We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Hotel Grifo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Grifo
Ranked #130 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Room with terrace was wonderfull. We stood in Rome a week and each day spend time on it. Breackfasts were nice. Personal very pleasure and open to guests. And of course main thing is few minutes walinks from Colesseo and Foro Romano location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7Dmitry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,110)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Grifo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 1,111 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014

My son took me to Rome for a last minute trip for 3 nights and we stayed at the Hotel Grifo! Couldn't have asked for a better location in Rome whatsoever! We landed at Fuimicino airport and got the train connection from there to the Termini station (main train station in Rome) and from there we took the metro line B, which took us to the Cavour stop which was 200m approx from the hotel, and also the first stop on the metro from Termini station so literally a minute journey, perfect for transporting to and from and also connecting as the hub for all your sightseeing journeys! We found the Hotel Grifo to be a quaint, traditional and perfect example of a small, friendly and quiet Hotel in what I would say was a prime location just off the Via Cavour, a main road that ran by the hotel leading to the coliseum. Although the hotel was basic and quaint, it was exactly what it says in the tin, a small friendly and adequate hotel for exploring Rome and being the hub of your travels. It had many local bars, restaurants, pizzerias, boutiques, vintage shops, cafes, ice cream parlours to name a few literally in the surrounding cobbled streets of the hotel, giving the area a close knit localised and warm feeling which was enjoyable to venture. The coliseum was a five minute walk from coming out of the hotel, and once being at the coliseum, you could walk down the main road running from the coliseum to the centre of Rome and all it's a bulbous attractions and monuments. The furthest thing away being the Vatican was easily accessible by the no.40 bus from the main road on Via Cavour, taking you straight to Vatican City. I couldn't complain at all at our stay at the Hotel Grifo, the complimentary breakfast provided each morning gave you a good head start for the day, consisting of croissants, breads, hams, juices and coffees, the rooms and areas of the hotel were absolutely immaculate, fresh bed linen daily and the bathroom, on the small side but shower was powerful and lovely and hot, great powerful hair dryer and strong bathroom lighting made eating ready for the day easy. We had our own terrace, although not much of a view to be had it was nice to go out on for fresh air and leave open in the night as the air com system took a while to kick in. The staff at the Hoel Grifo couldnt help you enough, and the help and advice that you needed on any aspect of your stay was given to you at request. An overall pleasurable stay at the Hotel Grifo, if you aren't bothered about uber luxury and just want a quaint small and quiet hotel in a prime perfect and unquestionably exciting part of Rome, this wont disappoint!

Room Tip: We stayed on floor one room 25 and a good choice with having the terrace for fresh air if nothing el...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FamilyTownley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at Hotel Grifo, Rome. The staff were so helpful, friendly and informative. The rooms were comfortable and the roof top terrace was perfect.
The hotel is ideally situated close to the parliament area and the Trevi Fountain and pleasant walking distance from the Colleseum and Roman Forum.
I would definitely stay at Hotel Grifo again and would recommend it to others.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Just got back from trip to Rome and what a trip.
This is a great hotel located in a great place in the City near to forum colosseum pantheon Trevi all within walking distance the staff were brilliant couldn't do enough and the nightlife was fantastic lots bars and nice restaurants at good prices rooms really clean and nicely furnished would definitely recommend

Room Tip: We stayed in room 54 brilliant
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

This is a wonderful little hotel. My wife and I stayed 4 nights in Feb. this year. The location is just perfect. A mile or less to all major attractions except Vatican. The coliseum is a 5 minute walk. If you want to go to the Vatican, then walk 2 blocks and catch number 40 bus for 1.5 euro. It's that easy. One min walk to a market. A nice take out across the the street. One street behind hotel is a street with lots of reasonable choices that locals visit. Bakeries, pizza, desserts, gelato, pasta and sandwiches. I have traveled the world over and nowhere have I met a more helpful staff. They will give you a map each morning and help you plan your day. This service made our trip perfect. They have a simple breakfast to get you started. Cereals, pastries, yogurt, meat and cheese. They excellent hot coffee, espresso, hot and cold milk, and fresh juices. The rooms are small but more than adequate. They have a nice terrace to spend your evening on. My next trip to Rome I will be staying at the Hotel Grifo...
Thanks for making my Rome vacation perfect....

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank rawarii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

An excellent location for all attractions with only a 10min walk to the Collosuem, and 12 mins to the Central station, this was a great place for our 4 night trip to Rome. Staff were so helpful and could not do enough to help, our room was clean and ideal for us, heard no noise. Breakfast was plenty to set you up for the day and all questions ahead of our stay answered promptly.

Would use again when in Rome

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah16072013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This Hotel is a perfect hotel for a stay in Rome, its in the most perfect place to see everything in Rome. The room was a good size and very clean, the Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. I would suggest this hotel to anyone, and if i was going back to Rome, i would use it again.....
Well Done Hotel Grifo

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#90 of 1,267 in Rome
669 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#113 of 1,267 in Rome
286 reviews
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#98 of 1,267 in Rome
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#68 of 1,267 in Rome
723 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#99 of 1,267 in Rome
829 reviews
Monti
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#224 of 1,267 in Rome
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grifo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grifo

Address: Via del Boschetto 144, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#122 Family Hotel in Rome
#189 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $86 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grifo 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grifo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grifo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing