We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SSA”
Review of Hotel Grifo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grifo
Ranked #128 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Central location. Walking-distance to all the important places to visit, also the Vatican. Helpful staff. Restaurant is too small, but the general impression is very good. We will recommend Hotel Grifo to friends.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steinar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 1,131 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

Wonderful location in the heart of Rome's Monti district. Easy walking to the Colosseum, the Forum, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona.... Friendly, helpful staff made our stay especially pleasant. Well-maintained, comfortable hotel (there's even an elevator!); very good value for the quality. Spent six nights, and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank drsommer49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Hotel is conveniently located close to the Colosseum and within easy walking distance of the Termini railway station. Staff were very helpful and gave us detailed map of the important areas to discover. Only downside was extensive internal improvements going on in hotel which is why I have given 4 star rating. A decent budget accommodation in a good area

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank WynG437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Good central location, in good area. Walking distance to everything expect the Vatican. Good breakfast. Rooms bit small. Lots of restaurants around the area. Everything is about 10-20 minutes walk from here. Train station also not far.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simkin182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here for 3 nights - the hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of Termini, Forum, Colloseum. In fact, for 3 days we didn't use any transportation. The hotel itself is quite small with narrow, winding stairs - but the room was quite enjoyable and spacious (we stayed in quadruple room).

The only thing can be improved a bit is the breakfast. There was no variety, and the croissants were not very good.

Overall, we would recommend this hotel for people who are looking for a clean, affordable, and central place to stay in Rome.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The hotel has a very good location and we were suprised by the helpfulness of the staff. We stayed for only 2 nights, but we definitely want to return. We had a spaceous room, that is not very usual for Rome, and additional advantage was a small roof terrace.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Tiit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The sight of the elevator, the creaky door, the small room.....all seemed to confirm that i had made a mistake. The room looked completely different from the pictures in their website.
But Grifo had something different in store for us. The fantastic location, the helpful staff and cleanliness won our hearts. We soon realized that there was nothing missing in this place that could dampen a nice holiday experience.
Never before had i experienced a place where the staff were eager to hear about experience and how we spent the day.

A home away from home! Definitely stay here if you don't care about bell boys, fancy minibar or attendants giving you a fake welcome for a tip. More value for money !!!

Sharath Rao. March 21-26,2013

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Sharath R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#153 of 1,271 in Rome
678 reviews
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#94 of 1,271 in Rome
958 reviews
Monti
Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#224 of 1,271 in Rome
748 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#110 of 1,271 in Rome
299 reviews
Monti
Hotel Ivanhoe
Hotel Ivanhoe
#295 of 1,271 in Rome
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grifo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grifo

Address: Via del Boschetto 144, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#122 Family Hotel in Rome
#189 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $60 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grifo 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Grifo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grifo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing