We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great guest house in a great location in Rome.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Finestra su Trastevere
Ranked #1,781 of 3,692 Rome B&B and Inns
Indianapolis
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great guest house in a great location in Rome.”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

After doing some reading about the areas of Rome, we decided to stay in the Trastevere section. This guest house is in an older building but they have done a wonderful job of remodeling a portion of it. We were flying in and out of Rome for this 3week vacation so we stayed the first 2nights and the last 2 nights here. They can arrange for a car pick up at the airport so we used their service coming and going. It is a set price and cheaper than some and so much easier than flying internationally and then trying to hassle with transportation. There is no breakfast but there is a kitchen that you can use for minimal cooking but more importantly for that first cup of espresso in the morning. There are plenty of nearby places to grab a delicious pastry and coffee and if you stand at the counter it is really cheap! Remember that you have to let the owners know when you are arriving so that someone can be there to give you keys - this is not owner occupied. We would stay here next time we visit Rome!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelingigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    19
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
39
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel twice in 3 months and found the staff very accomodating and helpful. They even sent a vehicle to pick us up from the airport. The rooms are clean, simple and modern and situated right in the part of town where the local life takes place. There are loads of bars, restaurants and shops in close proximity but beware it can be a little noisy in the square into the early hours of the morning. The rooftop terrace is superb and looks over the whole area and all in this is now our hotel of choice when visiting Rome

Room Tip: Rooms away from the square at the back are quieter. e.g the Pantheon
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cgauntlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We arrived slightly later then expected and when we tried the buzzer of the guest house there was no answer. Panicked I checked my emails for a contact number or other address but no avail. Luckily a couple who had been staying there returned to pick up something they had forgotten and managed to contact the owner who arrived in 10 minutes. There is no reception as it is a guesthouse but the owner gave me his number in case of any problems which there weren't.
Once inside, the room was perfect it was very clean, spacious great shower, comfy bed. We got given a map with good places to eat highlighted and were to avoid!! On the roof was a terrace with bar, between 6-9 was 'happy hour' where we ended up having a bottle of wine as the aperitifs kept on coming! We chatted to the owner who recommended us to walk up to Fontana dell'Acqua Paola. It was beautiful with great views of city. The area is fantastic for dining out and late night drinks without being noisy. It had a fabulous atmosphere all over Trastevere and I would definitely recommend this hotel/Guesthouse to anyone staying in Rome.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We arrived at the guest house late at night. We took the train from the airport to the Trastevere train station which cost approx. €8 and then got a taxi from the train station to the hotel which cost approx. €10. We had trouble finding it in the dark, but look for the Al Bozza restaurant and it is directly opposite.

The guest house has no lift and is up three flights of stairs. Someone was waiting for us on arrival, he explained how everything worked, we paid him and then he left us to it. We left the keys in the apartment on departure, so very easy.

We had a nice size room and the bathroom was good. It had air conditioning and wifi in the room, which we had no problems connecting to with a laptop but my boyfriend couldn't get his iphone to work.

The location of the guest house is excellent, we walked to the Vatican City in approx. 20mins and we were able to get off our sightseeing bus about 10mins walk from the guest house. There is plenty going on around the square at night and many bars and restaurants to choose from. The rooms are in a lively square so there is a little noise at night but this tends to die down after midnight.

We enjoyed the roof terrace, watching the sun set with a bottle of wine after a hard days sight seeing! The guest house has a kitchen with everything you need from glasses to a bottle opener.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Picnic1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed end of July, so air conditioning had to work hard to keep temperature comfortable. Which it just about managed to do.
Owners/staff friendly on arrival. Never saw them again. Left keys in room on departure. Easy and no fuss.
Bathrooms are nice, beds were fine. All is relatively new, so all seams clean and appealing.
Decor is a little dull and nondescript but very contemporary Italian, which they seem to adore.

Large flatscreen TV (which we had little use for). Free WiFi (a must nowadays).
We found nothing resembling breakfast in the small kitchen-area, so went out instead.

Of course it is a little noisy: This is Rome and Trastevere! Lively and beautiful!

Nice place to stay for a visit to Rome, though a little on the expensive side for a B&B.

Room Tip: I suspect rooms away from the piazza in front of the building are quieter, but without a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterCoconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Having specifically looked for accommodation in Trastevere that was both contemporary in style and affordable, I was delighted with this find. As other reviewers have said, the location is ideal, situated in the bustle of Trastevere but within walking distance of all the main sites of Rome. (Not that I recommend walking in Rome in the July heat, but that's another story.)

Transfer from the airport, organised through the ever-helpful Alessandra and Cristian went without a glitch. The room was spotlessly clean, with a stylish bathroom. The bed was a little on the hard side. The air conditioning worked perfectly and silently, so no overheating at night.

However. We had a room at the front, which overlooked a small square with a couple of restaurants and a small market selling food and assorted junk, as well as CDs. The marketing technique of the woman selling the CDs was to start playing music (actually the same CD, on repeat) at an increasing volume as the evening wore on, to the point that even with the windows closed the noise was unbearable. This continued until 00:30-00:45, every night.

Alessandra and Cristian immediately offered us a change of room, so their service cannot be faulted. (I would like to think, charitably, that they were not aware of the noise levels, since we did not see them at any point). We declined, only because we thought we'd not be in before midnight most evenings anyway. In retrospect, that was a mistake, because it meant that when we came home late afternoon for a rest and to freshen up, we could get no peace from the relentless banging music.

So, a word to the wise, if you want a peaceful stay, ensure you have a room at the back, or check with the owners to see if the market is still present.

Room Tip: Make sure you find out about noise levels at the front of the guest house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meaningofliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I was traveling solo on a trip to Rome and found this guest house to rent when I arrived. The rooms and incredibly clean, neat, tidy, and comfortable with amazing bathrooms, air-conditioning and huge beautiful windows. The place was also very quiet even when there were people staying in all of the guest rooms. The bed was also the most comfortable bed I slept in in my entire Europe trip! Alessandra and Cristian were so hospitable and helpful. They worked around my schedule for check in and check out and answered many questions of mine about logistics and places to stay in Rome. They were incredibly friendly and accommodating! The rooftop area was my favorite part of the place. It was absolutely beautiful! A great place to have a glass of wine, read, write, or sun bathe. Additionally, the price of the guest house was less expensive than any of the hotels I looked at and the amenities far exceeded any of the hotels I would have stayed in. Lastly, the location is phenomenal! Tons of great restaurants, cafes, and bars and right across from the river. It was a beautiful spot. I would definitely recommend this place to any couples or people traveling solo. When I return to Rome, I will be staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana Lucia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Sonnino Suite B&B
Sonnino Suite B&B
#464 of 1,261 in Rome
169 reviews
Trastevere
Trastevere Luxury Guest House
Trastevere
Hip Suites
Hip Suites
#182 of 3,692 in Rome
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
BDB Luxury Rooms Trastevere Torre
Trastevere
A Trastevere da M.E.
A Trastevere da M.E.
#134 of 3,692 in Rome
192 reviews
Trastevere
Trastevere Colors
Trastevere Colors
#153 of 3,692 in Rome
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finestra su Trastevere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finestra su Trastevere

Property: Finestra su Trastevere
Address: Piazza Giuditta Tavani Arquati 113, 00153 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,781 of 3,692 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Finestra su Trastevere” is a luxury guest house, on the second floor of a building in the heart of old Rome, in Piazza GT Arquati, a short walk from Piazza S. Maria in Trastevere. It consists of five rooms - four doubles and one single room - comfortable and refined, in which every detail has been carefully considered. All rooms have private facilities, satellite TV, air conditioning, mini bar and ADSL. The house also features a common area with kitchenette, table and chairs, where guests can entertain themselves, prepare and eat snacks together and spend time relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Finestra su Trastevere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing