about the area (map with public transportation, restaurants etc.)

The hotel lobby is on the 5th floor including all of the suites. Our room was on the 3rd floor. The room was relatively large and very clean. It had a shower with a rain shower and a separate hand shower. There was also a fridge with some drinks, we took a bottle of water every morning (1,50 euro). Great plus was the free WiFi in the hotel and room.

Breakfast was served in cafe Cotto next to the hotel. Choices were limited, but overall it was good. The cappuccino was great.

Great service from the hotel staff arranging a bottle of prosecco for my husband. I sent a quick email from the restaurant we were eating and within half an hour it was delivered to our room.

Very nice hotel, we enjoyed our stay at the Dharma hotel very much.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanderMeta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Dear SanderMeta T,

thank you very much for sharing your positive experience at Dharma Hotel, we appreciate your effort. We are very glad that you had such a good stay at our hotel.

Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I chose the Dharma hotel for my husband's surprise 30th birthday and I was not disappointed. We stayed in the Wellness suite, kitted out with turkish steam bath and separate jacuzzi bath tub. The hotel offer a birthday package which I took advantage of and for a little extra we arrived with prosecco chilling, a huge chocolate cake (which was delicious) and balloons. We had the suite with balcony and although the view is nothing spectacular we thoroughly enjoyed sitting out, taking in the sounds of Rome. There was a fair bit of street noise late evening and early morning with bin collections and traffic, but the hotel provided ear plugs which totally drowned the sounds out while we were sleeping. The breakfast is perfectly acceptable, continental type and self service.
The location really is superb, 2 minutes walk from the nearest metro, 10 minutes from the main station and within 20-30 minutes walk from most of the central sites such as the Trevi Fountain, Colosseum, Spanish Steps etc. If like us you prefer to walk and take in the sights then this hotel is perfectly situated.
We'd happily stay here again and thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear meeshScotland,

thank you for posting such a good feedback about your stay in Dharma Hotel, we appreciate your effort. We are very glad that the overall report of your stay is very good. Feel free to contact me in private to share more tips and suggestions to let our service get better and better.

Best regards,

Lorenzo Macinanti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Hotel Dharma. It occupies a few floors of a commercial building. No worries, we felt safe and secure. Our room was spacious compared to other European hotels. It was nicely appointed with a turkish steam bath. Our room faced the street; the street noise is apparent but not bothersome. During the day, I would open the two big windows to enjoy the air and bustle of Rome. Hotel Dharma partners with Cotto Restaurant to serve breakfast. It's located a door down from the hotel. They have a good variety of food, hot and cold. I ordered carbonara one afternoon, it was good.

The hotel's location is excellent, about 5 - 10 minute walk to Termini. Metro and the bus stop is two minutes away. The closest metro and bus stop is Repubblica. There's a small convenience store two doors down from the hotel. The hotel attendant was really helpful when we arrived. She arranged for a reservation for the Colosseum, which we ended up not needing since we bought the Rome pass. She also encouraged us to reserve our visit to the Vatican. It was fortunate that we did for 20 Euros per person to get in, bypassing about an hour wait in line or longer. Although when we left 3 or so hours later, the line to get in is gone. It would have been nice if the hotel had mentioned that reservations is required for Galleria Borghese. Unfortunately, I became aware too late and did not get in. This is my fault though, I should have researched. Book early online for Galleria Borghese.

Hotel Dharma is a gem! The hotel even lent us an umbrella when we misplaced ours. Nice hotel, good location, adequate hot and cold breakfast and wifi included.

Room Tip: The corner suite on the 5th floor, room 505, is spacious with nice, big windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hope L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Hope L

thank you very much for posting your candid feedback on Tripadvisor, we appreciate it. We are happy to know that you felt safe and secure in our hotel, this is something that we really care about. Very glad to know that our attendant Daniela proved her best skills in hospitality and offered such a good assistance. I am sorry you missed the Galleria Borghese, this is one of the most sought after place in Rome. You require to book weeks in advance in high season, the Galleria has got very tight rules on it... Next time you're coming to Rome don't forget to reserve your ticket in advance.

Feel free to come back anytime, you're welcome.

Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is quite excellent, and I agree with most reviews here. Due to delays of our flights, we arrived very late with the airport bus to Rome. We chose to walk the approx 10 minutes from the Termini station, which I now regrets. Unfortunately we were attacked after arriving to the hotel, while we were waiting for the elevator to take us to the fifth floor. Probably a stalker from Station attacked me on my daughter but got no values out of it. We were quite shocked and have discussed the incident with the Hotel and the police subsequently. The hotel does not want to change the security policy on the basis of the episode ... We would consider this location if we come back to Rome. The breakfast was okay and absolute self-service- "clean your own table". We almost felt that we had to beg for the hot drinks. Rome is a nice place to enjoy...

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carsten P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Carsten P,

thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay at Dharma Hotel. We made everything to let you have a comfortable stay here, offering you compliments and showing you our natural friendly approach.
I would really appreciate if you might report what happened to you on "Termini Station" as well, that would be awesome to help people coming from the Station in the middle of the night to take care of themselves, not wearing iPad on hand, not walking around without knowing exact directions, etc. That it would be very helpful, for every traveller coming to Rome.

We are very sorry about your awful event and we had the chance to talk about it for long and I am very glad that you had no subsequence, but you failed to mention that what happened to you has very little to do with Dharma Hotel and happened outside from our jurisdiction.

When you say that the hotel does not want to improve its security, sorry, I really do not understand what you mean. We do a lot for security and many guests in previous comments have posted very good feedback about our security protocols.
You complained about no cameras filming the front door in the street. There are laws in this country that says that you cannot film public soil except you are a business in danger (bank, gas station, monument). You are able to position your cameras inside the hotel, which is private, and very tight rules are given (you have to destroy your films after few days) but no camera pointed out is allowed.
Check the internet. Hotels are no way considered "business in danger" for the Italian Law. And our Hotel has never been subjected to any danger.
Filming is usually a precaution that hotels have against some guests in bad faith that leave the hotel without paying - let me say that our guests are not of that kind and, moreover, we have other precautions.
Every door in our hotel needs a card to swipe, and every access is recorded. We know exactly where you are, what time and how many times you entered your room, we know when your window is open and when you are doing a shower. We know if you light your cigarette (and you are not allowed to do that...). Everything is filed and recorded for few days. This is the only security procedure that really matters.

About breakfast, I don't understand when you say that you needed to clean your table. I think there must have been some sort of misunderstanding. We offer continental breakfast on buffet, meaning that you can serve yourself. If you may need any further help, hot drinks and more, we are very happy to provide our assistance.
Table cleaning is up to our waiter.

Wish you all the best,

Lorenzo Macinanti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#35 of 1,272 in Rome
1,413 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,272 in Rome
7,016 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#19 of 1,272 in Rome
4,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,272 in Rome
3,054 reviews
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#82 of 1,272 in Rome
2,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites

Address: Via Torino 122, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $115 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dharma Hotel is a Newly decorated, modern Hotel with Rooms & Suites with Jacuzzi, Turkish bath and Rain Showers. You can choose from several room types and service from the Official Site of the Dharma Hotel and book the best room and suite for your special time in Rome. If you look for the perfect sightseeing place, you cannot easily beat Dharma Hotel's location, a stone's throw to Termini Central Station (easy links to all Rome airports and cruiseship terminal) and all public transport bus/metro/tram lines. Also, walking distance to Colosseum, Roman Forum, Trevi fountain, Spanish Steps, Piazza Venezia. The hotel is situated within an ancient building, liberty style, for the lovers of architecture and fine design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing