We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok if you on a shoe string budget”
Review of Hotel Tre Stelle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Tre Stelle
Ranked #1,138 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
1,936 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,268 helpful votes
“Ok if you on a shoe string budget”
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Located close to Termini Station this hotel shares the building with a couple of other pensiones/hotels. For healthy and able tourists it is a walking distance from the Termini. Metro and buses nearby. The hotel offers good prices, rooms up to 4 persons which may be preferred by families or groups of friends. You get minimal service. Continental breakfast features good coffee.Everything is no frills. The tiny elevator works about 35-40% of time so 5th floor may not be best for cardiac patients. Most often rooms are clean , sheets and bed covers do not match but who says they have to.We stayed twice in July 2011. Once they ran out of towels but improvised. My husband forgot his sandals in the room at the end of the first stay, calling right back we got inconclusive answer. Upon coming back to the hotel a cleaning lady stated "we all had too much stuff and she only possesses two dresses inclusive of the one she wore".Overall acceptable hotel when and if the price is your main objective. Watch the gipsy boy who gets send by his mom to scout the staircases. We had to report his activities to the hotel clerk.

Room Tip: Persons with physical disadvantages should ask for lower floor rooms due to ureliable tiny elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank podrozniczka60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    76
    124
    121
    198
See reviews for
93
234
26
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tivat Municipality, Montenegro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Do not believe photos on the internet. I know that there are good hotels that some people like some doesn't , but this one is horrible. It was soooooo dirty and looked suspicious and unsafe. We booked it for 8 nights, and couldn't stay a minute. We spent three hours looking for another hotel, and we managed to find it. It is funny that this hotel has 3 stars, when you can find nice hotels with the same category nearby. Please, take my friendly advise, go away from this place.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank PutnikCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Well located 2 mins from Castle Pretorio Metro and 7 mins from Termini. Room clean, Staff very friendly, breakfast typically Italian coffee, juice and pastry. Couldn't find fault. If you like towelling towels take your own, the hotel ones are cotton, like most Italian hotels, but they dry you very well and are changed every day.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to see the sights of Rome without paying over the odds for a room you will rarely see!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollyGolightly24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2011

When we arrived at Tre Stelle hotel after a long flight to Rome, we were definitely disappointed with the arrangements. The hotel didn't look nearly as nice as the pictures on their website. Our room was very small (the bed took up most of the room) and the window view overlooked a broken down alley. Every door that was shut in other guest rooms would echo loudly through the building, making it hard to sleep at night. On the bright side, the room was cleaned everyday by friendly staff and the price was pretty decent. Also, the hotel is only a few blocks from the bus/train terminal so we were able to get around Rome very easily from here. I'd recommend only using this hotel if you're willing to put up with these conditions for the reduced price. I will seek a different hotel when I return to Rome.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msamaha8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

This is really good hotel for this price and it is cheap!!! The staff was friendly and helpfull and it was clean (which is the most important for me). The location was very good!
Before my trip, I read some comments and I was a little bit suspicious and scared, but when I arrived I was pleasantly surprised! The only bed thing was window that we couldn't open and we didn't have day light. It didn't bother us because the air condition was working all the time and we were all day outside sightseeing Rome.
I would really recommend it!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SonjaS85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balestrand, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

I was impressed when we arrived. I thoought it would be bad, but it was actually pretty ok for that price! I believe we payed alot more for worse rooms the two other times we went to Rome. The staff was great and very helpful. And the best part, it was alot cleaner than I thought! They changed towels every day and cleaned the floors and so on.
I would really recomend this small hotell, BUT only if you are planning on just sleeping there, take a shower and have breakfast It is not a hotell to hang out at during the day. But why should you? you're in ROME <3
NB! the breakfast is strong coffe and something sweet, so not good for us, but we were aware of that before we traveled so we hade some food in our bedroom or bought some sandwiches on the way downtown.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hazelunicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2010

For the price we had to pay, this was realy a good hotel! The room and bathroom where clean, the beds maybe a little bit to hard if you're not used to that.
The staff was very friendly, breakfast was oké.
I realy don't understand all the complains, when you don't want to pay a lot of money for a hotel, than is this the right place to go to. If you want more luxery you have to pay more. Television with only one chanel? No internet? I think you come over to Rome to see the beautiful city, why do you need television???
If I go back to Rome, I will stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esbaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
San Lorenzo
Athena Hotel
Athena Hotel
#972 of 1,258 in Rome
325 reviews
Hotel Jonico
#725 of 1,258 in Rome
339 reviews
Hotel Baltic
#1,074 of 1,258 in Rome
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scheppers Hotel
#1,036 of 1,258 in Rome
258 reviews
Esquilino
SHG Hotel Porta Maggiore
SHG Hotel Porta Maggiore
#582 of 1,258 in Rome
311 reviews
Esquilino
Floridia Hotel
Floridia Hotel
#775 of 1,258 in Rome
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tre Stelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tre Stelle

Property: Hotel Tre Stelle
Address: Via San Martino della Battaglia 11, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,138 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tre Stelle 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tre Stelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tre Stelle Hotel
Tre Stelle Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing