We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location and good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Grifo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Grifo
Ranked #105 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Earlysville, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great location and good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

we had a wonderful time in Rome, but HOT. The hotel Grifo is moderately priced and in a great location, not far from the Forum. Good neighborhood with lots of restaurants and a grocery store near by. Bos stop across the street. AIR CONDITIONING...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 22love2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    387
    98
    43
    20
See reviews for
256
560
29
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

I had many email correspondences with Rosa at Hotel Grifo before deciding that this would be the place where we would stay on our four-nights in Rome in early June. It was the rooftop terrace that first got my attention; we liked the idea of a place to "chill out" with a bottle of wine after a day of sight-seeing. My many emails to them were in an endeavor to find just the right room, and we did.

There are only three rooms that have direct access from the room to the terrace. One of them sleeps only one person, one sleeps three, and one is a quad that sleeps four. Although it was a little more than we wanted to spend, we decided to book the quad room, and we are happy that we did. The room is pretty big, with one king-sized bed and two side chairs that fold out into beds. Needless to say, we used the chairs for our luggage and clothes. The room was air-conditioned and very comfortable. And, we loved the terrace right outside our French doors! This room is pictured on their web site, along with photos of the terrace. I should mention that this is a very old building, and consequently, the roof is worn, too, but there was a nice little table and two chairs right outside of our room; the plants on the roof were nice, also. This is a terrace that circles the rooms on the top on three sides, so it is a narrow terrace.

The location of this hotel was perfect for us. We walked everywhere, except to the Appian Way. There are a couple of nice restaurants, too, in short walking distance. We particularly liked Le Tavernelle which was a stone's throw away; we ate there three different nights. I submitted a report on that restaurant for Trip Advisor.

This is a family-owned hotel, and the staff, especially Rosa, was very helpful to us regarding directions and recommendations. They all spoke perfect English. Breakfast was included: adequate, but nothing special.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CincySuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We must start with the rooms are of standard size, not big. We had two adults and two pre-teens.

The room fit one double bed and and two fold out singles.

The rooms were clean, I agree with another coment the locks could be upgraded and the external doors to terrace were not secure.

The staff were always friendly and offered good advice.

Location was near perfect. Close to colloseum that I loved seeing daily, walking to Tomb of the Unknown Soldier(a must), Vatican city 20 min walk or short bus (64), fountain and what ever else you think of. Also in ten minutes great shopping, just ask my credit card.

The negative, and I see replies from hotel
Management saying some like but, breakfast was no where near a good standard. Old croissants were not a good look, only one cereal and bread was not great. As a former baker they were not fresh, if they were time for a new baker to deal with. And a toaster for your Austrlaian tourists would be nice, not to expensive.

Overall, if on a budget, clean hotel close to main attractions Hotel Grifo is great, I'd you looking for luxury, spend a lot more and go elsewhere.

I will recommend for what it is and thank the staff for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

I would recommend it! The bathroom are very small, but worthy for the location! By the way...Rome is amazing!!!!

Room Tip: The extra rooms (outside) are also very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Hotel Grifo is a great choice for a budget traveler. It is just a short walk to the colosseum and Palatine Hill. Trevi fountain is also in walking distance. We rode a bus from the hotel to the Vatican, and then walked all the way back. Stopped at Piazza Navona and the Pantheon on the way. For the price, I just don’t think you can beat Hotel Grifo. It was clean, offered a simple but good breakfast – served on china dishes! – and had friendly, helpful staff. Breakfast on the day we were there included croissants, cereal, sliced turkey, cream cheese, coffee, OJ, pineapple juice (might have been more, this is what I recall). As noted by other reviewers, rooms are small. Shower was small too, but serviceable. Mattress was very firm but we found this to be the case everywhere we staying in Europe.

Think about getting a hotel near Times Square in NYC. Do you really expect to get the Ritz for a hundred bucks a night? Of course not. Rome is the same. You can pay a lot more to get a fancy place to stay. But if you just want a clean, safe place to sleep in a great location, you can’t go wrong here. As long as you do your research and have realistic expectations about what you can get in one of the world's major cities at this price point, you will be pleasantly surprised.

My only major complaint is the door lock and key. They are still using skeleton keys. C’mon, Grifo, it would not be a major investment to install more modern locks. Our lock was VERY finicky. We are both college educated, it can’t be that hard to turn a key in a lock, but we had a great deal of trouble. Then when you get in the room, you have to use the key on the inside to lock the door. We were having so much difficulty with the lock, it was a fire hazard. How would we get out of this room in an emergency? It was so difficult to work the key, we ended up sleeping with our door unlocked because I was more concerned about being locked in and unable to escape. Others in our group also had the same problem with their rooms. This would be an easy fix for the hotel. I hope they take care of it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luckybeckyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Our only problem was that the room was very small and the bathroom even smaller, hardly room for our suitcases. However, it was clean and the bed was comfortable.
Rosa was always very helpful with directions & general advice of the area.
The location was perfect with only a short walk to nearly everything.
Breakfast was adequate and well presented.

Room Tip: We heard from other guests that their room was much bigger, so I would suggest you make this request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morsel1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Clean...and that is the end of our compliments. Beds...hard. Pillows...harder. Rooms...small and poorly laid out. Bathrooms...smaller and very poorly laid out. Breakfast...old bread, crackers, cereal and luke warm coffee.

Room Tip: There aren't any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lovinlife86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Responsabile reception at Hotel Grifo, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

First we want to thank you for your review it will help as to improve our service, we are glad that you appreciated the attention that we have for the cleaning. Hotel Grifo is in the oldest part of Rome ( we are more or less 10 minutes walking distance from the major sites of the city ) and the size of our rooms are standard for this area. You never reported at the reception about hard bed or pillow, we could for sure find a solution for it ( we could provide you a different mattress and pillows ). Our continental breakfast is usually appreciated from our guests ( as you can see from many reviews ), we serve fresh croissants ( every day delivered from a bakery ), meat, cheese, 3 type of cereals, 5 type of jams, nutella, bread, 2 type of juice, etc. You can even take a tray and have breakfast on our terrace on the top floor.

We hope to have a chance to accommodate you again on your next holiday in Rome

Best regard

Hotel Grifo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#74 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#84 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#90 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri
Monti
Hotel Solis
Hotel Solis
#169 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Monti
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#197 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grifo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grifo

Property: Hotel Grifo
Address: Via del Boschetto 144, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#122 Family Hotel in Rome
#189 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grifo 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grifo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grifo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing