We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb all rounder.”
Review of Hotel San Anselmo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel San Anselmo
Ranked #41 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2014

The Hotel San Anselmo, is situated in a quiet residential area and only a 10 minute stroll to the Circo Massimo (Circus Maximus), where you can start a whole day's walking, viewing and marveling at a wonderful city. The hotel is an impressive building that captures a lot of what you will see in Rome. It has a small reception, with a small bar area, but with plenty of seating both indoors and outdoors you can have a glass or two outside in the warm weather on one of the sofas.

Our room was on the first floor overlooking the square to the front of the hotel, and although compact, it was big enough for two of us, and had a very nice marbled bathroom with power shower. The decoration, fixtures and fittings set the room off and incorporate the rest of the hotel's design. The bed was a queen size which was very comfortable, and the long elegant black out curtains meant you weren't woken by the early morning light. Breakfast is served in the small restaurant on the ground floor next to the bar and comprises of continental style food, with the fruit, cheese and hams very good indeed.

Free Wi-Fi is offered and the staff were very helpful indeed in offering advice on what to see and how to get around. Each evening we had hot chocolate, which is free and a coffee in the bar area which helped round of a great day. Having a nice hotel during your stay adds to the pleasure and this one certainly did that.

Overall a fantastic hotel that is ideally situated to see what is a great city bustling with history, architecture and life. Locally there weren't many restaurants, but we did eat at L'Insalata Ricca, which is a cheaper small chain establishment, but the salad, pasta and pizza we had were very good, and at 52 euros with wine, beer and soft drinks that isn't too bad.

Travel Easter 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trevor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Dear Trevor,
thank you so much for recalling your last year visit in our hotel and thank you for your long and detailed description of the location and the facilities we offer! We really hope you could come back very soon and enjoy a good hot chocolate again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 1,195 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2014

My brother and our significant others stayed here for 4 days in August 2013. As we have family in the center of Rome, it was a bit further from the center than I usually stay but so well worth it! The hotel is an easy walk to some of the best ruins in Rome as well as close proximity to authentic Roman restaurants in Testaccio and Trestevere. The hotel is beautiful and the staff are wonderful. It felt like were we guests in a private villa. We made ourselves at home in sitting rooms and garden away from the noise of the city center. My brother was secretly plotting to propose to his girlfriend on our trip and was inspired to do so in the back garden under the fairy lights on a warm Roman night. We love the Hotel Anselmo, and my brother is planning to return next summer after his wedding.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank marisaelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Dear guest,
we are so happy to read about your last year experience in our boutique hotel! Above all we are extremely proud and glad to learn that our hotel was the perfect setting for your brother’s proposal!
We are eager to pamper your all family soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 5 days of a 3 week stay in Italy and I wish I could have stayed here for longer. The hotel, the service, the rooms went beyond my expectations. It was a quiet oasis in a very crowded and busy city and although it was not in the central part of Rome it made no difference to us. We could walk easily to transportation and many restaurants were easy to get to. I would recommend this beautiful hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Dear Gillian,
thank you for thinking about us once you got back home! We are very pleased to read that we exceeded you expectations and that you enjoyed the location and the hotel.
We hope to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

What is not to love about this real hidden gem. The rooms are incredible, the garden is relaxing and private, and the staff cannot do enough to assist. Recommend breafast in bed, or in the garden. We stayed in room 806 (I think) which had its own entrance accessed up a few stone steps from the rear garden; it was beautiful. The bathroom was wonderful, mosaic tiling on floor and walls, with steps down into the bath (like Roman baths!) and a nice powerful shower. We enjoy boutique type hotels, with a touch of luxury, and the San Anselmo did not disappoint. One small area for improvement would be to supply luxury toiletries in the bathrooms (Clarins, Molton Brown etc...) but this did not impact on the enjoyment, and we would definitely return. If they could squueze a swimming pool in the garden that would be wonderful. Thanks to Vincenzo and the team, it was super!

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms, some have balcony, the outdoor/separate rooms feel like your private hideaway, (806...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Rhonda,
thank you for sharing your positive comment with the Tripadvisor community, and thank you so much for your nice words about our boutique hotel on the top of the Aventine hill!
Vanity Room, 806, is indeed a unique room with a huge and original bathroom and we are glad that you enjoyed it!
We hope you could have the chance to visit us again in order to show you also the other magnificent deluxe rooms!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We arrived in Rome last week and took a taxi to the San Anselmo. When we arrived, the gentleman at the front desk could not find our reservation. Since my travel agent hadn't provided a confirmation number, we were at a loss. The gentleman at the front desk was so incredibly helpful. He helped to book us a room at their sister hotel Villa San Pio. We were a family of three and the San Anselmo doesn't have triplets. They then provided us with a welcomed glass of lemonade and helped walk us down the block to the sister hotel. If the service by this gentleman is any indication of the hotel, I recommend this place.
The location is a quiet neighborhood in walking distance of the Colosseum. Not quite centrally located for other sights but worth the walk.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank marzac3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear guest,
thank you for reporting your experience and thank you for your nice words about the service we offered for you! We are very proud we managed to help you in the uneasy situation you were involved and that finally you enjoyed one of our sister hotel.
We hope to accomodate you next time in San Anselmo in one of our beautiful and charming rooms!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Most hotels say they are boutique to make them attractive - but I think this is a true boutique hotel!

Location – Fantastic! Yes, it is a bit far from Rome’s central sites… but trust me you will appreciate it after a full hectic day of walking and sightseeing all over Rome! Returning to the hotel every evening was such a peaceful retreat. It is a bit of an uphill walk but we did not find it too bad. We had dinner in the Testaccio area 2 of our 3 nights… the 3rd night we walked to/from the trendy Trastevere area which was approx. 20 minutes each way… not bad at all.

Hotel – Wonderful! The common areas are great… from the back garden area where weather permitting you can enjoy your breakfast/evening drinks to the chicish front outdoor area where you can enjoy an afternoon/evening refreshment.

Rooms – Lovely! Each room is unique – which I love! We travelled with friends and both found our Double Deluxe rooms a decent size. We each had a wonderful large patio… our friends had a patio with a view of Rome that was spectacular! The only negative thing I could say is the beds are quite hard… actually it felt like I was sleeping on a box spring and not a mattress. I know this is a personal preference so if you really like hard beds then you will not have a problem.

Staff – Fabulous! All the staff from the front desk to the servers to housekeeping were all friendly and very accommodating.

I normally like trying out new hotels when we travel – but I think the next time we are in Rome we will definitely look at staying here again!

Note – we booked very far in advance and I thought the room rates were very reasonable… so if you are planning a trip to Rome and want to stay here book as early as you can.

Room Tip: Book Early for a good rate and ask for a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear guest,
thank you so much for your so detailed review about our Roman Villa!
It is a pleasure to know that you really enjoyed the perfect location, our staff, your nice rooms and above all a convenient price for your stay.
We are really excited for your next visit and in the meantime we wish a beautiful summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Our second visit to this gem and exceeded our expectations. From the gorgeous jasmine and orange blossom scented breakfast garden, to the personalized and distinctive rooms, to the pristine location in chic ( and wonderfully quiet) Aventino, to the great expertise of the service team headed by Vincenzo ( in his 30th year with the co!), this place is a Roman dream come true!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miha615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Sir,
Thanks for taking time to post such a positive review about our hotel S. Anselmo. We love to take care of our “regular customers “ …hopefully you will give us the pleasure to host you again when visiting the eternal city again

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#64 of 1,273 in Rome
983 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#73 of 1,273 in Rome
1,456 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#50 of 1,273 in Rome
2,485 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#21 of 1,273 in Rome
1,222 reviews
Relais 6
#38 of 1,273 in Rome
1,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Anselmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Anselmo

Address: Piazza Sant'Anselmo 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#25 Business Hotel in Rome
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $84 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Anselmo 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel San Anselmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s Anselmo Hotel
s Anselmo Rome
San Anselmo Rome
Hotel San Anselmo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing