We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hotel for a city break in Rome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dharma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dharma Hotel
Ranked #60 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel for a city break in Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just returned from 4 nights at Hotel Dharma in a Superior double (the cheapest option!) and we really enjoyed our stay.

We only booked our visit to Rome the week before (surprise trip) and used Tripadvisor to pick a hotel and were glad we came here.

It's great value and the rooms are clean with enough space for two people to happily base themselves - if you're spending enough time in your hotel room to feel that the room isn't big enough then you're not getting the most out of Rome! We only slept there and came back once during the day to get ready for a night out on the town. The rooms are nicely decorated with interesting use of space and all the staff we came across were incredibly accommodating and friendly.

The hotel is a hop skip and a jump from the metro as well as some great bus stops that will get you whizzing about Rome in no time. Look out for the Hotel Petit sign and you'll find the door, The area always has people around and despite arriving at 11pm we still felt comfortable with all our luggage etc, just have your wits about you as usual.

The staff at Cotto are lovely and the breakfast was a great way to fill up before heading out for the day. This isn't the place for a cooked breakfast but with the prospect of pizza and pasta for lunch - why would you want it? Some cereal, yoghurt and a croissant and you're good to go!

We'll definitely keep Hotel Dharma in our minds for our next trip to Rome.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the street, number 305, plenty of electrical outlets and lots of mirror space a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lightpacker011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear AAB011,

Thank you very much indeed for your amazing comment. I really appreciate it.
Glad to know that you enjoyed your visit and had a good time at our hotel.
About breakfast: you are totally right. In Rome there is nobody having a cooked breakfast in the morning. Trying to follow locals' habits is not that bad, isn't it?
Feel free to come back next time and inquire directly through email to get the best available offer.

Best regards,

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    726
    303
    48
    3
    3
See reviews for
160
689
35
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Just arrived back from a 3 day break in Rome stopping at the dharma hotel. Taxi arrived at airport took us to the hotel. We used the lift to the 5th floor to reception where we checked in and were given room 505. We had a quick brief tour of the room and were left to it. There was no information pack regarding contacts or anything for information for tourists for taxis or bus numbers etc. Apart from that the room was very nice.

As we're getting ready to go out on the night for some food, we spotted that there was only one plug that was avaliable for use this being underneath the television. There was no mirror there so my girlfriend was unable to do her hair as I'm sure many other women would want to do before a night out. This also meaning no other plugs were able to be used included the shaver plug in bathroom.

We ate breakfast at the cotto which was very nice and we also ate here for an evening meal which was also lovely plus if you stay at dharma and eat at cotto you get 10% off your bill which we heard through trip advisor but were not informed by the lady on reception when we checked in which I thought was a bad business decision not promoting the cotto which is lovely.

We paid our city tax the day before we were leaving also asking Danielle to book us a taxi for the morning specifically 8am so we were able to reach the aiport in time for our flight home.

As we woke up the morning of departure I had a shower but found the water not going down the drain instead it was flooding over and spilling onto the bathroom floor. My other half went to the reception to tell someone but there was nobody there to approach. We went for breakfast which we were told was between 7am and 10am. We went down at 7.30 to find it was shut and waited outside until someone let us in. The waiter was a lovely chap and on 3 occasions we breakfast at cotto he was very friendly. We then left the room at 8am to check out to find no one on reception so left keys on desk and went down to get our taxi. Our taxi was meant to arrive at 8am, we went down to find no one so gave some time to counter for traffic. At 8.20am still no taxi, so got very annoyed and did not want to waste time going up to reception to ask where it was. Instead we got into another taxi which took us to aiport.

Overall room was nice but was service was very poor.

But we definitely recommend coming to Rome and eating at cotto.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wwfc91sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Wwfc91sam,

I am very sorry about all concerns you had during your stay at Dharma Hotel.
Please accept our candid apologies: it has never been our philosophy to let our customers down and with no assistance.

I wanted to thank you for taking the time to post, for the very first time, your opinion on TripAdvisor, even though it is no way accomplishing ourselves.
It took me a while to answer because I wanted to double-check every detail of your review.

After you checked-in, Daniela lead you to the room and introduced all main facilities of the new enstablished Executive Suite (there is a big wide mirror in the living room, two more in bathroom anyway and plugs next to it).
Every information about the City, including maps, is available at our front desk, which is open from 8:00 am til 6:00am. I am very sorry that you missed this information when you tried to report an issue at 7:00am.

At this point, I felt that was something missing. Every room has got a detailed info-sheet that we update very often. I have double-checked the day you left the room and it looked like there was none on the desk. I cannot say why it was not there, so please accept our apologies. If you had come and question about it, I think that we could have change things on the run and turn your stay in a positive way.

Anyway, sorry about that, we would have been very glad to give a new info-sheet with all the hotel policies.
By now, we will be checking every single morning if that info-sheet is there where it must be.

About Cotto: We would be very grateful if you could share your good experience on Cotto's TripAdvisor. I am very happy that you had a good time at our restaurant: Dharma and Cotto share same management and, as you may notice, the person answering Cotto's reviews is... me! This is the main reason why Dharma Hotel's guests have breakfast (starting at 7:30) and dinner at Cotto: it's a full experience, it's not one and the other.

About your Steambath dripping water: I have double-checked and it is perfectly working. if you open the showerdoor when you are having a steambath, obviously you are going to flood your room. It takes some time to drain all the steam and shower, that's how it works.

About your taxi, I think that it was, again, a lack of communication.
The Taxi was booked for 8:00 am. When Daniela arrived it was 8:00 and the taxi was there waiting for you. She was looking for you in the room but you weren't there. We just thought that you left earlier without waiting. We paid for your advanced taxi reservation too. When you book a taxi, you should wait in the lobby until the taxi arrives and you get the news. I am sorry if you felt annoyed by the inconvenience. You could have ring to the interphone and talk to Daniela.
These are no excuses: we had some problems with you and we are very sorry that you did not feel welcome as any other customer. On the other hand, please consider that is always much better to have a conversation on the spot, than answering a blame review on TripAdvisor. Lots of talk and no one is right.

Feel free to come back next time and check if your suggestions and experience have taught something to us.

Best regards,

Lorenzo Macinanti
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

I'm a bit conflicted on this review. The rooms were modern, clean and comfortable. The location was nice. However, we arrived in Rome late in the evening and finally made it to the hotel at about 10pm. When we arrived, the night manager informed us that the room I had booked several months earlier was not available. He offered us an upgrade for the first night of our stay as well as the last night of our stay to their suite, however this would require us to change rooms twice during our visit. The suite was very large and nicely decorated so I would not normally complain about this but it caused a great inconvenience as to change rooms, we would have to move our belongings at noon after the check-out time. The problem with this is that we had other activities pre-booked such as a day trip to Naples and reservations as the Coluseum, etc. As we store cash and passports in the safe, we do not feel comfortable leaving our belongings at reception for them to move for us. I know for many, this would not be a problem, but I wanted to write this for those of you who would be upset if the reservation you had booked months earlier was not fulfilled. I hope the hotel works harder to make sure people get what they book in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachelleahCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear rachelleahCalgary,

I am very sorry for your concern. I think there must have been some communication problem. You reserved one Superior Double - and it was available for the entire stay (and you got it for the entire stay as well!). Our Night audit he just offered you to have a free upgrade for two nights, since you were on a very special journey (congratulations!) .
We are very glad to offer you free upgrades when we are able to. Sorry if you did not like our offer!
Anyway, I am pretty happy that you had a pleasant stay after all.

Best regards,

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Our room was on the 3rd floor, very modern reasonably sized room, well kept and cleaned daily.
In our 6 weeks of touring Europe this hotel was the only one that had a mini bar, tea & coffee making facilities, this was an added bonus, nice to have a cold drink in your room after a long day of sight seeing.
Daniella in reception was very helpful and a wealth of information.
Reception as previously stated is on the 5th floor.
Breakfast at Cotto's was good, plenty on offer, Alfonso made the best coffee and was very informative and made you feel very welcome.
Location of this hotel was very good, close to metro's and plenty of restaurants, Our most enjoyable meal was at Cotto's.
Air cond was also very good.
Hotel is in the same building at Hotel Petit.
Enjoy your stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHallss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear TheHallss,

thank you for posting such a good review. We are very happy to knlw that you had a very good time at Hotel Dharma. Glad to know that our staff met all your expectations.
Feel free to come back next time and check it out again!

Best regards,

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

The hotel location is convenient, but the signage is small, so it was a little hard to find at first. Reception is not on the first floor, but you have to take a lift to the 5th floor. The rooms are very nice and new! We booked a junior suite, but was given a double room on the first night, with the promise of a free upgrade to a new deluxe suite with jacuzzi on the 2nd and 3rd nights. The double room has a nice decor, and unique doors to the bathroom and toilet, which are separate. The problem with this double room is that the bathroom drainage was bad, such that water flowed out into the room after a bath. In addition, the bathroom has a frosted glass screen which is visible from the bed area, and the image is quite clear from outside in! Luckily I was with my husband, so it was ok...otherwise may be awkward if not travelling as a couple.

We changed to the newly opened deluxe suite on the 5th floor on the 2nd day, and it was very nice! Nice decor, with jacuzzi and big bathroom. We were told we are the 2nd guests staying in this room, but because it is so new, the wifi is not available yet. The toilet was located at opposite ends of the room with the bathroom, and this was slightly inconvenient as the toilet did not have a tap. This means that after using the toilet, you have to walked out to the other end where the tap was (in the bathroom).

There is a big balcony that you can walk out too from the room, but there is not much use for it since there are no table and chairs outside. There was also not much of a view, other than the surrounding buildings. One flaw is that there was limited support at night. We came back at night ome day and realised that all the bath towels were not replaced, and when we tried to call room service, no one answered. Since our room was near the reception, we walked out to check but no one was there. Finally, after calling a few more times, we finally got someone to send us new towels.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Joy80,

Thank you for your candid comment. We appreciate it.
Just wanted to say that if you can't find us at reception desk might be: 1) we are checking in some guests, since, as you should know, we lead you to the room and introduce you how everything works. 2) We are supporting other guests in their request 3) desk might be closed (6am - 8 am), but our reservations is open and you can talk to them - we let you know about this option at check in and you have every information written inside the room.

Thank You for your staying at Dharma Hotel.

Best regards,

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We had 4 great nights here in August, a very nice hotel.

The location is incredibly handy for the metro (which everyone should use, it's incredibly clean, safe, & easy even for non Italian speakers - and air conditioned for the summer!) but it's quite a long walk from there to, for eg, the pantheon or spanish steps. There are loads of places to eat within walking distance too.

the hotel 'restaurant' is actually a great cafe on the ground floor, which does fantastic breakfasts and is a nice place to go for a glass of wine at the start of an evening. Taxis are easy to find in the piazze round the corner.

the only thing that I didnt like about the hotel was the 'mood lighting' which seemed to decide for itself when it should be on, and what colour it should be. It never came on during the night, but there was something wrong with the wiring that made it do weird stuff while other lights were on.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeCambridge_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear mikeCambridge_UK,

thank you for having such a good time at Dharma Hotel. We are very glad to know that your stay here was pleasant and lovely. About light therapy: the everchanging colours itself should bring you a sort of relax effect! Sorry if it did not work with you.
Feel free to come back next time and check it out again!

Best regards,

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights early September. The hotel is situated on two floors (3rd and 5th) in a building shared with other businesses and possibly also private tenants. We were on the 5th floor. When we arrived, the room type that we had reserved had been given to another guest so the first night we got another room. This was a bit more expensive but we did of couse not have to pay the extra cost. Nevertheless, it is always a bit of a hassle to have to change rooms during a stay.

The rooms are modernly decorated and each room a bit different from the other, which is always nice. This is the pleasure with boutique hotels compared to known chains or any three-star hotel. Our rooms also offered some interesting lights - make sure if you get room 505 that they have fixed the blinking... The best about the rooms were the bathrooms and that the beds were super comfortable, including the pillow, which is definitely not the case with most hotels in the world. We also appreciated the air conditioning although the worst summer heat in Rome had diminished by the time we were there. There are complimentary coffee and tea amenities in the room, as well as a small mini bar.

The hotel is of very good value. The location is great, close to Termini Station as well as to Metro Repubblica. The room price is low considering how new and stylish rooms are and compared to many other accomodations in Rome. The attitude is friendly and personal, i.e. at the reception on the 5th floor. They helped e.g. with different reservations. However, given that the hotel as such do not offer additional services, e.g. no proper lobby with a bar, no restaurant (breakfast is however included and served in a nice next door restaurant and lounge bar, which we also recommend for dinner), no laundry service, and only one person at the reception until 21h00 or so and thereafter a 'night guard' who opens the door when you ring the bell, our total rating lands on a 4. But we absolutely recommend this accomodation.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the street are brigher and feels more spacious than rooms towards the back/small inney...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malingreta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_Macinanti, Direttore vendite at Dharma Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear malingreta,

Thank you for posting your candid comment, we appreciate it.
We are very glad to know that your stay here was a pleasant experience and we are happy to hear such good stories. Let me just point some minor things:

1) Bar & Restaurant: Cotto is the Dharma restaurant & bar. Same property, same staff, same design. In the future we are going to have a direct access from the building without entering from next door.

2) Laundry service: we are now offering a laundry service on request. Ironing is not allowed in hotel rooms and it does not depend to our decision: that's the law.

3) By August, we have a night manager to accomplish every request during night time, arrange late check in or early check out and whatever you may need.
He is not just opening your door or answering the phone. If you need every request or need to book a tour, you can do that every time of the night.

Feel free to come back anytime and thanks again for all your kind words.

Best regards,

Lorenzo Macinanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#76 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#27 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#78 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#47 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,932 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#52 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dharma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dharma Hotel

Property: Dharma Hotel
Address: Via Torino 122, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Dharma Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dharma Hotel is a Newly decorated, modern Hotel with Rooms & Suites with Jacuzzi, Turkish bath and Rain Showers. You can choose from several room types and service from the Official Site of the Dharma Hotel and book the best room and suite for your special time in Rome. If you look for the perfect sightseeing place, you cannot easily beat Dharma Hotel's location, a stone's throw to Termini Central Station (easy links to all Rome airports and cruiseship terminal) and all public transport bus/metro/tram lines. Also, walking distance to Colosseum, Roman Forum, Trevi fountain, Spanish Steps, Piazza Venezia. The hotel is situated within an ancient building, liberty style, for the lovers of architecture and fine design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dharma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing