We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for solo woman traveler”
Review of Homs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homs Hotel
Ranked #564 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on my own at the end of a two week trip to several cities. I'd come back to Rome basically just to fly home so this hotel was perfect b/c it was just a few blocks from the subway (Spagna) so i could easily get to and from the airport.

A lot of places that say "near" something end up not really being near it - but the Homs Hotel is literally steps away from the Spanish Steps. But it's tucked into a side street so it's not too noisy. And the street has plenty of restaurants if you want to stick close to home. From here you can easily walk to Piazza Navona, the Trevi and lots of other sites.

The room was smallish but certainly not even close to the smallest I've experienced in Italy or the rest of Europe.

Overall, it was a good value for the convenient & safe location! I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzymac615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 539 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

There were 11 adults occupying 6 rooms. Each room was different but all were clean and comfortable. Yes, the rooms are small but that is to be expected in Europe. The bathrooms are bright and the towels are thick and plentiful. Bath was cleaned with fresh towels twice a day. Hallway was vacuumed late every afternoon of our 4 day stay. The bar provided complimentary finger sandwiches and snacks with our drinks and our one late dinner in the dining room was especially enjoyable due to the great server (sorry I forgot her name). The front desk was extremely helpful arranging cabs for our large group and for arranging dinner on two nights at nearby restaurants - Mario's was excellent and reasonable and Life was very good as well.
Note: room 207 has a smaller room adjacent to bedroom with a sleeper chair which worked well since bedroom didn't have twin beds as requested. Easy walk from hotel to Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and Piazza Navona.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I agree with previous reviewers that the location couldn't be much better. My room was a modern single at the corner of the building and could have been noisy if it weren't for the AC. There were linens on the hallway floor in the morning The women at the desk were helpful; the man was grumpy. I enjoyed an online special that included WiFi but the internet wasn't available the first day. Breakfast is expensive for what you receive but I enjoyed the convenience of going downstairs and eating on the patio. The first day I received orange juice, but not the second. Being able to walk around the corner to get a taxi or to meet friends at the Spanish Steps was such a bonus that I overlooked the hotel's shortcomings. Very good value for the online two-night rate that I paid. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I am vey disappointed in this hotel. The location is very central but it quite outdated. The rooms are small and the halls ways are in need to sprucing up. The pillows are old and lumpy. The carpet is dirty and even stained and bleached out in spots. The service is awful. The man at the desk seems to feel resentful about being there, won't make eye contact and brushes me away with his hand when I ask for help. They were out of maps and made no effort to help me get oriented. Nothing is included. They charge extra (10 Eurosday) for internet and there is no breakfast included. Felt most unwelcome here.

Room Tip: Can't say - mine is pretty awful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank astudyincontrasts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The Hotel Homs is ideally located a stroll away from the Spanish Steps, via del Corso, Trevi Fountain & Piazza Navona. We loved walking out of the hotel and being surrounded by such magnificent monuments and streets.
The room was just fine, if a little out-dated. It was a little odd to see the housekeeping staff apparently using the hallways as a permanent storage place for extra towels, but at least the rooms were spotless. The staff at the front desk did a fine job too.
The hotel was a good value. The location was the most outstanding feature of the hotel, but the rest of the experience was average or very good too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I booked this hotel to stay at with my sister. I was attracted to it because of its great location and it does have a great location right near the Spanish steps and Trevi Fountain. However, I also booked it because all the pictures they offer online are of spacious rooms and luxurious bathrooms with bathtubs. I specifically wanted a bathtub ;). However, upon arrival they said that some rooms have bathtubs and some do not but I was going to have to be in a room without one since they were all booked up for the night, which was pretty disappointing. Also, the room was TINY...think smaller than cruise ship size. The double bed was only accessible by one side so my sister had to climb over the one side each time to get into bed. The room was barely walkable and you had barely enough room for yourself where you could move around a little. There was working air conditioning though which felt great since I went in mid-July 2013. Shower was decent and the bathroom was clean and updated, however still TINY. I was greatly mislead by their photographs online because what you see is certainly not always what you get. You also had to pay for internet - 10 euros for 24 hours and 5 euros for 1 hour. I would not stay there again but thank god we only stayed there one night. Overall, really good location but it was not worth the inconveniences and room that was uncomfortably small.

Room Tip: Book a suite to get any type of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The best hotel location in rome , the staff is incredible , Marianna is the best hotel employee I have ever seen , she helped us plan everything during our stay , she even negotiated with taxis etc...

I am coming back every year to this hotel ...

Just one negative comment , the breakfast is weak and complicated , why can't they have a simple buffet like every one else ....

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyAssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#112 of 1,271 in Rome
867 reviews
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#301 of 1,271 in Rome
285 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#110 of 1,271 in Rome
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Hotel Siena
Hotel Siena
#383 of 1,271 in Rome
411 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
#59 of 1,271 in Rome
437 reviews
Campo Marzio
Piazza di Spagna View
Piazza di Spagna View
#530 of 1,271 in Rome
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homs Hotel

Address: Via della Vite 71/72, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#275 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $96 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Homs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Homs is a boutique 4 star hotel located in the heart of the historical center of Rome, on the fashionable Via della Vite in the the city's finest shopping area, just around the corner from Piazza di Spagna and the Spanish steps. From its long tradition, Hotel Homs offers its guests a combination of this Italian charm and modern amenities found in the newly remodeled Executive rooms. The Hotel's Vuda Bar is a great place to start your day with a rich buffet breakfast, in a unique and charming setting, before stepping out for a day of sightseeing and shopping (all found within walking distance). Our staff and impeccable service make Hotel Homs the perfect spot in Rome for your holiday or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Homs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homs Hotel Rome
Hotel Homs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing