We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem on Top of One of the Seven Hills of Rome.. (Aventine)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel San Anselmo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel San Anselmo
Ranked #51 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem on Top of One of the Seven Hills of Rome.. (Aventine)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2009

PLUSH Boutique hotel on the top of a hill in a very upscale residential area of Rome. The accommodations were top notch! The room was spacious, the bathroom was exquisite and the grounds were immaculate. The breakfast was was a special treat! I thought I had died and gone to an Italian buffet heaven! I read some complaints about having to climb the hill after a day of sightseeing. Sure, it is a little steep but the view at the top is well worth the climb. Unknown to most is that there is a small hidden park with one of the BEST views of Rome around the block from the hotel. One of the best finds in all of Italy!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank metienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    220
    40
    13
    10
See reviews for
83
776
35
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
pa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2009

We were very pleased with this hotel. Our room was beautiful and well appointed and overlooked the lovely garden patio. The staff was helpful and gracious. We especially enjoyed the breakfast buffet and having a quiet morning meal in a beautiful outdoor garden. Although a little bit of a hike to get up the hill to this hotel it is quiet, serene and a haven from the noise of the city. A short 15 minute walk from the coliseum and convenient to the metro, buses and all other locations. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraveler1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2009

San Anselmo is a lovely, quaint hotel in the exclusive embassy/villa quarter of Rome. Walking distance to the Forum/Colosseum but not as central as probably most would like. We actually found that to be a bonus but you did have to figure you way around on public transport. The hotel's decor is lovely - boroque but contemporary at the same time. We were blessed to get a 'room with a view' - 3rd floor with it's own terrace overlooking the rooftops of Rome. A lovely night or two sat out there sharing a bottle of Italy's vino - very romantic. As long as you're prepared to walk and know it's uphill on the return, it's well recommended. Be careful on the restaurants they suggest though - we had a very mediocre and rude experience at an expensive fish restaurant close to the hotel. Live and learn.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingPearnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2009

San Anselmo is the most beautiful hotel we have ever stayed in. We stayed in the 'Room for Romace' and it was lovely. The decor was stunning and there was a jucazzi bath, mini bar, safe, TV/internet, comfortable bed etc.
The servicce from the staff was very efficient and the breakfast was lovely. We stayed here for our honeymoon and despite arriving at 12am there was chilled champagne waiting on our arrival!
The hotel is in a lovely quiet area but the only downside to this is that it is a minimum 20 minute walk to more or less anywhere really and there isn't anywhere clode-by to eat at night but don't let this put you off. A truly memorably stay!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c_foulk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2009

We just spent 3 nights in this great hotel in Rome.
Situated uphill in a beautiful neighbourhood consisting mainly of Foreign Embassy's, only 15-20 minutes walk to the Trastevere area for excellent dining and about the same distance to the Colosseum.
Stylish rooms and common areas and lovely gardens, excellent breakfast served in the garden or dining area.
Most of the staff are are very nice, some of the reception staff are a little cold but everything else is so good it's a small negative in a very big positive.
Highly recommended in every aspect with only one exception being if you are unfit the walk back from the city centre may prove to be a bit of an obsticle.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights during our honeymoon. The staff speaks english well and is helpful when you need it. The rooms are very clean and modern, but still have a roman feel to them. We had a large room with a deck. The shower was awesome! It is within walking distance to the Metro, the Roman Forum, and the Coliseum. The hotel restaurant is also very good and the staff is helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pghtraveler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

We arrived early and weren't able to check-in prior to the normal time, but they were able to hold our bags, which was nice. The front desk person was not very personable and referred us to a horrible tour company-Carrani Tours. The tour was the worst part of our trip to Rome. The sitting area off of our room and in front of the hotel was our favorite part of the hotel, although the jacuzzi tub was also nice. We had to walk a good 10-15 minutes just to get to the nearest metro. It was well decorated and had a romantic atmosphere, with a touch of elegance.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MackenziesOnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#64 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#92 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#27 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel
Dharma Hotel
#59 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#52 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Anselmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Anselmo

Property: Hotel San Anselmo
Address: Piazza Sant'Anselmo 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#18 Family Hotel in Rome
#25 Business Hotel in Rome
#31 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Anselmo 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel San Anselmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s Anselmo Hotel
s Anselmo Rome
San Anselmo Rome
Hotel San Anselmo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing