We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, ideally situated, friendly staff- Perfect for sightseeing!”
Review of Hotel Grifo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grifo
Ranked #114 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, ideally situated, friendly staff- Perfect for sightseeing!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We chose this hotel due to its location, price, and reviews we had read online. We were situated in a room on the second floor in the building across the road from the main reception, and stayed for 6 nights in the middle of July. (Be aware that the building across the road which we stayed in has no lift, which means carrying luggage up the flights of stairs!)

First of all, this hotel is ideally situated 5 minutes walk from the Colosseum, Forum, etc, and a 40 minute walk from the Vatican via the Tiber River- so highly recommended for those who wish to get the most out of their holiday through sightseeing, but don't wish to stay in a hostel. Our room was a private room with double bed, and had an en-suit which included shower, toilet, sink and bidet. The bed was a bit on the short side (my partners feet hung off the end!) but was comfy enough to sleep in. The was air-conditioning in the room, which was highly appreciated in the middle of summer! And large opening windows to allow some fresh air. Our only issue with the room itself was that after the first day, the shower had no hot water- which meant freezing cold showers! As we has such a busy schedule, we did not report this to reception- but I have no doubt that it would have been sorted straight away had we bothered to report it.

The staff at this hotel were especially friendly, and provided us with a map of Rome on our arrival, circling the hotel and then the main sights for us to visit on the map. The staff also recommended a nice local restaurant for us to eat in, and were easy to communicate with as their standard of English was very high. The hotel ask that you leave your keys with them when you leave, and we never had any problems with this. They have security on the reception desk 24/7 for those who might be arriving back to the hotel late at night, or leaving early in the morning.

The breakfast in the mornings is basic, but more than adequate. The breakfast room can get quite busy in the mornings though, and so arriving early is recommended if you don't wish to wait! (We usually went for breakfast 30minutes after it opened and, in the middle of July, never had to wait. But some who came down 10/15 minutes after us struggled to find seats).

Overall, this hotel is highly recommended for couples or friends wishing to visit Rome in order to have a busy sightseeing holiday, and wish to have somewhere quite and friendly to rest at night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    398
    101
    45
    20
See reviews for
263
578
29
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Great hotel, very welcoming and attentive service. Friendly and helpful people. Very convenient location - we were able to walk to all attractions, including Vatican. Breakfast was fresh, I only missed eggs.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Max P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Me and my girlfriend visited Grifo during Easter. This little hotel is located just in the heart of Rom where everything is available in walking distance. The staff is very friendly and the first morning, we got a bunch of recommendations - from great restaurants to the best views and how to do the best timing of visits to the attractions. We tried several of the recommendations, and they where great. The rooms is pretty small and simple, but the beds is fine and everything is clean. There was no heating in the room we had and the first night was rather cold. The breakfast leaves room for improvement - it's a tad simple and boring.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We choose this hotel because it looked good in the pictures and because of the location.

We arrived before check in time and found the member of staff to be very friendly and understanding. He kept our luggage there and had the room prepared much ealier than than the check in time. He was very knowledgeable of the area which was very nice.

The hotel was only 5/10 mins walk from Colesseum and 10/15 mins walk from Piazza Venezia. Vatican City was only 40 min walk.

The room (room 42 on the 5th floor) was accessible by lift to the 4th floor and then a flight of metal steps from the terrace. For us this wasn't a problem at all and in fact was brilliant. The 2 floors on the 5th floor have their own terrace which is fairly private.

The room itself was a little on the small side but manageable. We didn't expect a huge room anyway. Only thing that I found not to work was the aircon. Wasn't an issue for us and completely forgot to mention to staff.

Breakfast was lovely. Both members of staff in the breakfast room were friendly and very helpful. Breakfast consisted of some yoghurts, cereal, crossiants, bread, various jams and some meat / cheese. Set us up nicely for the day.

Overall, a lovely little hotel that was perfect for us. Would reccommend and would stay there again myself.

Room Tip: Room 42 was great because it shares a terrace with only 1 other room (although you do need to climb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Stayed at the Hotel Grifo during the recent Rome Marathon. The hotel is located in a rustic street, just 2mins walks from the Cavour station. As i was traveling with just a cabin size baggage, i decide to skip the metro and took a brief 15mins walk from the Termini station (main train station of Rome) instead. The location of the hotel is fantastic as there are many eateries around and its located just 600m from the Coliseum, which happens to the start/end point for the marathon.
The room is simple but everything is well maintained and clean. The staff at the reception speaks very good English (which is a comfort for me as i speak no Italian) and very friendly and helpful. They are also very knowledgeable with directions and recommendation.
Breakfast is of the typical continental variety (bread, croissant, cereals, etc) but i think it would be nice if they could include some fruits. The lady taking care of the breakfast room impress me greatly, as she was very efficient in clearing and re-setting the tables after the guest leaves (very important as the capacity of the breakfast room is rather small). She also made sure that the food are replenished regularly.
What impress me most was the attentive and thoughtful service of the staff. I originally booked a twin sharing room, but i arrived alone, due to some last minute changes. Noting this change, the hotel took the initiative to convert the room into a singles room, the following day.
Will be my choice hotel the next round i am in Rome!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jermst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

My wife and I have stayed in Rome on multiple occasions, and our favorite hotel for location and a true Italian experience is hands-down the Hotel Grifo. If you are traveling with just your husband or wife, opt for the least expensive room: room sizes are ample for European standards and you won't be disappointed. All rooms are clean, have excellent air-conditioning, fridges, comfortable beds, and adorable decor. The hotel offers rooms in the main building and across the street, but all are safe and eclectic in a neighborhood that feels as authentic and artistic as you can get in the center of Rome just blocks from the Coliseum. Hotel Grifo offers an ample and filling free breakfast, and best of all a multi-level rooftop terrace that is open ALL HOURS of the night and is almost never used. For a great price, you can amble the ancient streets, cross the Tiber into Trastevere, wander through piazzas, and finish your night on what seems like your own personal rooftop gazing out across the Eternal City. Hotel Staff are friendly and if you take the time to ask about "true" Italian food, you will be graced with advice and tips that will make your travel experience exponentially better!

Room Tip: When selecting a room, read the description closely to clarify whether your bathroom is "in&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryanroseberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richlands, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

'Stayed here for three nights in March 2014. The hotel is centrally located and very close to the Cavour Metro station, yet within walking distance to everything really. Several restaurants are nearby as well.

Nice staff. Decent, but somewhat intermittent wifi--at least during our stay. Room was fairly spacious if a bit dated (though that is not a priority of mine). The beds were quite comfortable, and we (my college-age daughter and I) slept soundly and were not bothered by noise.

There is a terrace on the fourth floor for smokers and other patrons. It is quite close to others' rooms though, so one must be quiet. It's not a great choice for a drink and snack in the late evening. There is also a small lift, which is always nice, at least for checking in and checking out. Breakfast room is a bit small, but we always found a space, and the staff was very nice and helpful. There is an honor bar, apparently, but it was not fully explained to us. Perhaps it was self-explanatory or we should have asked. (Other places we have stayed, there has been a book for recording what has been consumed, so the final tally can be applied to the bill at check out.)

The price was quite good for the location, service, and the hotel, itself. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adigression
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#99 of 1,257 in Rome
276 reviews
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#78 of 1,257 in Rome
662 reviews
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#97 of 1,257 in Rome
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Solis
Hotel Solis
#172 of 1,257 in Rome
560 reviews
Monti
Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri
Monti
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#202 of 1,257 in Rome
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grifo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grifo

Property: Hotel Grifo
Address: Via del Boschetto 144, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#122 Family Hotel in Rome
#189 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grifo 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grifo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grifo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing