We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grifo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Grifo
Ranked #119 of 1,283 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay during our first trip to Italy. The staff were very helpful and were happy to store our bags when we arrived early in the morning. Although the room was not large it was an adequate size, had good air conditioning and was clean. The shower may cause problems for anyone of bigger than average size but we managed fine. The location was what made this hotel stand out. There were lots of restaurants in the local area and staff were happy to recommend suitable ones. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank threekiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    356
    86
    41
    20
See reviews for
223
491
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We enjoyed very much the friendly and knowlageble staff, all the tips on exploring the city. The breakfast was great and one can also enjoy it by bringing it upstairs and be surronded by the roof gardens and the ambiance of the streets. Great location, 8 minutes to Coleseum and 20 to the Trevi fountain. Close to a lot of amazing little churches and other gems of the city. Close to bus and metro stops.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asaraill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshakati
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had a really pleasant two nights at Hotel Grifo. It was one of the best hotels we stayed in during our two week trip to Italy, and not the most expensive by any means.
The hotel is well positioned to explore the historic "east bank" of the Tiber on foot. We booked a tour with pickup transport for the Vatican, which was worthwhile. The hotel is close to buses and the underground, but we didn't use either.
In particular the staff were very helpful with advice and bookings.
The breakfast was great too!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeborahBrune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Bend, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights Sept 16 &17, 2012.Great location for walking and sightseeing. close to the Colesseum. Rooms were basic but very clean. Hotel staff were very helpful, gave us a great tip on a lookout over the city. Amazing. The rooftop terrace was a great place to enjoy some wine while we relaxed from our day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pddeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I just had the pleasure of spending a total of 5 nights at hotel grifo. I must say that this has been one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had. The staff at grifo exudes class, they are true professionals.

The rooms were always kept clean and the breakfast was more than enough to get your day started. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the Colosseum and Forum, most importantly it is located a few minutes from Cavour metro station. Once you have metro access you can pretty much get to anywhere in rome. Rosa, Alessandro, and Louigie were always very helpful and attentive to our needs.

I highly recommend hotel grifo and would give it 10 stars if I could. With me and my family, hotel grifo has clients forever.

Julio Torres

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JULIO T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Great Location close to the train station. Great staff. Clean, quirky, old and charming. Staff recommended area restaurants, bars that were operated by locals. Nearby Piazza was a hit with our group. We stayed here on our last night in Rome before heading back to the US. The staff arranged for a car to the airport for the next morning which arrived on time and was reasonably priced (and very quick).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

This place is in fantastic location. It is brilliant value for money. Yes the rooms are basic but have quirky charm. I would recommend paying few extra euros for access to private rooftop terrace that room 42 and 41 share as this has great views. The hotel staff are very friendly and make great restaurant recommendations . Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bluepaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Solis
Hotel Solis
#131 of 1,283 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
Monti
Hotel Ivanhoe
Hotel Ivanhoe
#197 of 1,283 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 514 reviews
Monti
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#162 of 1,283 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#102 of 1,283 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 1,188 reviews
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#103 of 1,283 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 753 reviews
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#41 of 1,283 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grifo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grifo

Property: Hotel Grifo
Address: Via del Boschetto 144, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#123 Family Hotel in Rome
#191 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grifo 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Grifo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grifo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing