We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel San Anselmo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel San Anselmo
Ranked #47 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

This was our fourth trip to Rome and the first time I used Tripadvisor to find a hotel in Rome. We drove from Frascati and had some difficulty finding the hotel because the GPS kept taking us in the wrong direction. The hotel is located in a quiet residential area where there are several monasteries. The hotel is beautifully decorated. All the rooms have a name and are decorated differently. Our room was on the second floor facing the small plaza in front of the hotel. The bed was very comfortable and turndown service was provided every day. The turndown service included tiding up the bathroom and changing the used towels. Slipers were provided. The decoration in the breakfast room was unique and beautiful. The breakfast room has large windows looking out into the garden. We did not have breakfast in the garden because the weather was a little chilly in the morning. The attention was very good and the food selection was excellent. They even provided us with an earlier breakfast the day we had to leave for the airport. The staff at the service desk was professional and cordial. Mr. Vincenzo was very helpful to us when we had to rebook our flight and extend our stay at the hotel. We loved the hotel and the fact that it is so quiet but the location at the top of the Aventine Hill meant that we did a great deal of walking uphill at the end of the day. Even though the metro stop is a 10 minute walk from the hotel, we ended up walking everywhere instead of taking the metro. I would strongly recommend this hotel to those travelers who do not mind doing a great deal of walking.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Luzmarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear guest,
it is so rewarding for us to read your nice words about the San Anselmo hotel! It really seems that your search for a hotel with Tripadvisor has been a success! We are very pleased to know that our roman villa and our service perfectly met your expectations! All our staff is always attentive and helpful with the guests’ requests and does all the best to please and pamper you all! Like you, we also suggest that the perfect way to visit and discover Rome is walking!
Waiting for your next visit in our “hidden gem” we wish you a Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    833
    223
    40
    13
    10
See reviews for
84
783
36
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here during December 2013. The hotel is located in a quite, tranquil area of Rome. From Fiumicino airport I took train to Ostiense train station. I wanted to check out the locality so decided to walk it. It took me about 18 minutes to get to the hotel.
On arrival at the hotel, I was warmly greeted by the receptionist and offered a juice drink by a member of the staff. Make sure ask for the wifi code as you will need a separate one for each device.
The same member of staff guided me to my room and helped with single hand luggage I had with me.
The room was a good size and elegantly decorated in a traditional way. The bathroom was also a good size with quality fittings. There was also a message shower and jacuzzi.
There was a flat screen tv in the room but choice of English language channels was limited.
The room was double glazed and therefore very quite and I slept well.
In the morning I went down for breakfast which is located on the ground floor. The room as with the rest the hotel was beautifully decorated. The buffet breakfast was excellent, everything you would expect. I tried the scrambled egg which was cooked perfectly.
All the staff were very pleasant and helpful throughout my stay.
Overall I was satisfied with my experience of the hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nashi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Nashi,

thank you so much for thinking about us once back home! We are very pleased to learn you had a nice and positive stay with us in San Anselmo hotel! Moreover it is rewarding to know you appreciated so much the elegant room you had and the rich breakfast service in the morning!

We hope you could come back soon for another stay in our “boutique hotel”!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvard, Illinois
Level Contributor
98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed here for a week this December and everything was marvelous. We had the Romeo and Juliet room with a balcony, which was awesome! My now fiancé proposed to be on the balcony and it was absolutely perfect! Great little place to stay and it's not too far walking distance from anything as long as you got your walking shoes on! They had wifi, and an american plug in the bathroom. They have a continental breakfast but you do have to pay for it (which we didn't know at first..whoops!). Our room was tidied up every time we left so we tipped a few euros each day for their diligent work. Also there is a heated towel rack in the bathroom which I've never seen before and was nice! :) You should stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyliesue91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear guest,
we are so happy to know that you have found in our hotel San Anselmo the perfect and exclusive location for the marriage proposal. The room Romeo and Juliet is so romantic and cozy with the small balcony overlooking the piazza which makes it so special for this kind of occasion! We are surprised you mentioned you had to pay for the breakfast because it is included as well as the room service. As a matter of fact, if you check your bill you will notice that there is no charge for the breakfast.
We wish a fantastic New Year and we can’t wait to have you again as our special guest for your next special occasion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford UK
Level Contributor
169 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We had read good reviews in travel guides and on Trip Advisor, and the reality lived up to expectations. The first thing to say is that it is so beautifully situated on the Aventine Hill, an area almost exclusively of villas and their gardens - no commercial activity at all - so very quiet.
The hotel is a conversion of one such villa and what a wonderful conversion it is. The public rooms are finely furnished even if the decor is a bit weird and over the top.
Our bedroom was not over large but it was very well presented and very comfortable and the views were of the garden and the roofs of surrounding villas going away to the Palatine Hill.
The staff were engaging and always smiling and always willing to serve - a cup of tea on return from a day sightseeing or a hot chocolate on return from supper.
Breakfast was good and plentiful but you had to be strong to move the breakfast room chairs - they weighed a ton!
As indicated, there was no commercial activity around, but buses and metro were 10 mins walk away and there were restaurants and bars down the hill in Testaccio. We even found that we could comfortably walk to the Colosseum, the Forum and the Palatine in less than 30 mins.
All in all this was a wonderful place to be - quiet, comfortable and yet in easy reach of all that Rome has to offer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cavan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear guest,
we are so glad to know that we met your expectations and we were able to provide an attentive and satisfactory service for your roman stay. We are all very pleased you had a wonderful experience with us and you enjoyed every minute of your holiday!
We can’t wait for your next trip to the Eternal City and we really hope you will give us pleasure to pamper you again in our beautiful roman villa situated in the exclusive and romantic setting of the Aventino hill!
We wish a fantastic 2014!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We booked two nights at san anselmo for a Christmas get away to rome. The room was spacious and decorated in a lovely manner. Our room overlooked the garden which had a lovely orange tree. Service was impeccable throughout our stay. One note is that the hotel isn't central and takes about 20 minutes to walk to, this wasn't a problem for us however as staying in the aventine area made us feel like real Romans and was also very quiet compared to the bustling central area. I wouldn't hesitate to stay in san anselmo during my next stay in rome.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Duncan,
Thank you very much for your positive and nice review about San Anselmo hotel! We are very glad to learn that you spent a wonderful Christmas time in our quiet villa and, above all, that you really appreciated the quality of our service! We wish you a Happy New Year and we wait you for your next return in the Eternal City!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

My adult daughter and I hooked up in Rome for an 8-day break and I booked the Hotel San Anselmo on a recommendation - and I'm so glad I did! The service was excellent in all respects (all staff are multi-lingual) and the location was exactly what we wanted - in a quiet, elegant area, away from the hustle and bustle but within walking distance of all the sights of the Eternal City. The rooms (we tried two) were on the small side, but beautifully decorated and very comfortable, with every facility you need and expect from a four star establishment. make sure you treat the wonderful buffet breakfast on offer as a means to start the day well fed and then return in the pm for a quiet drink in the lounge area to plan your evening excursion. (San Anselmo doesn't do lunch or dinner, but is happy to suggest a reasonably local trattoria.) We found several good restaurants within a 10-minute stroll. You can hire a bike or catch the local bus or train to any destination if you're not up to a 3-4 km walk that would get you to the heart of the city. Highly recommended and great value for money!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view are on the top two of the four levels and may cost a little more as some are also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingPhilip14u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear guest from Australia,
We are very pleased to learn that you really enjoyed your 8 nights- stay and that we perfectly met your expectations! We are very glad to learn that you appreciated our elegant and quiet San Anselmo hotel, and, above all, that you found high quality and good value for money! Our staff works very hard to pamper our guests, recommending good restaurants in the neighborhood, serving a rich breakfast and help as the best it can do. So, it is a pleasure to read your positive feedback! We really hope you can come back to San Anselmo hotel for another “roman break” and in the meantime we wish you a happy holiday season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

After five previous visits to Rome, we booked this hotel on a relative's recommendation (and Tripadvisor reviews). All our previous stays have been in four or five star hotels in the city centre. I can only reinforce all the positive factors so many other reviewers have provided. The short distance from town is more than offset by this beautiful hotel and its environs. It's a short walk when the weather is good and a cheap cab fare if required.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over Rome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddieandsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
what a great pleasure for all of us to learn how much you enjoyed your roman holiday and your stay at the Hotel San Anselmo..thank you so much for your generous comment especially from a frequent traveler as you.!!
We are really proud to be able to offer to our precious guests an oasis of calm in the heart of hustling and bustling Rome; providing attentive and professional service is always at the top of our mind.
Looking forward to your next visit in the beauty of the eternal city..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#63 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#91 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#30 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#48 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,248 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Anselmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Anselmo

Property: Hotel San Anselmo
Address: Piazza Sant'Anselmo 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#18 Family Hotel in Rome
#25 Business Hotel in Rome
#27 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Anselmo 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Anselmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s Anselmo Hotel
s Anselmo Rome
San Anselmo Rome
Hotel San Anselmo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing