We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place To Stay In Rome”
Review of Hotel Farnese

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Farnese
Ranked #106 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place To Stay In Rome”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My first experience at the Hotel Farnese was in February 2006 when my 13 year old son and I stayed for one week. My next stay was in September 2013 when I brought my 16 year old son. I love this hotel and I love the area it is located in. You are a 15 minute walk from the Vatican and there is lots of shopping close by as well as many nice restaurants. You are steps away from the metro/buses that can take you to all the other sites easily should walking be a concern. I give the location a rating of excellent because I like to get away from all the tourists. I felt very safe walking in this area day or night. The staff are lovely and very accomodating. Having breakfast and drinking a cappuccino while looking out at the Dome of St. Peter's Basilica is a great way to start your day. They have nice big bathrooms and the beds are very comfortable. I look forward to my next stay at Hotel Farnese when I will go with my husband (these were special mom/son trips).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    271
    46
    16
    13
See reviews for
193
439
22
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Campinas, SP
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I were planning our honeymoon to Italy when we decided to visit Rome. I studied in Oxford where I met an italian friend, who told me about this hotel. As she is a native of Rome, for sure I took her advice to stay in this hotel. It was our best choice.
The hotel cordially welcomed us with a delicious Italian wine.
Besides the best location (it is far from amount of tourists, but so close of everything because have a subway station called Lepanto near the hotel), the room is big, clean, has a lovely balcony and also, a great meal with a wonderful view of the Vatican.
My italian friend lives near the hotel, and she told us lots restaurants, "gelatos" places for we go, near the hotel.
If someday I decide to return there, we'll stay in Farnese Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolFantin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel is a bit tired around the edges, however Hotel Farnese offers very comfortable accommodation. We were on the 4th floor, nice big room, lovely, huge, comfortable bed. The room did however smell of smoke which was slightly off putting. I considered asking to be moved but was informed that the hotel was busy and full. I am still giving 4 stars as generally it was up to scratch. The common areas are lovely, marble floors, chandeliers etc.

Large well appoionted bathroom, shower no bathtub, but lots of space for toiletries, great sink and mirror. Bathroom a bit tired looking but did the job.

Flat screen TV and mini bar in the room. We did find that it was noisy, there was a couple next door to us, I don't think they were talking particularly loudly but we could hear every word of every conversation, this was quite irritating and led us to speak quietly to each other :(

Nice continental breakfast on the roof, very attractive room, superb waitress, very smiley and helpful and makes fresh cappucinno's for you. One negative, there were scrambled eggs in a tureen, they were always cold, it was not heated so quite a waste really.

The hotel is located in a quiet residential district, it is adjacent to a tram, Rome's Metro, and bus lines. There are some nice restaurants in the area that are really good and easy to walk to. There is also a long street full of nice shops (some designer) a 5 minute walk away.

Free WiFi, this was very patchy in the room but worked fine in the reception lobby. We also had free parking which I did consider to be a bonus.

Staff, really really friendly and helpful.

So all in all a great stay with a few cons, would I stay again, probably not, I think it was qute expensive, we paid 740 euros for 3 nights for a room that had a musty smoky smell and no bath and cold eggs. If I returned to Rome I think I would try somewhere else for a comparison.

Room Tip: If you prefer a bath make sure you let them know, also try for a room without a connecting door, nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabelle040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My wife and I loved this hotel, the staff was fantastic and the rooms were clean and beautiful double doors leading to the balcony was awesome. It is located in a quite residential neighborhood.
Have breakfast upstairs and see the view of the Vatican.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaz34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had a difficult time deciding where to stay in Rome. We finally settled on the Farnese. Thrilled that we did. What a location - St. Paul's dome can be seen from the breakfast room on the covered dining patio on the roof. And the staff are so very helpful. The room was lovely and clean. AND parking is provided.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddavis7769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Hotel Farnese is a boutique hotel, located in quite residential area.
Rooms are surprisingly large and very clean with upscale amenities. Great breakfast.
Walking distance to most attractions: 15 min slow walk to Vatican, about 20 to Pantheon and around 30-35 to Coliseum. Free parking.
Personnel is English speaking and always ready to help.
Lots of great and inexpensive places to eat around.
Definitely will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights, the last night on the top floor room with terrace. Clean and very European feeling. Very good buffet breakfast. Quiet residential area. Short walk to metro, 15 minutes to Vatican, 20 minutes to Pantheon. Definitely would stay again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bigmrv7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Villa Pinciana
Hotel Villa Pinciana
#75 of 1,263 in Rome
503 reviews
Prati
Hotel Giulio Cesare
Hotel Giulio Cesare
#219 of 1,263 in Rome
1,007 reviews
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#71 of 1,263 in Rome
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Dei Mellini
Hotel Dei Mellini
#67 of 1,263 in Rome
1,512 reviews
Prati
Hotel Arcangelo
Hotel Arcangelo
#541 of 1,263 in Rome
340 reviews
Monti
Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi
Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi
#695 of 1,263 in Rome
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Farnese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Farnese

Property: Hotel Farnese
Address: Via Alessandro Farnese 30 | Prati, 00192 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Rome
#64 Family Hotel in Rome
#67 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#83 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Farnese 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the ancient aristocratic residence that today houses Hotel Farnese. A luxury hotel blessed with a soft atmosphere of refined elegance and the efficiency of our friendly personnel. Its owners are pleased to personally welcome guests to the hotel, which has been in service for over 60 years, guaranteeing the courteous service with attention to detail that has come to distinguish Hotel Farnese from the 4 star hotels of Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Farnese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farnese Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing