We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel with charm close to the metro”
Review of Hotel Farnese

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Farnese
Ranked #119 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2011

This hotel was charming with very helpful people on the front desk. The room was very large with a couple of comfortable armchairs to sit in. The bathroom was very big and although the bath had the shower overhead it was quite okay. The breakfast on the rooftop terrace was excellent and it was no trouble at all to have 2 cappuchinos.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icehouse45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (896)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 898 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2011

We arrived late at night, but the front desk clerk was still there waiting on us. We were on our honeymoon, so the hotel provided a bottle of prosecco sparkling wine & fresh flowers in our room, & we also got the only room with a balcony, which was lovely. Hotel was quiet, clean, friendly staff, and their breakfast area is up on the roof, with an amazing view of the city. Breakfast was excellent, great selection of foods including "american style" things like scrambled eggs & bacon. It's also only one block from the Metro station, so we used that to get all over the city. HUGE bathroom, including a tub, which was great for a foot soak after walking all over Rome for 2 days! Also--the hotel key they give you is a little bulky, so if you don't want to carry it on you, the front desk staff will hold on to it for you & give it back after you return for the day. Also--we checked out early in the morning, before breakfast, & they provided us with a bagged breakfast to take to go! Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heywood417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Lovely spot, easy to walk to the Vatican. We had six people in two rooms. Our 10 and 16 year old daughters loved the bunk bed. I've never seen this in a hotel before.

Linens are high quality and the air conditioning works extremely well. It can actually get cold in the room if you are not careful. (This was not possible in any other hotel we stayed in in Italy.)
We thought this neighborhood would be better than that around the train station.
Hotel offered to send a van to transport us from the airport. This was an excellent idea. It almost cost the same as the train for the six of us and was infinitely more comfortable.

If you stay here, try the Osteria Centouno, Via Fabio Massimo 101, tel: 06-3235790. It's an easy walk and was not at all "touristy" (which is very hard to find in Rome). It was not on the concierge's list of restaurants to try. Excellent food.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreatTrip356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed here the first two nights of our Italy road trip. We picked this hotel originally for the free parking, thinking that we'd pick our car up at the Rome FCO airport and do a preliminary driving tour around the Coliseum before checking in for two nights (didn't drive in Rome after we checked in!). It worked out beautifully. The room was beautiful, bathroom spacious, and the fifth floor rooftop restaurant lovely - it even had fresh-squeezed orange juice. The location was perfect for us - quiet as it was on the west side of the Tiber river (away from Tivoli Fountain area), but within walking distance of both the Vatican and Tivoli. Only warning for Italy hotels in general (that we stayed at anyway) is to pack in small to medium bags as the elevators are tiny and you often have to stack your bags to fit!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed here on our 2nd week of travels/business in Rome for 6 nights. The service was very friendly (thanks especially to Andrea) and welcoming. The room was immaculate and very well furnished. Location was key - it's the absolute best location in Rome if your are planning a longer stay in here. It is well situated in a quiet residential neighbourhood, outside of the touristy historical center with easy access to all sites via metro. 15 mins walk to Vatican City, Piazza Navona, Piazza di Popolo. View during breakfast was tops it all off. Highly recommended.

TIP: Shop where the locals shop: Via Cola di Rienzo (5 mins walk)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

The points for this hotel should go for the staffs, they were just so nice and helpful. The hotel room is small but it may be standard for Italian hotels. The location is next to Lepanto metro station Line A and easy to go everywhere. But since the metro stop working after 9pm so it is not suitable for those who wants to spend late night out at tourist spots unless he/she is willing to deal with Rome taxi tricks at night.

Room Tip: Get room at low floor as the elevator is small and slow so you will mostly use the stairway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haru_san_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

When we arrived at the hotel, we were warmly welcomed by the staff! The hotel had our rooms ready (7 rooms for our extended family of 14) even though it was before the check-in time. The hotel was as beautiful as pictured online! It has an elegant appeal but is not stuffy. The rooms were clean and well appointed and the beds were very comfortable. Every staff member was extremely friendly and accomodating. Our family felt very at home in this hotel! The Metro was only steps away which made travelling throughout the city very easy. In addition, the hotel arranged 2 wonderful tours for us which made our visit very enjoyable! The tour guidesmet us at the hotel and were very knowledgeable and informative! We definitely recommend this hotel and will stay there again when we return to Rome.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msskeato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Villa Pinciana
Hotel Villa Pinciana
#79 of 1,269 in Rome
518 reviews
Prati
Hotel Giulio Cesare
Hotel Giulio Cesare
#224 of 1,269 in Rome
1,029 reviews
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#65 of 1,269 in Rome
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Dei Mellini
Hotel Dei Mellini
#66 of 1,269 in Rome
1,551 reviews
Prati
Hotel Arcangelo
Hotel Arcangelo
#534 of 1,269 in Rome
343 reviews
Prati
Twentyone Hotel
Twentyone Hotel
#191 of 1,269 in Rome
1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Farnese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Farnese

Address: Via Alessandro Farnese 30 | Prati, 00192 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Rome
#64 Family Hotel in Rome
#73 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#83 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $116 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Farnese 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the ancient aristocratic residence that today houses Hotel Farnese. A luxury hotel blessed with a soft atmosphere of refined elegance and the efficiency of our friendly personnel. Its owners are pleased to personally welcome guests to the hotel, which has been in service for over 60 years, guaranteeing the courteous service with attention to detail that has come to distinguish Hotel Farnese from the 4 star hotels of Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Farnese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farnese Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing