We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, modern accommodation in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Finestra su Trastevere
Ranked #2,011 of 3,743 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in this five-bedroom apartment with a shared kitchen.

Our room had a high-spec en suite and what the room itself lacked in size it made up for in value for money and convenience. We were in the heart of the Trastevere neighbourhood, with plenty of good restaurants, coffee shops and bars nearby. We were also a 30-minute walk from the Vatican City, a 20-minute walk from the Coliseum and a 15-minute walk into the Centro Storico, which meant it was in a good location without being in the midst of the touristy areas too near the Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, etc.

The only negative (which wouldn't be an issue for rooms on the other side of the apartment) is that our window overlooked a square, which meant that over the weekend the bar noise didn't die down until well past midnight. Fine if you're out late yourself and/or relatively deep sleepers (as we were/are), but probably not ideal for families.

Room Tip: Rooms not overlooking the square would probably be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkkkaimook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 68 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

Despite the overall review being average my fiancee and I were happy with this accommodation. It is basic and that is exactly what we needed.

Our room overlooked the Piazza and most nights it can be noisy until around 1am although the window shutters did help somewhat. Families with small children it is worth mentioning here that the windows open fully with no protection guard.

The owner was very friendly and provided a map of the city which was easy to follow. After our initial meeting we didn't see much of him for the duration of our trip however, we could get hold of him via mobile for any problems but didn't need to.

The area around the apartment is vibrant in the early evening and it is worth having a walk through the picturesque cobbled streets that are filled with eateries, shops, bars and of course places of worship.

The room is basic with a good clean bathroom, small fridge, TV and Wi-Fi. There is also a communal dining area with 2 gas hobs, kettle and microwave...anyone going in the next few days, you are welcome to help yourselves to the corn flakes we left in the cupboard :-)

Distance:
25 mins walk to the Colosseum
35 mins walk to St Peter's Basilica
20 mins walk to the Pantheon

My partner and I are fairly fit so these are just rough guides.

We managed to find a good deal on these apartments and were slightly shocked to see the normal price which was much higher. Had we paid full price then we would've expected more.

Hope this helps.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Piazza are best reserved for those who don't mind a bit of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank markguitars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

After doing some reading about the areas of Rome, we decided to stay in the Trastevere section. This guest house is in an older building but they have done a wonderful job of remodeling a portion of it. We were flying in and out of Rome for this 3week vacation so we stayed the first 2nights and the last 2 nights here. They can arrange for a car pick up at the airport so we used their service coming and going. It is a set price and cheaper than some and so much easier than flying internationally and then trying to hassle with transportation. There is no breakfast but there is a kitchen that you can use for minimal cooking but more importantly for that first cup of espresso in the morning. There are plenty of nearby places to grab a delicious pastry and coffee and if you stand at the counter it is really cheap! Remember that you have to let the owners know when you are arriving so that someone can be there to give you keys - this is not owner occupied. We would stay here next time we visit Rome!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelingigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel twice in 3 months and found the staff very accomodating and helpful. They even sent a vehicle to pick us up from the airport. The rooms are clean, simple and modern and situated right in the part of town where the local life takes place. There are loads of bars, restaurants and shops in close proximity but beware it can be a little noisy in the square into the early hours of the morning. The rooftop terrace is superb and looks over the whole area and all in this is now our hotel of choice when visiting Rome

Room Tip: Rooms away from the square at the back are quieter. e.g the Pantheon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cgauntlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We arrived slightly later then expected and when we tried the buzzer of the guest house there was no answer. Panicked I checked my emails for a contact number or other address but no avail. Luckily a couple who had been staying there returned to pick up something they had forgotten and managed to contact the owner who arrived in 10 minutes. There is no reception as it is a guesthouse but the owner gave me his number in case of any problems which there weren't.
Once inside, the room was perfect it was very clean, spacious great shower, comfy bed. We got given a map with good places to eat highlighted and were to avoid!! On the roof was a terrace with bar, between 6-9 was 'happy hour' where we ended up having a bottle of wine as the aperitifs kept on coming! We chatted to the owner who recommended us to walk up to Fontana dell'Acqua Paola. It was beautiful with great views of city. The area is fantastic for dining out and late night drinks without being noisy. It had a fabulous atmosphere all over Trastevere and I would definitely recommend this hotel/Guesthouse to anyone staying in Rome.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We arrived at the guest house late at night. We took the train from the airport to the Trastevere train station which cost approx. €8 and then got a taxi from the train station to the hotel which cost approx. €10. We had trouble finding it in the dark, but look for the Al Bozza restaurant and it is directly opposite.

The guest house has no lift and is up three flights of stairs. Someone was waiting for us on arrival, he explained how everything worked, we paid him and then he left us to it. We left the keys in the apartment on departure, so very easy.

We had a nice size room and the bathroom was good. It had air conditioning and wifi in the room, which we had no problems connecting to with a laptop but my boyfriend couldn't get his iphone to work.

The location of the guest house is excellent, we walked to the Vatican City in approx. 20mins and we were able to get off our sightseeing bus about 10mins walk from the guest house. There is plenty going on around the square at night and many bars and restaurants to choose from. The rooms are in a lively square so there is a little noise at night but this tends to die down after midnight.

We enjoyed the roof terrace, watching the sun set with a bottle of wine after a hard days sight seeing! The guest house has a kitchen with everything you need from glasses to a bottle opener.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Picnic1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed end of July, so air conditioning had to work hard to keep temperature comfortable. Which it just about managed to do.
Owners/staff friendly on arrival. Never saw them again. Left keys in room on departure. Easy and no fuss.
Bathrooms are nice, beds were fine. All is relatively new, so all seams clean and appealing.
Decor is a little dull and nondescript but very contemporary Italian, which they seem to adore.

Large flatscreen TV (which we had little use for). Free WiFi (a must nowadays).
We found nothing resembling breakfast in the small kitchen-area, so went out instead.

Of course it is a little noisy: This is Rome and Trastevere! Lively and beautiful!

Nice place to stay for a visit to Rome, though a little on the expensive side for a B&B.

Room Tip: I suspect rooms away from the piazza in front of the building are quieter, but without a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MisterCoconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Sonnino Suite B&B
Sonnino Suite B&B
#522 of 1,270 in Rome
175 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#12 of 1,270 in Rome
3,008 reviews
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Trastevere
Residenza delle Arti
Residenza delle Arti
#105 of 3,743 in Rome
139 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#456 of 1,270 in Rome
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finestra su Trastevere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finestra su Trastevere

Address: Piazza Giuditta Tavani Arquati 113, 00153 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,011 of 3,743 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $67 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Finestra su Trastevere” is a luxury guest house, on the second floor of a building in the heart of old Rome, in Piazza GT Arquati, a short walk from Piazza S. Maria in Trastevere. It consists of five rooms - four doubles and one single room - comfortable and refined, in which every detail has been carefully considered. All rooms have private facilities, satellite TV, air conditioning, mini bar and ADSL. The house also features a common area with kitchenette, table and chairs, where guests can entertain themselves, prepare and eat snacks together and spend time relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and HostelWorld so you can book your Finestra su Trastevere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing