We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, couldn't hope for better!”
Review of Hotel San Anselmo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Anselmo
Ranked #41 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I took my wife to Rome for Valentine's Day and of course had to choose a suitable hotel for a romantic stay. The Hotel San Anselmo did not disappoint. From booking, throughout the stay to our departure we have nothing but praise for the hotel and staff who were helpful in every way and thoroughly professional in every respect. The hotel is in a lovely quiet neighbourhood but only a short walk to the main road and trams/buses to the city centre attractions and shops. The first evening we walked (about 20 minutes) to the Coliseum to give you an idea of distance. The rest of the time we caught a tram or bus (whichever came first) as we would be doing plenty of walking anyway. The reception staff were exceptionally helpful with directions and advice, which turned out to be extremely valuable else we may have wasted money on unnecessary tickets etc. Breakfast in bed on Valentine's Day was a must and what a spread! Almost too much to eat... I can only comment on our room which was a deluxe and was absolutely fantastic., great facilities and very comfortable - just a shame we had to go out to see the city and not stay in bed all day! Definitely 5 stars, would have been six, or ten if they went that high, and I earned enough brownie points to do me until next year.

Room Tip: Though booking.com you will be offered a standard room, get in touch directly with the hotel and ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davestewart68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your beautiful review on Tripadvisor following your stay with us at the Hotel San Anselmo for your Valentine’s Day.!! And especially that you have chosen us for this very special day.
I am so glad to know that our roman villa, facilities and service met your expectations and made your stay comfortable and enjoyable.!!
I have personally conveyed your very kind words to the entire team that is looking forward to your next visit in our romantic city.!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 1,180 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed four night at this fantastic beautiful hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the rooms were so clean! we had spent a lot of time on their website and on the phone with their staff before booking our room, and yet we were still so pleasantly surprised when we saw our room - was absolutely beautiful and luxurious! would happily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidaycomments2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for posting such a rewarding review about our property.!!
We are so happy you enjoyed the charme of our Hotel San Anselmo and thank you for your preference. Your sensibility noticed our continuous effort to create beautiful surprise to our precious guests and special atmosphere for the comfort..!!
Thank you for recommending our Hotel San Anselmo, and we hope to host you again for your next trip in Rome.!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

My husband and i spent five nights at this beautiful hotel ..... we had a lovely room , which was beautifully decorated. On our arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome and a hot chocolate. The staff were friendly, the hotel was really relaxed and the breakfasts were good to. We found it a good location to walk to all the main sites .... it was lovely and quiet and off the crowded streets.
Thought the hotel was very good value and worth every penny.
we would perhaps have liked some information about tours etc. that could have been available at the hotel.

Room Tip: we stayed in 826 - fab bath and shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda20peter12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your positive review posted on Tripadvisor and for thinking about us once back home.!
We are glad that you appreciated our warm welcome, your room, our service and the calm and the beauty of the Aventino hill..and of course the delicious breakfast every morning to start a good day..!!
We take high consideration of your suggestions as is so important for us to achieve complete satisfaction of our valued guest.
We hope to see you again for another roman experience.!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

My wife missed breakfast twice, due to broken sleep as one of our kids was unwell. No issues sorting breakfast in the room. Very child friendly and never felt having the kids, 8, 6 & 5 was an issue.

We usually stay 5*, but chose this hotel due to location. We were happy to do so and would only change in Rome for a hotel with a pool.

Happy hour was good and relaxing after much walking around Rome and the location was spot on, near good restaurants and most of the sights. Wifi was strong also.

We got good recommendations for the restaurants nearby
If in Rome again, would happily returned

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank MIKE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Mike,
we are very proud that you finally chose our hotel amongst the 5 stars! Even if San Anselmo is not a really “family” hotel, it seems that you and your children enjoyed very much our kind service and the location.
We hope that you and your family could enjoyed again the magnificence of Rome and visit again our property!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed here for four nights from 7th February. We arrived Friday afternoon and were immediately greeted with a welcome juice and a free upgrade to a stunning room across the courtyard.

The setting for the hotel is absolutely beautiful and the surrounding area is just as pleasant. The room consisted of a massive downstairs bathroom and was beautifully decorated. It was as romantic a hotel as I have ever stayed in surrounded by orange and lemon trees. The hotel even surprised us with prosecco and strawberries on my birthday.

It is a short walk into the city centre with a few hills but if you enjoy walking then the walk itself is very pleasant with a surprise around ever corner, for example, just behind the hotel is a keyhole where you can look at the dome of St. Peter's and a park which has a stunning view of the city at night time. The breakfast was excellent and the hotel were kind enough to recommend a great restaurant called Angelinas the night of my birthday which was lovely. We had some drinks in the bar one afternoon which came with a lovely selection of canapés which was a nice surprise.

The restaurants in the suburb itself are all local, very reasonably priced and very enjoyable, well away from the tourist traps of the city centre. All in all a very enjoyable stay and I would highly recommend this hotel, my only one negative would be that it would be nice if the reception were a little more forthcoming with assistance about getting to the airport when you check out but other than that no complaints whatsoever!

We booked online well in advance and got a great deal so the hotel was great value!

Room Tip: I asked for a big bath and we were upgraded to a stunning room across the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bridmc56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your compliments about our little boutique hotel San Anselmo! It is a pleasure to learn that you met your expectations and, especially, that you loved the “Vanity Room”, the deluxe room that was given to you, whose main characteristic is the beautiful big bathroom! Moreover we really appreciate your nice words about the service and the perfect location.
We wait you for a next stay in Rome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Many times I have driven by this hotel on previous trips and decided to stay in Aventino this time. This hotel is a visual feast from the moment you walk thru the entrance. The rooms are elegantly appointed with large luxurious bathtubs. The hotel is located in a posh residential area so you and not dodging cars and hordes of people. I am literally writing this review from their complementary Apple computer my first night here. It REALLY is THAT impressive. Book on the hotel site for better rates. I promise you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: There is a buffet on special occasions in their sister hotel. Don't bother. there are many exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveltheworldcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for this beautiful comment and for your nice thought about us…you make our day..!!

We are so glad to know that you had this good feeling from the first moment in the Hotel San Anselmo and you appreciated our decorated room with luxurious bathtubs..
Thank you very much again for your words, we are really proud about them.
We hope to have you again as a precious guest for another pleasant trip in the eternal city.!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The hotel has real character, it is elegant, youthful and oozing boutique class. The service is second to none. They jump to your assistance and are always on hand. They bring you drinks on arrival, a nice touch.

The rooms are beautiful, ours was a complimentary upgrade to an annex house with its own orange tree.

The breakfast is a full spread with fresh coffee to order.

The gardens are cosy and lovely and there are several indoor areas to relax or work.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tyfairclough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear guest,
First of all thank you for sharing your personal experience in our hotel! We are very glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us very much and that, above all, you loved the San Anselmo’s unique style. We thank you for your compliments about our sincere and distinctive service and also for our rich breakfast.
We hope to have you gain amongst us for another special stay in the Eternal City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#64 of 1,271 in Rome
979 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#77 of 1,271 in Rome
1,434 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#50 of 1,271 in Rome
2,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#47 of 1,271 in Rome
2,288 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Golden
Hotel Golden
#18 of 1,271 in Rome
2,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Anselmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Anselmo

Address: Piazza Sant'Anselmo 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#18 Family Hotel in Rome
#25 Business Hotel in Rome
#25 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $110 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Anselmo 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel San Anselmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s Anselmo Hotel
s Anselmo Rome
San Anselmo Rome
Hotel San Anselmo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing