We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, great location, economical” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nardizzi Americana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nardizzi Americana
Ranked #258 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great service, great location, economical”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had the good fortune of choosing this hotel based on Rick Steves' guidebook and we were not disappointed. This is an older hotel, but it is comfortable and clean. We had a large room, huge bathroom, great shower, and very comfortable bed. The hotel is in a great location--we walked from Termini train station with our wheeled luggage.

The desk clerk was wonderful. He was organized, helpful, and personable. We had a piece of luggage lost at the end of our cruise, and he took all of our information in the hope of relocating the luggage to our next stop (Barcelona) if it showed up after we left. He also showed us where to do some necessary shopping to replace important missing items. His advice was spot on. All in all, we enjoyed superior service; he did everything he could to help us. This hotel was also a great value for staying in the center of Rome.

They served a good breakfast and their coffee machine worked great. We would definitely stay here again, and would recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tcarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    279
    118
    48
    35
See reviews for
142
276
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were given a tiny room, directly behind reception/front desk. Phone rang loudly through the night, guests arriving back in the wee hours of the morning talking loudly in the reception area, very small room, lousy night's sleep, possibly just back luck with the room we got, but would not recommend.

Room Tip: Older building and walls are quite thin, avoid rooms within shouting distance of reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwitravellers-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
188 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Nardizzi Hotel for our last night in Italy and was glad we were only there for about 12 hours. This was by far our least place we stayed during our trip. The hotel is located on the fourth floor but there is an elevator (though old, it works and is better than lugging bags up the 5 flights of stairs). The room had a funky smell, especially in the bathroom. The beds were less than comfortable.

There is wifi, but it's only available in the lobby area, not in the rooms. A little frustrating.

Since we left early for the airport, we didn't have a chance to check out the breakfast offered.

Located close to the Roma Termini station which is a nice benefit for travelers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ecamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel located on the 4th floor accessible by an antiquated elevator that does not work if the doors are not closed completely. You have to climb the stairs if that happens.
Central location and comfortable accommodations. It was the best pastries offered at breakfast compared to other B&Bs

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rvandcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

The hotel was located near the Ministry of Defense, so we felt very safe. It is centrally located near the Termini and had good shopping and places to eat very nearby. The hop on, hop off tour bus could be accessed very near the train station. Located on the fourth floor, the ancient elevator was used to take luggage up the first day and down on the las day. The marble staircases were easy to traverse. The breakfast was a typical Italian breakfast, with delicious rolls. The room was a good size, adequate and comfortable. The clerk was very kind and helpful We would return to this hotel when visiting Rome again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

An easy walk from the train station, once we knew where we were going! Ask for help getting to Via Nationale if you need it. If you are coming up via Firenze from Via Nationale, it is up past the restaurants - the sign is small, you may miss it the first time! Wonderful service, quiet and clean with a great tall shower in the bathroom. Our room was in great condition. By Italian standards, the breakfast is more generous than most; pastries, coffee, juice, yogurt, cereal, fruit, and little cookies/snacks. The terrace/lobby area is lovely and has reliable wi-fi. A great place to relax with a beer or glass of wine after a day of sight-seeing. They were also happy to let us leave our luggage for the day after we checked out. It was not "locked up," but I never mind that, and have yet to have a problem at any hotel anywhere. If anyone really must steal my dirty socks - go for it! It is walking distance from many things, and it is in an easy area to catch cabs, and easy to get back to as all cab drivers know Piazza Della Repubblica. Perfect if you only have a short time in Rome, but want to do a lot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank milwaukee_concierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband and I travel frequently throughout Europe so we're used to different standards and understand where to expect things to be different than the U.S.
We booked this place (and I actually cancelled another B&B) because we usually go with Rick Steves recos.
Pros:
- on a quiet street and only a 5 minute walk (downhill to the Republicca metro which is only one stop from the main termini
-the building is very clean
-there is a lift at least (although it is very small and could barely fit two people and two small pieces of luggage).. but we've stayed in MANY places where you walk up 4 flights so we are thankful for any lift
-everything was very clean.. we had just come from a dirty hotel in Sorrento so we appreciated the detail to cleanliness.

Cons:
-we were there from 9/29-10/2 and the temperature was still 90+ during the day.. the A/C would blow air but more like a fan, not cold. When you left for the day the key deactivates the A/C so you return to a hot room.... we tried leaving the key in one day and have the A/C run while we were gone... but it didn't make much difference to the temperature anyway
-breakfast:- we really appreciate the value of a good breakfast. This was not breakfast. They had an automated coffee machine and some prepackaged crackers, cookies, and condiments. We saw them bring in a huge box of pastries (and we had some) but they were the commercial kind. not fresh made. There were no cold cuts, cheeses, or anything that offered a filling, enjoyable breakfast- this was really dissapointing.
-Terrace: yes there is a terrace and it's better than nothing but most of the time there were too many people smoking out there so it was hard to enjoy just sitting and taking a break.
-Staff: the staff were friendly and kind but it doesn't seem like there are enough people to support the 49 rooms they have. The placed seemed to be booked pretty full... and everyone with a Rick Steves reco... come on Rick let's update this listing as a no-no
Overall I would say this was somewhere between poor and average... if you are just here for one quick night then it's fine... I wouldn't suggest a longer stay though

Room Tip: we were in room 410 which was a weird shaped corner triangle room. No where to really put luggage ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lleyna23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Oceania
Hotel Oceania
#113 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Margaret Rome
Hotel Margaret Rome
#727 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#118 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Target Inn
Target Inn
#401 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Seiler
Hotel Seiler
#816 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Sonya
Hotel Sonya
#239 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nardizzi Americana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nardizzi Americana

Property: Nardizzi Americana
Address: Via Firenze 38, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #258 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nardizzi Americana 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Nardizzi Americana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nardizzi Americana Rome
Nardizzi Americana Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing