We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, excellent staff!”
Review of Hotel Grifo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Grifo
Ranked #114 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice room, excellent staff!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is our first trip to Rome, for our 1st wedding anniversary. I wanted somewhere central, but not too pricey - and this seemed just right for both! We were staying in the annexe, across the street from the main hotel.

When we arrived, the room wasn't quite ready at the check-in time, but the cleaner went there straight away and did it - all the other days, the room was cleaned during the day, to a good standard.

The room was good enough for what we wanted, but the staff... they were excellent! Friendly, with lots of tips on the best places for food (different for pizza and for pasta - we were told that no restaurant would do both well, one will be in-house, the other will be frozen) - including Indian and ice cream! They also gave advice on where to find the best entrances for sites, the best times to go, etc.

It is close to Termini (about 15-20 minutes walk), and to the Colloseum.

When we go back to Rome in the future (and we will, we have so much that we still want to see!), then this is where we plan on staying - that's the recommendation!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    396
    100
    45
    20
See reviews for
260
574
29
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stewartstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My rating is based on customer service, location, comfort of bed, cleanliness of sheets and bath towels and complimentary breakfast. The hotel interior is WEARY, but location makes up for mold on grout in shower and an armoire that isn't fit for clothing. The room was small, but big enough to walk around.

The hotel is easily accessed from airport via bus and metro. The Covour metro stop is literally right around the corner from the hotel, don't pay a taxi to take you from Termini station, 10euros, just pay the $1.50 euros, per person and take the 5 minute metro ride.

Plenty of restaurants between metro station and hotel, tried 2 and was pleasantly surprised how reasonable they were.

Hotel is within easy walking distance of all major historic sites with the exception of the Vatican. Metro is near all sites, so if you walk and decide you don't want to walk back, take the metro home.

If you are planning on traveling to Grifo any time soon, please be advised that there is construction going on. Out of 4 nights stay, we were only awakened one morning, at 6:30am, by construction. There was lots of pounding during the day, but we were up and about and it didn't bother us.

I would definitely stay here again if traveling to Rome.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the street, you can open windows and shutters and watch the locals walkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rainbowtravel64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
175 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The hotel is in an ideal location for Termini train / bus station (walk or Taxi) and for the major sites - about 200m to the Colosseum. It's a small and friendly hotel and is run by very friendly and helpful staff. They were very knowledgeable and gave lots of advice if you have any questions. Suggest getting a (free) map from Reception and they will mark all the places of interest (some not shown in the guide books). They'll also advise on catching buses / metro trains. Our room was adequately-sized and very clean and comfortable. There are a number of good restaurants and bar/cafes in the same street so you don't have far to go in the evening after walking round Rome all day! The breakfast room is cosy (space can be at a premium anywhere in Rome) and there is plenty of choice available. All in all an excellent place to stay for the money - would happily return.

Room Tip: Rome can be a bit noisy so a room at the back might help
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnEandCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We previously visited Rome around 8 years ago. Having an idea where we needed to stay we booked 2 rooms last year, due to the location, for our visit this month. Our room should have had a terrace.
On arrival we were told the room wasn't ready and were given a 'family' room - no hot water - told to run it for 5 minutes to allow it to reach our top floor room. I pointed out it had been running for 8 minutes already and I had given up!
Next day we were moved to a standard room as ours was unavailable due to hotel renovation work - which had happened to start that week they said - not by the look of the hotel I thought.
Standard rooms are not small- they are minute, e.g. open the wardrobe door and you can't walk by the bed. The rooms have clearly had a en-suite built into one corner of the bedroom and have actually been built across 60% of the room window. It is then impossible to stand in front of the dressing table mirror as the wall of the en-suite reduces the gap to 15 inches. No trouser hangars in the wardrobe at all and no drawer space - clothes piled in a heap on the top shelf and bottom of the wardrobe.
We subsequently learnt the 'terrace' would have overlooked the interior of the building back yard - not what we had in mind at all.
Having said all the above you cannot fault it's location - turn left out of the hotel door, walk 50 yards up the street, turn left again, walk another 50 yards and, at the corner, look left at the Coliseum at the end of the street. In walking that far you have passed 2 great bars and restaurants and have La Carbonara restaurant 50 yards in the other direction - a very good local restaurant.
On the plus side, the hotel staff are excellent- very friendly, helpful and enthusiastic. Breakfast is adequate but cramped owing to a change of room following the ongoing renovations work.
We tried to visit the roof top terrace but once up there found it covered in building materials and stored furniture items- not great.
One final thought- every night there was a great deal of noise as guests climbed the stairs to their rooms. The corridors echo a great deal and the sound reverberates along them due to no carpets etc- stone/marble floors make poor noise insulators.
There it is - great spot versus small rooms; what is your priority?

Room Tip: Don't waste money on a terrace room; ask for a bedroom on the inside - they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tipplerbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
131 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Very nice hotel in very good place. It is in walking distance from the city center, bus terminal, Colosseum and others. Clean rooms, rather new restrooms. A bit noisy place, but this is Roma center. Stuff is very helpful and responsive in any time of day, even by emails. I booked other hotel, but there was a problem with booking, so they book a place for us here in hotel Grifo and it was very good choice

Room Tip: Keys are the same, so it is better not to leave anything valuable in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank utamirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Nice, small hotel with access to the roof terrace and perfect location in an authentic neighborhood in Rome.Close to many attractions and interesting shops and restaurants in the neighborhood. The room we stayed in, was clean and newly renovated. Breakfast simple but ok.The staff were the best ambassadors for the hotel, always in a good mood, friendly and extremely helpful. Next time we travel to Rome, we need not look for at hotel, because we´ve found it: hotel Grifo.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel Grifo, Rome. While the location of the hotel is great, there are some things that could be improved. When we booked the room, it was described as a small double room, it really really means that, in order to look out the window we had to edge side ways past a little table and the view is only onto a small side street, the bathroom is absolutely tiny. The decor needs to be updated, as it is quite tired. The breakfast room although small is sufficient, but the breakfast itself is so bland. A toaster would be a big improvement. Overall the staff are friendly and helpful though and do help you with directions etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YDON4783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#95 of 1,257 in Rome
272 reviews
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#78 of 1,257 in Rome
661 reviews
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#90 of 1,257 in Rome
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Solis
Hotel Solis
#176 of 1,257 in Rome
554 reviews
Monti
Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#137 of 1,257 in Rome
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grifo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grifo

Property: Hotel Grifo
Address: Via del Boschetto 144, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#122 Family Hotel in Rome
#189 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grifo 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grifo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grifo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing