We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a balance: location v extremely small bedrooms”
Review of Hotel Grifo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grifo
Ranked #114 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It's a balance: location v extremely small bedrooms”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We previously visited Rome around 8 years ago. Having an idea where we needed to stay we booked 2 rooms last year, due to the location, for our visit this month. Our room should have had a terrace.
On arrival we were told the room wasn't ready and were given a 'family' room - no hot water - told to run it for 5 minutes to allow it to reach our top floor room. I pointed out it had been running for 8 minutes already and I had given up!
Next day we were moved to a standard room as ours was unavailable due to hotel renovation work - which had happened to start that week they said - not by the look of the hotel I thought.
Standard rooms are not small- they are minute, e.g. open the wardrobe door and you can't walk by the bed. The rooms have clearly had a en-suite built into one corner of the bedroom and have actually been built across 60% of the room window. It is then impossible to stand in front of the dressing table mirror as the wall of the en-suite reduces the gap to 15 inches. No trouser hangars in the wardrobe at all and no drawer space - clothes piled in a heap on the top shelf and bottom of the wardrobe.
We subsequently learnt the 'terrace' would have overlooked the interior of the building back yard - not what we had in mind at all.
Having said all the above you cannot fault it's location - turn left out of the hotel door, walk 50 yards up the street, turn left again, walk another 50 yards and, at the corner, look left at the Coliseum at the end of the street. In walking that far you have passed 2 great bars and restaurants and have La Carbonara restaurant 50 yards in the other direction - a very good local restaurant.
On the plus side, the hotel staff are excellent- very friendly, helpful and enthusiastic. Breakfast is adequate but cramped owing to a change of room following the ongoing renovations work.
We tried to visit the roof top terrace but once up there found it covered in building materials and stored furniture items- not great.
One final thought- every night there was a great deal of noise as guests climbed the stairs to their rooms. The corridors echo a great deal and the sound reverberates along them due to no carpets etc- stone/marble floors make poor noise insulators.
There it is - great spot versus small rooms; what is your priority?

Room Tip: Don't waste money on a terrace room; ask for a bedroom on the inside - they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tipplerbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    392
    100
    44
    20
See reviews for
258
570
29
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
130 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Very nice hotel in very good place. It is in walking distance from the city center, bus terminal, Colosseum and others. Clean rooms, rather new restrooms. A bit noisy place, but this is Roma center. Stuff is very helpful and responsive in any time of day, even by emails. I booked other hotel, but there was a problem with booking, so they book a place for us here in hotel Grifo and it was very good choice

Room Tip: Keys are the same, so it is better not to leave anything valuable in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank utamirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Nice, small hotel with access to the roof terrace and perfect location in an authentic neighborhood in Rome.Close to many attractions and interesting shops and restaurants in the neighborhood. The room we stayed in, was clean and newly renovated. Breakfast simple but ok.The staff were the best ambassadors for the hotel, always in a good mood, friendly and extremely helpful. Next time we travel to Rome, we need not look for at hotel, because we´ve found it: hotel Grifo.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel Grifo, Rome. While the location of the hotel is great, there are some things that could be improved. When we booked the room, it was described as a small double room, it really really means that, in order to look out the window we had to edge side ways past a little table and the view is only onto a small side street, the bathroom is absolutely tiny. The decor needs to be updated, as it is quite tired. The breakfast room although small is sufficient, but the breakfast itself is so bland. A toaster would be a big improvement. Overall the staff are friendly and helpful though and do help you with directions etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YDON4783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Undheim, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Central location. Walking-distance to all the important places to visit, also the Vatican. Helpful staff. Restaurant is too small, but the general impression is very good. We will recommend Hotel Grifo to friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steinar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Wonderful location in the heart of Rome's Monti district. Easy walking to the Colosseum, the Forum, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona.... Friendly, helpful staff made our stay especially pleasant. Well-maintained, comfortable hotel (there's even an elevator!); very good value for the quality. Spent six nights, and would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drsommer49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Hotel is conveniently located close to the Colosseum and within easy walking distance of the Termini railway station. Staff were very helpful and gave us detailed map of the important areas to discover. Only downside was extensive internal improvements going on in hotel which is why I have given 4 star rating. A decent budget accommodation in a good area

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank WynG437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#77 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#90 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#92 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri
Monti
Hotel Solis
Hotel Solis
#174 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Monti
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#205 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grifo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grifo

Property: Hotel Grifo
Address: Via del Boschetto 144, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#122 Family Hotel in Rome
#189 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grifo 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Grifo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grifo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing