We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel San Anselmo
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,211)
Filter reviews
1,211 results
Traveler rating
912
232
42
15
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
912
232
42
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaventine hillcircus maximustestaccio areabeautiful hotelcirco massimoorange treesjacuzzi bathfour poster bedminute walka quiet residential areaour honeymoonlovely boutiquelounge areacentral romepastriesboutique hotelcold meats
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
481 - 486 of 1,211 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed here in October and it was lovely, very quiet, very comfortable and with a tranquil garden. It was a lovely break from the bustle of the tourist heart of Rome but it was close enough to walk to the main sights. Our room was beautiful and very comfortable and the breakfast was great. A very classy place. The service was discreet and welcoming and they spoke good English. We loved the evening walks along the road to the Giardini degli Aranci - very romantic with a glorious view over Rome to St Peters.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMofWappenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear guest,
we would like to thank you for this positive review you wrote for the Tripadvisor’s community!
It is a pleasure learning that you enjoyed your Roman holiday and that you appreciated the San Anselmo hotel so much! The perfect location like an oasis, the sophisticated atmosphere of our hotel and the very kind staff, are some of the most distinctive points we would like to share with our guests every day, like you.
We hope you can come back soon for another romantic stay in Rome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here for 4 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It is the 4th year running that we have done this and we also stayed a few years ago with my parents and our children. Our first stay was in 2007 and we keep coming back so I think that says it all really - it is just a lovely hotel! The staff are great and we arrived to find flowers, prosecco and strawberries in our room - what a lovely gesture. The rooms are beautiful, each of them is different. Breakfast is always good and extremely varied with so much choice. Each time we ordered a drink in our room we were given lovely little canapés.
The area is quiet and peaceful which is nice after the bustle of the city centre. We walked everywhere from the hotel with no trouble at all.
This hotel is very special to us and I can't imagine coming to Rome without staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Dear Kathryn,
we would like to give you a special thanks for choosing again San Anselmo hotel during all these years! We were all very pleased that you had a good time with us during your wedding anniversary and that you enjoyed it so much! Our staff is always very attentive and kind when our guests celebrate their special events and we are very glad that you appreciated our lovely service! The guest’s feedback is always very important to us! Moreover, the unique location of our hotel gives a special value to a romantic stay and to a delightful holiday in the Eternal City!
Waiting you for your next stay… we wish you a happy holiday season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Just returned from 2 nights at the San Anselmo. The hotel itself is situated in a residential part of Rome so it is very quiet and very pretty. All of the main attractions are easily accessible with the pick up point for the bus tours situated just a short walk away. We found the walk from the Circo Massimo Metro a lot easier than the Piramide....less of a hill to negotiate after a long day of walking around Rome!

We had a standard room but it was beautifully appointed with everything you needed. It was on the snug side, but given we were on a short city break with things to see we had no need for anything bigger. The bed was so comfortable. We were at the front of the hotel but little or no noise in the residential area to disturb sleep.

The hotel breakfast was very good. Plenty of choice and all really fresh. A good start to any day of sightseeing. The staff from room maids, to servers to front of house were all really helpful and very friendly.

Unlikely to return to Rome, but if we did would definitely use this hotel again and would highly recommend to other travellers who found themselves here.

Room Tip: We had room 807. Small standard room at the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Herfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Dear Herfie,
thank you so much for choosing our hotel San Anselmo for your roman short break!!!
It's a pity to know your travel plans will not bring you to Rome again soon, but we are happy to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you will recommend our hotel San Anselmo to friends and family!!!
The superior rooms are larger and more confortable but of course are more expensive... but you can still get some good deals and special offers on our official website or by e-mailing directly to our booking office!!!
We thank you again for your preference and wish you a pleasant holiday season!!!

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We spent a wonderful four nights at Hotel San Anselmo in November. The room with a terrace was great. Very nice public spaces to relax. The buffet breakfast was top notch. The staff was very helpful. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Derry,
thank you so much for thinking about us once back home..and for letting us know a fantastic experience you had in our Hotel San Anselmo!!
Rooms with terrace are definitely a plus..and i am glad you were able to enjoy it even in winter!!
Rome is simply magic in any time of the year and you can spend fabulous days even in november at competitive price rate.!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This hotel is beautiful. It is in a quiet area which felt really safe. The staff are very polite and very helpful. The room was gorgeous with ample space for luggage and walking around. Large bathroom with shower, jacuzzi bath, 2 sinks and toiletries. I would definitely stay here again. 10 minute walk to the coliseum. Plenty of choice for breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christiane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
what a great pleasure for all of us to learn how much you enjoyed your Roman holiday!!
Thank you so much for your generous comment and especially for letting us know that you are really looking forward to visit us again.!!
In the meantime we wish you a happy holiday season.!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews