We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very romantic hotel”
Review of Hotel San Anselmo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Anselmo
Ranked #42 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Have nothing bad to say about this one. Our room was very nice, on the top floor. Window was very small so opening it to get some fresh air did not do any good. Air condition worked great! Bed was comfortable(pretty hard, but we like it this way). Pillows though were horrible, hard and lumpy. But since I always have my own pillow with me I did not suffer much. Super clean. Very nice breakfast. Beautifully furnished, real charm of an old Roman villa. Short pleasant walk up and down hill to get in to town and back. Very nice restaurants around. Staff is super friendly, everyone speak perfect English. We are very pleased with our hotel choice this time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear guest
Thank you for sharing with the community of Tripadvisor your experience.
The staff and I are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us.
In the hotel S. Anselmo all the rooms are different and all have different style and character. The top floor rooms, some with balconies, are definitely the best to enjoy a romantic gateway or special occasions.
We are glad you enjoyed breakfast because we believe it’s also important also to serve the complimentary breakfast in a pleasant and charming area with antique furnish and old paintings or in the nice season in the nice patio because it’s the “first step” to enjoy a long day in the eternal city.
Thank you for have chosen the hotel S. Anselmo for your romantic trip.
Looking forward to see you for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,164)
There are newer reviews for Hotel San Anselmo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

584 - 590 of 1,164 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in a deluxe room (the gorgeous poetry room). When we arrived we were given a welcome drink and also some Prosecco was delivered up to our room. Hotel San Anselmo is a really lovely stylish hotel with a small elegant feel. All the staff we came across were friendly and extremely professional. Our room was exquisitely furnished and it was very clean. The 6ft bed was extremely comfortable and the hotel was quiet so we slept incredibly well. I had been concerned about the location but it really wasn't a problem as even if you are tired and don't want to walk, all the main sights are just a short taxi journey away. We appreciated staying in such a nice residential area. Just wish the weather had been slightly better and we could have enjoyed our small balcony but we will just have to go back at some stage when we need a bit of a treat again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyhuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your emotion. We are glad you had a great experience with us.
The Poetry room is one of our most charming rooms called like that because dedicated to an Italian writer who stayed in our hotel for a long period to write a book.
It’s nice to know you appreciated the furnishing and the décor of the hotel.
After a day around the eternal city it’s nice to come back here, enjoy a cocktail in our garden and then walk down Testaccio area, just few minutes walking distance, to have dinner in one of the good and typical roman restaurants where you can find local people and have a good meal at a reasonable price since, they are not touristic places.
On your next visit we’ll try to give you the chance to enjoy one of our rooms with balcony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Hotel has a touch of class. Small, discrete, beautifully presented.
Very quiet location: awoke every day to sight of old monastery across the small square in front of hotel.
Hotel is an old villa: lovely architecture.
Staff impeccable.
Decent breakfast.
Superb bed: even better that at home -- large, very firm mattress ... slept v well here!

Room Tip: Ask for view on the Piazza
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for have given us the opportunity to take care of you during the stay in our hotel S. Anselmo.
The staff and I are very pleased to know that the service received during your stay meet your expectation. This encourage us to do always the best for our clients, anticipated their needs and desires to make their experience in Hotel San Anselmo a memorable stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

In other words, better than this is inconceivable. We were relocated from our previous favorite and standby the Villa San Pio by their reception staff due to a mix up in reservations, that were made by phoning the hotel. Both hotels are located on the Aventine Hill which is a quiet zone just above the Circus Maximus on one side and Testaccio on the opposite. These hotels are part of the same group, but Hotel San Anselmo is by far better, not only in terms of the rooms, the decor, the breakfasts, but most importantly the service. The front desk is extremely professional. Sadly we noticed that there was a bit of a fall off in service at the Villa San Pio. Needless to say, we are going to be staying at the San Anselmo in the future.

Room Tip: Be sure to check out the churches on the Aventine and the key hole to the order of Malta. Testaccio...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirklandboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for posting such good reviews!
The staff and I are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay in our hotel S. Anselmo and that you appreciated the service received during your stay.
Hoping to have you again as our Guest in one of our hotels in the Aventino hill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Amongst many assets, the staff shine at this hotel. They were truly friendly, helpful and unpretentious. We have visited Rome before and on this occasion only had one night but would certainly return to the San Anselmo rather than staying at the Spanish Steps for example. The hotel is in a quiet leafy residential area. The rooms are exuberantly decorated with swathes of fabric, lots of gold and lovely quirky lights. The welcome Prosecco and strawberries was much appreciated. The hotel has a seating area in the front courtyard and a smaller courtyard at the back, there is a charming lounge overlooking the garden and the flamboyantly decorated dining room was a pleasure to eat breakfast in. Breakfast variety ranges from pizza to smoked salmon, my only small complaint was that fresh juice would have been appreciated. The closest site is the Colosseum but there are metro stations nearby and Rome is a city for walking with the thought of tranquil San Anselmo to return to.

Room Tip: Room 810 was wonderfully quiet
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HookedOnTravel255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for posting such good reviews!
The staff and I are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay in our hotel S. Anselmo and that you appreciated the service received during your stay.
Hoping to have you again as our Guest in one of our hotels in the Aventino hill!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just spent four nights at the San Anselmo and really can't fault it. Was upgraded on arrival to room 834 a four poster room with claw bath. Staff were amazing and were happy to bring coffee to our room to drink on the veranda. Aventino is a mainly residential area of Rome but only a 10 minute taxi ride to St Peters and a 15 minute walk to the collesium. The small town has amazing restaurants without having to pay tourists prices. Was lovely to get out of the hustle of tourists after a hard day and the hotel was more than we could of expected. If you do stay here ask reception to guide you to the 'keyhole' just up the road from the hotel for an amazing view of St Peters. Would highly recommend the hotel for those wanting to sample real Italy away from it all but to have all of Rome a short distance away :) we will return.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Sarah,

Thanks for your positive feedback about our hotel and the staff. We are also happy that you had a wonderful stay. October is a perfect month to discover the beauty and the charm of the city, as the weather is pleasant and you can feel the pleasant sensations and the magic atmostsphere that only city of Rome generously offers to it's visitors in this season.

Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

What a wonderful place to have a vacation in Rome! We loved the courtyard of the hotel; it was so nice to sit outside and have a light dinner with drinks! Ok the beds were not the most comfortable but the hotel location makes up for this! It was a nice neighborhood with close distants to trains and good restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Htager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are so glad that you had a wonderful vacation in Rome and you have given us the opportunity to pamper you in our hotel S.Anselmo. Rome in October is marvelous and can be very pleasnt as it's still warm, sunny but not humid and the city has a special atmostshpere and a natural light that enchants its beauty and charm.

Thank you again for your visit and hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#65 of 1,267 in Rome
966 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#80 of 1,267 in Rome
1,404 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#14 of 1,267 in Rome
618 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,267 in Rome
2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Anselmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Anselmo

Address: Piazza Sant'Anselmo 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#18 Family Hotel in Rome
#25 Business Hotel in Rome
#25 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $110 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Anselmo 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel San Anselmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s Anselmo Hotel
s Anselmo Rome
San Anselmo Rome
Hotel San Anselmo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing