We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rome” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Grifo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Grifo
Ranked #117 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Rome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Good central location, in good area. Walking distance to everything expect the Vatican. Good breakfast. Rooms bit small. Lots of restaurants around the area. Everything is about 10-20 minutes walk from here. Train station also not far.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simkin182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    373
    94
    41
    20
See reviews for
238
520
28
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
219 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here for 3 nights - the hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of Termini, Forum, Colloseum. In fact, for 3 days we didn't use any transportation. The hotel itself is quite small with narrow, winding stairs - but the room was quite enjoyable and spacious (we stayed in quadruple room).

The only thing can be improved a bit is the breakfast. There was no variety, and the croissants were not very good.

Overall, we would recommend this hotel for people who are looking for a clean, affordable, and central place to stay in Rome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

The hotel has a very good location and we were suprised by the helpfulness of the staff. We stayed for only 2 nights, but we definitely want to return. We had a spaceous room, that is not very usual for Rome, and additional advantage was a small roof terrace.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

The sight of the elevator, the creaky door, the small room.....all seemed to confirm that i had made a mistake. The room looked completely different from the pictures in their website.
But Grifo had something different in store for us. The fantastic location, the helpful staff and cleanliness won our hearts. We soon realized that there was nothing missing in this place that could dampen a nice holiday experience.
Never before had i experienced a place where the staff were eager to hear about experience and how we spent the day.

A home away from home! Definitely stay here if you don't care about bell boys, fancy minibar or attendants giving you a fake welcome for a tip. More value for money !!!

Sharath Rao. March 21-26,2013

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharath R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Strategically located at Cavour Station (Metro Line b). Walking distance (5 mins) to Colosseum and safe neighborhood. Lots of ristorante, pubs and cafe around the vicinity. Comfortable rooms and fair breakfast served. Excellent staff especially the 2 young staffs (chubby with spectacle and tall with spectacle). Excellent staff

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adri_Nobrega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed from 3rd March to 6th March and we really love the hotel. Strategically located at Cavour Station (Metro Line b). Walking distance (5 mins) to Colosseum and safe neighborhood. It's a bit difficult to search for the hotel and make sure you ask the direction from the hotel before you go. Lots of ristorante, pubs and cafe around the vicinity. Comfortable rooms and fair breakfast served. Excellent staff especially the 2 young staffs (chubby with spectacle and tall with spectacle). Shower room is the smallest i've ever seen in my whole entire life. You will be in trouble if you are more on the big body..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatrickHeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Grifo for four nights in early March. We had read several reviews on trip advisor and did not know entirely what to expect, and upon arrival the reception area was piled with boxes, and there was a sound of ongoing building work. Upon being shown to our room however, our worries went. The room was large, clean and led out onto a large open balcony. The balcony itself was not in tip top condition ( tables and chairs piled up with some sort of broken machinery sat on top! ) however this was down to the builders and the weather was not the warmest so this did not effect our stay. The best thing by far about the hotel however was the location. The district was full of locals, with lots of nice restaurants, bars and shops in very close proximity. The chap at reception gave us a map and told us some very useful information about the city, things to avoid, things to do, and the advice was invaluable. We found the hotel to be a great base for exploring the city, the coliseum is less than five minutes walk away, the trevi fountain 10 minutes, and we managed the 40 minute trek to the Vatican with ease. In reality, Rome is not that big and you should not have to trek any further than 40 minutes in any direction. The hotel was away from the touristy bars and restaurants therefore the ones nearby were more reasonably priced and very tasty!
Back to the hotel, we heard very little noise from other guests, and although the bed was comfy the pillows were a little hard for our liking. The breakfast was tasty and filling, the croissants were delicious, and it was a substantial start to the day! The building work went on from bout 8.30 to 18.00, however, you don't come to Rome to relax, and this did not effect our stay.
What we found great about the hotel was that the bad things about the hotel Grifo were far overshadowed by the good things. If I was to start this review mentioning the builders, the poor balcony, the box filled reception, the lack or hot water between 0800 - 1230hrs (due to the pipes being installed by Mussolini 70 years previously and no-one wanting to go near them allegedly!) the occasional power cuts and the hard pillows, no one would understand why I gave a five star review. The fact is the hotel made up for it in more ways than just the great location. My wife has Italian family, so we have travelled to Italy numerous times before and all we can say is the Hotel Grifo is traditonal Italy, and this is the Italian way. The Hotel Grifo was quaint, loveable and ideal for a short break! Five stars well deserved and we would happily stay there again! Our holiday to Rome would not have been the same without Hotel Grifo!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Timmers1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#78 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Monti
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#200 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#61 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Solis
Hotel Solis
#149 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#101 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Monti
Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grifo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grifo

Property: Hotel Grifo
Address: Via del Boschetto 144, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#123 Family Hotel in Rome
#190 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grifo 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Grifo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grifo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing