We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central”
Review of Homs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homs Hotel
Ranked #565 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Central”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Great location, above average hotel, Spanish steps around the corner, Trevi fountain with in walking distance, Rooms are on the small side but again they are more than adequate. bar prices are expensive. Staff are friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tipperarydarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Assonitis, Direttore generale at Homs Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you for your positive review! We appreciate your nice words about staff and location. Hope to have you again with us next time you'll be in Rome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    223
    91
    49
    40
See reviews for
130
155
44
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Excellent location minutes away from the Spanish steps, and fabulous shopping...Gucci, Louis Vuitton, etc. The room, however, could have used a facelift. We had a suite on the 4th floor. One part of the room the AC worked like a charm, the other part of the suite, it felt the the AC was blowing out hot air. I called the front desk, and they sent someone up. The maintenance man had a mini argument with me in Italian and told me it worked perfectly. Then plowed me over, and out the door he went.

Taking a shower the next morning, and pieces of the brass were falling off into the tub...the water temp was luke warm at best.

The front desk did arrange transportation for us to the airport, and the bellman aka maintenance man came up to get our bags, and ran over my toes with my suitcase.

Location awesome, accommodations not so much!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Assonitis, Direttore generale at Homs Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank for your time to review us! We do apologize for the problems you encountered during your stay. We're trying hard to make sure they do not happen again with other guests.

We appreciate your words about location. We hope to see you again the next time your travel plans will bring you in Rome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

My stay at the Homs Hotel was great. From arranging the pick up at the airport to a speedy check-in, the staff was extremely helpful. The location is great, just feet from the Spanish Steps and the Metro. Dinner at the hotel restaurant was delicious. I needed a late checkout and was able to keep my room until 1:00pm.

Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BiancaVu, Direttore generale at Homs Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your excellent review.
We hope to see you again.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This is a lovely hotel and very close to the sightseeing trails of Rome. Also, it is in an area with many designer stores and even if you don't want to buy, it's great to look at! Our room was on 4th floor - plus! We had to walk up a flight of stairs from the lift, and then another inside our suite to reach the rooms - but it was worth the trek.

We were rewarded for the climb up from Base Camp with a lovely suite that included a huge private rooftop terrace, with great views over the rooftops of Rome. We also had a large double bedroom with TV, a sitting room with another TV and mini bar, and bathroom (very pretty). There was a wardrobe which included a safe, too. I think it was called something like the Cupola Suite, so if you want space and views, that's the one to ask about. The roof terrace was ideal for escaping the traffic fumes in the afternoon and was very pleasant to sit out with a glass or two of wine in the evening.

Breakfast was basically continental and it was assumed that was OK, so if you want other than that do make sure you specify. But it was ample to start the day so no real complaint.

Room Tip: Ask about size & location so that if you want views you are not stuck at the back. Go higher up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca V, Direttore at Homs Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest, we are pleased that you had a good time during your stay in Hotel Homs. We hope to have you as a guest soon. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Hotel Homs in Rome is located near the Spanish Steps and upscale shopping. The hotel is nice but I feel that they lack amenities for the price point. I have stayed at other comparable priced hotels in the area that include breakfast and Wi-Fi.

The bathroom is decorated nicely but is not functional in the set up. The shower head is located in the middle of the wall and the glass only covers 1/2 the length of the tub. I was not able to use my own hair dryer even with a converter due to their wiring. I had to use the hotel hair dryer that demanded my hand on the button the entire time to run. The bed was hard and pillows flat. Lastly, only one English speaking channel - CNN.

To me, the Reception with their expertise and customer service were the best thing about this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay in a room above the reception (front of the hotel). I was unable to sleep due to the we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca V, Direttore at Homs Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear guest, we are sorry that you had not a good time during stay in Hotel Homs. The next time talk with the reception about the problem with the room. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goxhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We'd had yet another busy morning walking to the many attractions nearby..... It was warm and we were ready for a break. Came across this hotel and Vuda Bar in it. Sat outside to watch the world go by, the waitress was very friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. I asked her to recommend a wine for me, which she promptly brought poured a snifter with the proviso if I didn't like she'd bring me another. It was perfect. My husband had a local draught beer all served with fresh olives, canapés and nibbles. Was a very pleasant interlude and we stayed for a couple of hours. If you are in this area try it, you won't be disappointed. Hostel inside was very smart and clean, very professional and polite.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Assonitis, Direttore generale at Homs Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice review. We appreciate all you wrote about our Vudabar (wine, service and location) as well about our rooms. We do hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights last week. Very pleased with the experience. Located in a lovely spot in Rome with everything you need a couple steps away.

My room was a lot bigger than expected. Not sure if I just got lucky or they are all that size but very satisfied with the room. Only complaints I have are with the Wifi connection. They charge you 3 euro for 1 hr or 10 euro for 24 hours of Wifi which is robbery.

The customer service was not that great but when you are in Rome, you get used to that. All in all, I would definitely recommend staying here especially if the price is right.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeYiZy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca V, Direttore at Homs Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest, the Wifi on the computer in reception is free. We are sorry if you had some problems with costumer services, next time talk with us about it. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#109 of 1,256 in Rome
828 reviews
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#298 of 1,256 in Rome
268 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Siena
Hotel Siena
#381 of 1,256 in Rome
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Prestige Guest House
Prestige Guest House
#733 of 1,256 in Rome
95 reviews
Campo Marzio
Daniel's Hotel
Daniel's Hotel
#426 of 1,256 in Rome
191 reviews
Campo Marzio
La Lumiere di Piazza di Spagna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homs Hotel

Property: Homs Hotel
Address: Via della Vite 71/72, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#270 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Homs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Homs is a boutique 4 star hotel located in the heart of the historical center of Rome, on the fashionable Via della Vite in the the city's finest shopping area, just around the corner from Piazza di Spagna and the Spanish steps. From its long tradition, Hotel Homs offers its guests a combination of this Italian charm and modern amenities found in the newly remodeled Executive rooms. The Hotel's Vuda Bar is a great place to start your day with a rich buffet breakfast, in a unique and charming setting, before stepping out for a day of sightseeing and shopping (all found within walking distance). Our staff and impeccable service make Hotel Homs the perfect spot in Rome for your holiday or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Homs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homs Hotel Rome
Hotel Homs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing