We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility in a Sea of Madness”
Review of Hotel San Anselmo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel San Anselmo
Ranked #41 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on a trip for our 30th anniversary. When we arrived we were greeted by the extremely friendly staff. We found the hotel to be very clean, quiet and decorated very nicely. Restaurants, sites and shopping were easily accessible from the hotel. The breakfast buffet was excellent. Tea time every afternoon was very tranquil after a day in the city sightseeing, shopping etc. We enjoyed sitting in the garden enjoying our tea and the peaceful atmosphere. The staff was very willing to take care of any requests that we had. They helped make reservations at a restaurant, called taxis for us, answered any questions we had etc. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomtaylor39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you for have given us the pleasure to host you for such an important event in our Hotel San Anselmo.!
I'm delighted that you were able to relax in our hotel and so proud to learn that we met your expectations with the entire team's efficiency and professional manner and carring attitude.
My colleagues and i personally look forward to welcoming you back soon again.!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 1,202 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at the san anselmo. We stayed here for the first part of our honeymoon and were not disappointed. The little touches made all the difference, from receiving a fresh drink of juice when we arrived in the August heat to being served champagne and strawberries in our room. The staff were extremely approachable and attentive and went out of their way to help you. We loved our room and also sitting in the small garden to the rear of the hotel. We thought the hotel was perfectly situated in rome because it was away from the hustle and bustle and we enjoyed the walk up the hill each evening. We will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leascoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Honeymooners,
Thank you so much for your beautiful review on Tripadvisor following your stay with us at Hotel San Anselmo for your honeymoon.!!..and especially that you have chosen us for for this very special event.
I’m so glad to know that our hotel, facilities and service met your expectations and made your stay comfortable and enjoyable.!!
I have personally conveyed your very kind words to the entire team that is looking forward to your next visit in our beautiful city of Rome.
I’m delighted that you were able to relax in our hotel and so proud to learn that we met your expectations with the entire team’s efficiency and professional manner and carring attitude.
My colleagues and I personally look forward to welcoming you back soon again for another unforgettable romantic stay.!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for the first leg of our Honeymoon. We spent a week in Hotel San Anselmo, and really enjoyed our stay.

All of the staff were very courteous and friendly, and really made us feel welcome. The garden area out back is quite pretty and very tranquil. Perfect for breakfast in the gorgeous Italian sunny mornings.

The area surrounding the hotel is quite a residential one, so no noisy vehicles or rambunctious youths having impromptu midnight parties. From the hotel you're about a 10 minute walk to the nearest Tram / Bus stop to get into the City centre. There's also some very scenic areas nearer to the top of the hill which are worth a visit.

The room was well decorated, we stayed in the m'ama non m'ama room (loves me, loves me not), and it was fitted out with a very spacious bath which was perfect for a lengthy soak. I'm 6' 3" so really appreciated being able to stretch out!

The breakfast buffet is something to be experienced, containing all of the staple parts of a European breakfast - cheese, meat - but also containing wonderfully fresh bread, as well as some amazing cake, which I especially enjoyed.

I feel that we definitely got value for money here, and would recommend it for a couple who want a peaceful break after sightseeing in hectic Rome.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vorbis123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Honeymooners,
what a wonderful review about our property.!!
Thank you so much for your beautiful words full of emotions.!!
We are so happy to know we were able to make your special event unforgettable with lots of sweet memories to bring home and cherish in your heart.!!
Honeymooners live a unique experience and the staff and i are so pleased to have partecipated somehow to it, with our care and attention!!!
The beauty and charme of Rome in this season complete the scenario for a memorable and romantic getaway.!!!
Congratulations from our hearts..!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We spent at his hotel our wedding night. We chose this hotel because it is just next to the location of our wedding reception. For anyone who knows Rome, the Aventino hill, where the hotel is located, is one of the most beautiful place in Rome. We booked a suit with a nice terrace. The room was not tastly decorated (fake antique!) and not well mantained. Tha bathroom could have been acceptable in a 2 stars hotel, but not in a 4 stars establishment. plus there was not conditioner or body lotion. When we arrived, even though it was our wedding night, they told us to check out by midday, no exeptions...only after my husband complained about that, that we were allowed to check out at 2pm. The breakfast was ok, although we were charged 20 Euro for the extra orange juices. In other words, we did not receive any special treatment although the hotel knew it was our wedding night.."special treatment" that in good hotel would be absolutely normal.
We obviously had a wonderful time but just because of the happy circustances.
Only positive note, the view from the room was beautiful (but they charge you more than Euro 300 for it, and I would say, only for it!).
Not recommended

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benedetta73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Honeymooners,
Thank you for your email.
We are all very disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with our service.
You booked a superior room for your special event in June, and later you personally chose among many rooms, the specific room that you wanted to stay in for your honeymoon. So, we are very surprised to know that you did not like the design, the décor and the amenities of the bathroom. Originally, you asked to two nights stay, but we clearly stated that for the second night that room was already booked for a special occasion and for this reason, the check out time was strictly at 12. So, you decided to book that room only for one night.
Even more, when you checked in later night, the concierge reminded you that you could not stay any longer in your room, because of the new arrival, as mentioned at the time of reservation. Believe us, it would have been a pleasure for us to let you stay in that room as much as possible, but without creating any problems for the new guests, who were expected to have the room ready at the check in time.
As the matter of fact, the concierge Alessandro went out of his way to postpone your checkout time to 2pm. We served breakfast in your room at no extra charge and if you read carefully your invoice, which obviously , I do not attach here, you were charged euro 10 (5 euro each for the fresh squeezed orange juice ) and not 20 euro as you state. As a matter of fact, you should be aware of that there is no charge of 20euro on your invoice.
I sincerely apologize for the misunderstanding that you experienced and I assure you that the staff and I, will continue to do provide our service with special care and attention to honeymooners, to make their stay for a such a special event, a unique, unforgettable and romantic roman experience.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for four nights in May. From the moment we arrived we greated by the friendly staff. One gentleman called to confirm some reservations and pick up times for us since my italian is not very good. Our room was clean and decor vintage chic. The location is perfect. We took the bus from the airport to the Ostiense station. From here we walked, which I will admit is not as the easiest with luggage but we did it. You will pass the only Pyramid in Rome on your walk to hotel. It is located in a quiet residential area on Aventine Hill. In the evening we would open our windows and you could here the church bells ringing. I truly felt like I was in Rome. Which I don't believe I would have felt if I had stayed in the city center. It is within walking distance to almost everything, but very close to the Testaccio neighborhood, rose gardens, Roman Forum, The Colosseum, and The keyhole in the Piazza of the Knight of Malta. We ate in the Testaccio neighborhood many times. The food was great, especially the Margherita pizza at Volpetti Piu. I recommend doing a food tour at the beginning of your trip and it will introduce you to many things in Testaccio and make you comfortable when on your own for the remainder of the trip. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was a nice start to our day. They also offered afternoon tea with cookies. We will definitely stay here when we return again. We felt is was such an authentic place to stay while in Rome. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dinx4563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you for your positive review.!
I’m glad we made your stay in our Hotel San Anselmo pleasant and confortable and were able to suggest interesting informations ..!
We loved to take care of our Guests, working hard every day to give top quality service and trying to make things better and better; our joy is closely tied to the positive experiences and the satisfaction of our Guests.
We are so glad you didn’t miss the interesting things around the area, included the famous Keyhole of Rome and the beautiful rose gardens.
Thank you for consider our villa an authentic place to stay while in Rome.. Looking forward for your next visit in our Hotel San Anselmo for another memorable stay.!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a great place to stay in the Aventine Hill area of Rome. The hotel was a private villa originally and the surrounding area is both peaceful and an oasis of calm away from the noise of central Rome. From entering the hotel to be given a cool drink, to a complimentary bottle of bubbly we were more than well looked after. The rooms are a good size (compared to say the average Paris room) beautifully decorated with excellent bath room complete with super jacuzzi bath! There are very nice lounge areas both inside and in the gardens, The breakfast was very good and the staff are polite, professional and genuinely nice people. Eating breakfast in the garden in late September was such a pleasure.

You can walk to several places - 10 mins to Circo Massimo metro from where you get to the Colliseum in one stop, 15 mins to the Jewish area where you can eat and 20 mins to Trastavere over the river which is brilliant for atmosphere and places to eat.

Finally just around the corner you can look through the keyhole of a convent and see a perfect view of the Basillica of St Peter's in the Vatican, people travel to see this plus there is a splendid view of Rome from the nearby park.

We particularly recommend this hotel for couples on a romantic break.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimboSheffieldUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the beautiful review about our Hotel San Anselmo..!!
We appreciated so much your nice words and we are glad you enjoyed the Aventino hill; this peaceful and special area far from the noise of the traffic but so close to the main attractions of the city
We are happy to know that you didn’t miss the "Keyhole of Rome", just a step away from our hotel where you can admire the Vatican city through the beautiful garden of the Knights of Malta.
We are so happy to know that you would recommend our beautiful villa and we hope to see you again for another romantic trip in the eternal city.!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Hotel San Anselmo, two before getting on a cruise ship, and one when we returned from the ship. What a great choice! Rome is a very chaotic and noisy city, and this hotel is tucked away on Anventino Hill, away from all the craziness. There is a lovely courtyard out back that you can sit down and relax. It was so peaceful after a full day touring the city. The rooms are amazing - incredibly decorated, each with their own design. At first we were a little concerned that being off the beaten path, we'd be too far from restaurants. But that was not the case. Just a five minute walk and we were in a area with lots of different places to eat. It really was the perfect location. We traveled with another couple, and after checking in twice, we realized that if you want a balcony room, ask for a room with just a shower. If you want a room with a larger bathroom/double sink, ask for a room with a tub. At least that's how it worked out for us each time. The staff was extremely professional and very helpful. The breakfast in the morning was great, plenty of different foods to choose from, and a nice relaxed atmosphere, with either indoor or outdoor seating. We were very happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Sue,
thank you so much for your wonderful review ..!
We are so glad to know you had a relaxed and peaceful experience in our hotel, away from the roman caos in the quiet and the beauty of the Aventino hill.!
We can’t wait to see you again for another memorable experience in the eternal city..Rome in autumn is simply magic.!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#64 of 1,272 in Rome
989 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#72 of 1,272 in Rome
1,483 reviews
Relais 6
#39 of 1,272 in Rome
1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#21 of 1,272 in Rome
1,228 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#51 of 1,272 in Rome
2,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Anselmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Anselmo

Address: Piazza Sant'Anselmo 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#25 Business Hotel in Rome
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $115 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Anselmo 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel San Anselmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s Anselmo Hotel
s Anselmo Rome
San Anselmo Rome
Hotel San Anselmo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing