We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad hotel”
Review of Hotel Tre Stelle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Tre Stelle
Ranked #1,153 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Some people just love to moan...Yes it's not perfect but what do you want from a mid range priced hotel. You get what you pay for but some of the reviews about this hotel blame it for everything. One person blames it for the area it is in - I was mugged etc. That is just as likely to happen in London on Park Lane. There are 4 star hotels just round the corner along with a Police Station and it's ideally located for the British Embassy if you lose your passport, plus it's directly opposite a Barclays Bank so you can stop your cards! Location is brilliant for this hotel. 5 minutes from the Station Termini where you can catch a train or bus to visit anywhere else in Italy if you want. Plus the bus to the airports leaves from there. TOP TIP - on arrival at Fumicino terminal 3 turn right out of the exit and walk 200 yards to the airport bus terminal. Catch the SIT Bus which costs 6 Euros one way and takes about 40-50 minutes. Tickets can be bought on the bus. The train will cost you 14 Euros and only save you 10 mins. Hotel Breakfast - yes it is limited to what most Italians eat each morning which is a Danish pastry and coffee. If you are looking for a full English then stay in England. The weather was that hot (38 deg) when we were there we didn't want anything more. There is also a fantastic restaurant round the corner who gives discount to Tre Stelle guests for your evening meals, just ask the very helpful hotel staff for details. There is also a very good bar called Yellow which is the Backpacker Hostel on the same block. Very reasonable prices and all ages welcome. Our room needed decorating and generally refurbing but everything worked and most importantly it was CLEAN. We only went there to shower and sleep anyway. We had clean towels daily and fresh bedding every two days. The only recommendation I would make is to have a sign on the road as the hotel shares the building with two other hotels and is not easy to spot immediately. Just look for the bank. We read all the reviews and viewed it with trepidation but it is perfectly fine and we intend to stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor at the front and the road noise was almost non existent. If you are doi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dave O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 570 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

Did not consider this hotel to be 3 star. Small and cramped. Lift is pointless. Fits 1 person and 1 case then stops between floors so you still have to carry heavy luggage a fair distance to your room. Very basic. Breakfast disappointing no wheat free alternative available just bread rolls and croissants with tea or coffee.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Co-operative Travel
Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Checked in at at 12-15 room not ready asked to come back in half hour.Show to our room first along a dirty passage with brocken windows in outside door, along another dim lite passage to our room .This was very poorly lite had to use my specs to read my book, 4 beds jammed in a recess with room between 2 beds to walk other 2 pushed together, turn round and a fourth bed along the wall. Very small television high on opasite wall. Windows opened inwards and shutters were very dificult to open as they jammed on the outside window sill.wash and toilet facilities were very poor no plug in the wash basin, shower doors dificult to open or close mould growing on the grout beteen the tiles shower tray surface crazed due to age also small hole in shower tray, rust on metal frame at base of shoer doorsboth inside and out. At least the air condition ing unit worked although condensation did leak onto spare bed. The breakfast for two cosisted of 2 croisants on one plate and a few very hard rolls. All this sold to me as 3 star, I would give it zero star.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davethebrave2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We booked for three nights but left after the first. Who gives the star ratings? This at best is average backpacker. Everything about the place is dingy. My wife is under 5 feet tall and could not squeeze into the shower cubicle. To be fair a lot of people say the water is cold but if you leave the water flowing it will eventually be very hot.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed to Tre stelle St.Martino for 9 nights, in april 2013. The location is excellent, at 10 minutes walk from Statione Termini.If you want to use public transport in Rome, you have buses in all directions in front of Termini (end of the lines), and metro station Campo Pretorio is 2 minuts walk from the hotel.The area is very safe-the german, and the British embassies are very close, and some military institutions.
The room was cleaned daily, every day towels were changed, and we could sleep very well.Breakfast was poor, but the coffee was good, and when we asked, we received more coffee.The tv programs were very bad, but who comes to Rome to watch tv programs is ...The staff was kind and very helpful.
Near the hotel there is a kiosk, named Edicola, where you can buy tickets for the public transport.(Take care, there are different types of tickets, for a whole day, for more days, who can help you to save money).Most of historical center objectives are at maximum one hour walking from the hotel.Two Supermarkets are very close to the hotel.For the lunch or dinner, there are many possibilities around the hotel, cheaper then in other parts of Rome.(You can expend less than 10 euro per person -pizza and drink).The bus from the airport come near Termini.Attention-when you go to the airport take a reserve of 2 hours, because it is possible to be agglomerated and than you must attend the next bus for 40-50 min.In conclusion, we have obtained a very good rapport price/quality, and we want to come again.

Room Tip: Try to speak some words in italian-the staff will be very well impressioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Please, do not go there!

2 weeks after arriving home, I noticed that I brought from there some bed bugs! I have never heard about these bugs before. It is very difficult and expensive to kill them (and they are disgusting)...

The receptionists were not nice, the rooms are dirty.

I do not recommend it to anyone!

(We stayed there for 5 days long, in May 2013)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andi_Hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel is worst we have ever stayed in, it was filthy from the entrance being full of cigarette ends to the carpets and curtains being full of dirt and stains. There was no plug in the wash basin, a broken toilet seat and loose wires in the bathroom. The breakfast was awfull there was not even a top for the tea pot. The staff were very rude and did not care about any complaints. I would not send a dog to stay in this hotel. The area was full of beggers but the metro was very close and that was the only positive about the whole stay. KEEP AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jitterbug_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Carlito Hotel and Hostel
Carlito Hotel and Hostel
#656 of 1,270 in Rome
144 reviews
San Lorenzo
Athena Hotel
Athena Hotel
#981 of 1,270 in Rome
350 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#355 of 1,270 in Rome
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Jonico
#781 of 1,270 in Rome
352 reviews
Meeting Hotel
#588 of 1,270 in Rome
85 reviews
Hotel Baltic
#1,117 of 1,270 in Rome
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tre Stelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tre Stelle

Address: Via San Martino della Battaglia 11, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,153 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $29 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tre Stelle 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tre Stelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tre Stelle Hotel
Tre Stelle Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing