We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Neighborhood, Adequate Lodging”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Locanda Carmel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Locanda Carmel
Ranked #633 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood, Adequate Lodging”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed at the Carmel Hotel 2 of my 5 nights in Rome. While I loved Trastevere and wished I had stayed there the entire time, I found the hotel to be just adequate. There was nothing bad about it, but relative to my other Roman hotel and other lodging in Florence and Venice, I thought the quality relative to price was just not as favorable as other places.

My room was clean and rather large. Breakfast was very simple -- not bad, but the simplest of anywhere else I stayed. Still, given the choice, I would rather stay in an adequate hotel in Trastevere than a fabulous hotel in another part of Rome.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kenmore4828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    48
    15
    14
    14
See reviews for
18
74
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

I was so disappointed with this hotel after choosing it based on reviews on Tripadvisor. I had booked ( and paid for) a double room but was allocated a shabby single room next to the breakfast room and adjacent to the kitchen. There was only one curtain on the window, which was hanging off the rail. No idea what happened to the other one! With the exception of the cleaner, the staff were abrupt and not at all interested in assisting with the wi fi that didn't work, or providing directions to the nearest Tourist information point. It was difficult opening the front door when locked in the evening. The lock was stiff and the door heavy. When I needed assistance from the member of staff to release it from inside he shouted at me and said I wasn't pushing it hard enough. This was the second time he shouted at me as I refused to pay the bill he presented with me on arrival, which didn't take into account the allocation of a single instead of a double room or the deposit already paid! The breakfast rolls in the morning were warmed in the microwave, so went hard very quickly. The terrace was a really nice location for breakfast, but as my room was next to it I felt a lack of privacy and of course there was the noise
I spoke to some of the other guests and had a peek into the rooms. I have to say that they looked much nicer and and altogether more cheery. None of us could get wi fi to work, but one couple were able to link into the main reception wi fi and were given the code by a member of staff.
In summary, the location is just on the edge of where I would have preferred to be. . The room was cleaned and linen changed daily, but it is not recommended as a good hotel for a single traveller. Some of the staff could do well to take customer service tips from the cleaner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Millie123442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

The room was small and the bathroom tiny, barely room to turn around in. But it was clean and comfortable and the breakfast room was charming. The cornflakes however tasted a bit stale. Located near a street with some fun shops and lots of public transportation but not too near the city center or the Jewish ghetto (relevant for Jewish visitors to Rome). All in all a comfortable, pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayelet s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Locanda Carmel was amazing. The rooms were on the small side, but completely adequate. The room that opens to the terrace was very large. All rooms were immaculate. (our group had 4 rooms rented) The terrace was lovely---a great way to enjoy the early morning and evening---and free wi-fi to boot. BEST PART: The staff were all helpful---carried all our luggage up and down the stairs and did all they could to ensure it was a great visit. The only thing that needs a bit of improvement is the breakfast. It was awesome to eat out on the terrace.....and the juice and coffee were good, but the rolls got boring. If they added yogurt or cereal, it would have been much better. But overall, very happy with our selection-------the neighborhood is the best to stay in in Rome---------and would definitely return there! I give it 5 stars !!! Well worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellover99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Great value, OK location, clean rooms. Don't expect it to be luxurious - it is a "1 star hotel" after all. But it's got everything you need (including free wifi - albeit in the lounge + dining room), and nicer than a lot of 3 star hotels I've seen.

Room Tip: Air conditioning wasn't working in my room - so they gave me another room with a working A/C (wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thevicsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

A pretty basic hotel but in a good location within walking distance of everything there is to see in Rome, withouth beeing to near the most touristic parts. Cleaned roomPwith new sheets every day, air condition (a bit noicy though), good but small breakfast at the nice roof terrace and helpfull staff.

Priceworthy and location made the stay at Carmel Hotel pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BazonBacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beer-sheva, israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

we've been in this hotel at the begining of july and we enjoyed very much our staying there. the room we stayed in was large and convenient, very good air condition. there is a very nice veranda,the breakfast is served there.
about breakfast - they give small frozen roles heated in a microwave, they are not tasty. i would expected fresh roles, it seems to me that it should'nt be a big problem in a city like Rome, especialy where there are many bakeries and even a market near by.
except this the hotel and its enviroment are very good and most of the receptionists are willing to help.

Room Tip: we stayed at room no. 5 that has a direct access to the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank orna p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Sonnino Suite B&B
Sonnino Suite B&B
#483 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Domus Tiberina
Hotel Domus Tiberina
#501 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#288 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Trastevere
Villa della Fonte Guest House
Trastevere
Hotel Trastevere
Hotel Trastevere
#502 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Carmel

Property: Locanda Carmel
Address: Via Goffredo Mameli 11, 00153 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#199 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Locanda Carmel 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Locanda Carmel situated in Rome's charming Trastevere area. Look no further for superb value budget accommodation in a great location in Rome. A small and welcoming hotel in the medieval allure of Trastevere on the west side of the River Tiber, Hotel Carmel offers top quality service at affordable rates. With a variety of cheap Rooms available, we can cater for most types of guest, from travellers to couples or small families enjoying a break in Rome. All rooms are tastefully decorated and are fitted with modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Locanda Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing