We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed...”
Review of Nardizzi Americana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nardizzi Americana
Ranked #258 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Just returned from a 2 week visit to Europe and a 3 day stay at the Nardizzi in Rome. We are budget travelers and don't have super high expectations for hotels but this was still a disappointment.

As many people have commented the hotel is near the Termini train station and the Republicca metro stop which is convenient. Those were the only positives in terms of location in my opinion however. It was a pretty boring neighborhood with only a few bar/cafe/restaurant choices. Next time I would prefer to stay in a more vibrant neighborhood and take a cab (friendly and inexpensive in Rome) if needed to and from the station or airport.

Price and rooms: I was surprised to see what some people say they paid at the Nardizzi. 59 Euros for a huge room and big bath??? Not our experience. We paid somewhere around $140 for a double room. We were on the third floor (down a level from the main floor.) Our window looked out on a very depressing abandoned building. I am not picky about beds and mattresses, but our beds were essentially cots. They scooted around and scraped on the floor every time we turned over. As some one else mentioned, the door knob came off in our hand. The toilet ran all of the time and flushed erratically. Reported this to the front desk but it wasn't fixed. Some of the lights didn't work. Thankfully, no bad smell from the bathroom as many others have commented and no lack of hot water. The exact opposite in fact. Two of the people traveling with us were scalded by the extremely hot and forceful water. No complaints about cleanliness however.

The air conditioner worked fine but you have to use a remote and there wasn't one in our room. We borrowed one from our friend.

Breakfast: This was the last stop on our European trip and by far the most disappointing breakfast. It is much better just to pop into a neighborhood bar and pay 2 or 3 Euros for delicious cappuccino and a fresh pastry. As others have mentioned, no fruit or protein options. While the automated espresso machine was kind of fun and interesting (a little stirrer drops into your cup before the milk and coffee) the coffee itself was of poor quality.

I would definitely not return to the Hotel Nardizzi when visiting Rome again. I think that there are better options in terms of cost and location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (728)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 729 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

We booked this property based upon it's location near Termini Station and the review in Rick Steves' book. I am an airline pilot and have seen my share of good and bad hotels. This one is near the bottom of the very long list. We knew we were booking a cheap property in a major city, so we didn't expect much from the room. We were actually pleased with the physical room itself. The SMELL of the room (and entire section of the hotel) however was nearly unbearable. After troubleshooting, determined the smell was coming from the pipes in the bathroom. There was no "p-trap" in the sink, and God knows what lurked beneath the shower and floor drains. The smell was basic Italian pipe sewage. THANKFULLY the windows opened and the weather had perfect springtime temperatures so we could close the bathroom door and sleep. I blocked the drains with wet linens (no hand towels) before we set out the next day, but the maids removed them and opened the bathroom door so we returned to the stench after visiting the Vatican. I again plugged the drains as best I could and closed the bathroom door before we set out for the night. The room was tolerable when set came in for the night, but using the bathroom before going to bed was pretty unpleasant. It was noisy that night so we had to close the windows, but survived because we were so tired from all the walking and had to get up very early for our flight home. We were VERY glad to leave the next day.

In the shower we had the choice of either scalding hot, or a trickle of acceptable temperature water.

Turning off the sink faucet was an art since the handle was touchy and went beyond the off position.

One member of the staff was extremely friendly, the rest were barely tolerant. We felt we were bothering them with any request (remember, I am an airline pilot and sympathetic to hotel staff) When we told the friendly guy about the plumbing issues, he seemed generally concerned, but the guy behind the desk (manager?) seemed to try to keep his friendly co-worker from discussing it further. They obviously had to know about the smell before we arrived.

The breakfast was pretty meager. We expected as much for the price, but we didn't expect lukewarm milk. Yuck!

We figured adding the "Americana" to the name was strictly marketing. We would NEVER return to Hotel Nardizzi Americana, even if free.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed this weekend at the Nardizzi in Rome. This was our second stay here. The Nardizzi feels like home. Reviews say how convenient it is to everything, it is less than half a block from the Reppublicca Metro station and less than half a mile from the termini, but it is much more than that. The Nardizzi is the cleanest hotel we have stayed for the two stars given. Continental breakfast is included. Most of all, the friendliness of the owners/managers is above par.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 53marialadiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This hotel was recommended to us by local friends. You get a double room at 59€ per night. At first I thought well this is just a downpayment. NO this is the actual price with breakfast (fresh italian pastries) included. The rooms are ok, but do not expect too much, it is just a two star hotel. Some can be quite small. Ours was huge with a high vault ceiling bathroom. The shower, with two opposite nozzles is also very large, with stone (marble?) walls and floor. All in all we slept very well, had a reasonably good breakfast to start the day, and at a more than reasonable price!!!
PS: situation is near central station, not bad at all.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Frederick20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stayed at hotel Nardizzi for four nights and had a very pleasant stay. Simple room with a bed and a bathroom but that is all that is needed because when you are in Rome you better be out exploring the city! Very clean, every day the bed is made and fresh towels are given. Don't expect much from the breakfast but it is enough to hold you over until lunch out in the city, A variety of pastries, a few choices of cereal, rolls and jam, and a juice and coffee machine with options. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful when it comes to directions and places to eat. It is in a prime location so you will have no problem getting to places like the Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Vatican, and Colosseum! Enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bevans3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Had a lovely few days at this hotel. staff are really nice. room was a decent size, in a good location (we walked EVERYWHERE even to vatican city!) breakfast was nice. would definitely recommend this hotel, only downside was our bathroom had a bit of a funny smell. nothing too fancy but who cares when you have Rome on your doorstep!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Nardizzi is in a quiet street but located within walkig distance of most major attractions. We walked to it, with our luggage, from Termini. It's on the 4th floor and the lift is very small. Our room was a good size, with comfortable beds, a table & chairs and plenty of space. Plenty of hot water, fluffy towels and a heated towel rail, which is handy for drying washing. Staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good with croissants, bread rolls, cereal, juice and coffee. Only downside is free wifi is only in reception and breakfast room and no fridge in room, although it was cold enough to keep our drinks on the window ledge.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jennyg1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#205 of 1,271 in Rome
686 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#460 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Esquilino
XX Settembre
XX Settembre
#202 of 1,271 in Rome
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#245 of 1,271 in Rome
604 reviews
Monti
Hotel Picasso
Hotel Picasso
#473 of 1,271 in Rome
300 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#210 of 1,271 in Rome
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nardizzi Americana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nardizzi Americana

Address: Via Firenze 38, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#82 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $58 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nardizzi Americana 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Nardizzi Americana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nardizzi Americana Rome
Nardizzi Americana Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing