We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best B&B style hotels I've been to”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Ranked #66 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“One of the best B&B style hotels I've been to”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Dharma and would recommend it to everyone going to Rome.

The location is great, only about 2 blocks from a Metro stop (Repubblica). The hotel staff were as nice as any I've encountered at any hotel in the world, especially Carlo, the night manager. He was great at helping us get checked in and fine a good, non-touristy local spot for dinner since we arrived at about 9:00 PM. Furthermore, the location is in a good spot, near the Termini train station and in an area with numerous restaurants. Some of the restaurants are of the usual tourist-trap kind of thing, but there are also plenty of gems to find, especially with the help of the Hotel Dharma Staff.

The rooms are among the best I've seen. I've read reviews saying they're small and that someone "didn't have enough room to stretch their arms", which to me is crazy talk. Our room was a suite and had a bedroom on the right and a sitting area and couch on the left. The room is modern looking and the bed is very comfortable. The bathroom is great with a rain-like shower from above and all the amenities I was looking for. And it's en suite.

Overall, Hotel Dharma is a great hotel. I would go back to this hotel every time and would recommend it to everyone who visits.

Room Tip: The main desk is on the 5th floor, so consider that, positive or negative depending on your view, be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travisc826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear travisc826,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback, we appreciate it. We are very happy to learn that you had a great stay in our Suite Executive, 505. We understand that some of our guests may find our Superior Double rooms (our "entry level" choice) might be sometimes a small accomodation: for italian standards, especially Roma City-centre, they are very spacious and fully equipped. Your Suite Executive, is one of the best choice you could pick from our room types if you are looking for a mini-apartment like offer.
Let me say that we are very grateful for your excellent rating of your experience at Dharma.
Feel free to come and join us again in the future.

Best regards,

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    308
    51
    4
    4
See reviews for
162
702
36
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Great location. We were in Rome for a short time and walking where we wanted to go/see was easy. Cotto Cafe as a the hotel's breakfast option was really good. Great staff and friendly. The reception staff were really good. We had room 308 which had a new shower/bathroom which was great. However the view was into the central courtyard and not so interesting. Room design also somewhat small and both my partner and I smashed our legs on the bed corner given one small gap at one spot. Note that if arriving at night, reception is on level 5. Clean and friendly. Recommended but perhaps a bigger room.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Scott G,

Thank you for sharing your candid opinion on Tripadvisor. I am very happy to hear that the newly refurbished shower in 308 is a great add-on and that you enjoyed its flawless outfit . Because of those recently reported issues of some showers, we had to move several guests in the last few days for an extraordinary rework, that should be finished in few days. We preferred to relocate some guests now, that we are fully booked, instead of waiting for November's off-peak time of the year. We love to be honest and do not like to cheat anytime with our guests.
About 308: I think it is a very good room, especially if you are looking for soundproof accomodation: some guests require inner courtyard rooms to avoid any street noise. If you would like to switch your room to a front street room, we can check our availability and make your change.
Thank you very much for sharing your candid opinion on TripAdvisor, we appreciate it.

Best regards,

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Dharma at the end of August for 4 nights. I found the hotel on Trip Advisor and read the reviews before booking. We were delighted to see that the pictures of the room were exactly what we got. In fact the room is even bigger than it seems in the photos. We booked a suite with a Jacuzzi tub which is up a couple of steps behind the bed. The jacuzzi was so welcome after all the walking we did around Rome. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The room was a corner room with two glass doors which opened on to 2 balconies.
We walked from Roma Termini train station. It's not a bad walk pulling rolling suitcases. One reviewer said it took him 5 min! He must be a fast walker!
Buying the Roma Pass was the best idea and well worth the 30 Euros each. With the pass you don't have to stand in the long lines, and it can be used on the Metro, too.
A word of caution about the Metro. My husband was a victim of a pair of pickpockets, and it very nearly ruined our vacation. So watch out.
Finding the Hotel Dharma was easy. The hotel shares a building with 2 other hotels. Look for the sign that says Hotel Petit.
The staff at Hotel Dharma was very helpful: Carlo the night manager, Andrea and Daniella. Daniella called The Villa Borghese museum and made reservations for us (even with the Roma Pass you still need a reservation.)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candace F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear grammycandy.

Thank you very much for sharing your candid opinion about Dharma Hotel, we appreciate it. Our staff - Daniela, Andrea and Carlo - is saviing a good memory of you.
I am very glad to hear from our guests that pictures on advertisement are really equivalent to truth. We do not like to cheat and we think that integrity and honesty is a true selling point.

Thank you very much for staying at Dharma,

Best regards,

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hongkong
Level Contributor
52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Thanks for the previous reviews in tripadvisor and we found this a perfect stay in Rome. Since I have not much new points to share, I'll share some tips to let others have a even much enjoyable stay. The hotel is just less than 10 mins walk to termini station, if you are carrying heavy luggage like we did, try to catch on bus 64 or 40 and the hotel is just one stop away. If you prefer walking, I would suggest to enter from Via Nationale as there are less copper stone road which make the trolley roll easier. The metro station is just steps ways, but I prefer to take bus. Bus 64 is frequent and convenient to go to most of the tourist site. I also tried coffee, snacks and lunch on those local and small restaurants on via Torino and most of them are great with reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicinici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Nicinici,

thank you very much for sharing your corteous feedback on TripAdvisor. Your useful tips will help our future guests in finding more "selling points" related to Dharma Hotel's location and features. I am very glad to know that you had a great time at our Hotel.

Best regards,

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yellow_roses1
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Myself and my husband stayed in the Dharma Hotel for 3 nights recently, and we had a very enjoyable stay. Excellent location.... clean rooms, and very friendly staff.
Carlos, the night manager was particularly helpful, and he suggested some very good local restaurants.
Rooms were a bit on the small side, but the central location of the hotel made up for this. Our shower did overflow one night also, the drain must have been slightly blocked and the water overflowed out onto the bathroom and the bedroom floor.... I think I saw this issue in another review here also.... This might be something that needs to be checked in the rooms.
Would still recommend this hotel to a friend though :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellow_roses1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear yellow_roses1,

thank you for posting your candid review on Tripadvisor. We are very glad to know our customers satisfaction or suggestions eventually. We are sorry about shower problems. This is a very annoying issue that we are going now to adjust finally. Two rooms (311 and 308) have now been refurbished and replaced with a new structure that now is draining perfectly. We are now going to replace every room's shower in the next weeks. Sorry for making you any trouble.
In the end we are very happy that you have spent a nice three-days at Dharma and you are going to tell your friends about your lovely experience.

Best regards

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We're just back from a 2 night stay in a "Suite Deluxe" - we were in room 501, which is just off the reception area. As the room is on the corner, it is an odd shape - but the space is used very cleverly - lovely big bed, with a bedside table and wardrobe on each side, behind the bed is the bathroom (though the toilet is on one side, and the shower/steam room on the other), and then a jacuzzi tub on the opposite side of the room. There was also a really cute balcony, with table and chairs, and potted plants - very homely.

All of the different staff (and possibly owner) we spoke to, were very very friendly and helpful, and made us feel very welcome.

The hotel is in easy walking distance of the main train station (RomaTermini - which also has the express trains to Fiumicino Airport). The area around felt safe enough for a big city, and there was always people about. There are also quite a few restaurants in easy walking distance.

The WiFi didn't work very well in the room, however it seems to be because of the incredibly thick walls, and the man on reception did try to reposition the router etc. It worked perfectly well in reception, and as it was right outside our door, not a problem to me.

The only advice I have for anyone staying - is to make sure you secure the shutters closed at night - as on the first night I woke many times due to the noise on the street (mostly traffic noise) and then the light in the morning - however, on the second night, I slept through - all with the shutters secured!

The breakfast served in the restaurant downstairs (Cotto) - was great - a normal continental style, meats, cheese, cereal, fruit, pastries etc., plus juice, and coffee made fresh to order.

(One minor point for the owners - could you put a price list for the mini bar in the room? We didn't use the mini bar at all, as we weren't sure what the cost was!)

I'd definitely stay here again if visiting Rome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigga23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear twigga23,

we are very glad that you have spent a good time at Dharma Hotel.
Thanks for all your useful and candid suggestions - we are going to take care of them .
Feel free to come back anytime,

Best regards,

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just returned from 4 nights at Hotel Dharma in a Superior double (the cheapest option!) and we really enjoyed our stay.

We only booked our visit to Rome the week before (surprise trip) and used Tripadvisor to pick a hotel and were glad we came here.

It's great value and the rooms are clean with enough space for two people to happily base themselves - if you're spending enough time in your hotel room to feel that the room isn't big enough then you're not getting the most out of Rome! We only slept there and came back once during the day to get ready for a night out on the town. The rooms are nicely decorated with interesting use of space and all the staff we came across were incredibly accommodating and friendly.

The hotel is a hop skip and a jump from the metro as well as some great bus stops that will get you whizzing about Rome in no time. Look out for the Hotel Petit sign and you'll find the door, The area always has people around and despite arriving at 11pm we still felt comfortable with all our luggage etc, just have your wits about you as usual.

The staff at Cotto are lovely and the breakfast was a great way to fill up before heading out for the day. This isn't the place for a cooked breakfast but with the prospect of pizza and pasta for lunch - why would you want it? Some cereal, yoghurt and a croissant and you're good to go!

We'll definitely keep Hotel Dharma in our minds for our next trip to Rome.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the street, number 305, plenty of electrical outlets and lots of mirror space a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lightpacker011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear AAB011,

Thank you very much indeed for your amazing comment. I really appreciate it.
Glad to know that you enjoyed your visit and had a good time at our hotel.
About breakfast: you are totally right. In Rome there is nobody having a cooked breakfast in the morning. Trying to follow locals' habits is not that bad, isn't it?
Feel free to come back next time and inquire directly through email to get the best available offer.

Best regards,

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#30 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#83 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,387 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#48 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,248 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites

Property: Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Address: Via Torino 122, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dharma Hotel is a Newly decorated, modern Hotel with Rooms & Suites with Jacuzzi, Turkish bath and Rain Showers. You can choose from several room types and service from the Official Site of the Dharma Hotel and book the best room and suite for your special time in Rome. If you look for the perfect sightseeing place, you cannot easily beat Dharma Hotel's location, a stone's throw to Termini Central Station (easy links to all Rome airports and cruiseship terminal) and all public transport bus/metro/tram lines. Also, walking distance to Colosseum, Roman Forum, Trevi fountain, Spanish Steps, Piazza Venezia. The hotel is situated within an ancient building, liberty style, for the lovers of architecture and fine design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing