We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Budget Hotel in Great Location”
Review of Hotel Arenula

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Arenula
Ranked #700 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We are four adults who shared a room in Hotel Arenula in July 2013. As other reviewers have said, the location of this hotel cannot be beat. It is within perfect walking distance of the most interesting sites and yet it is not loud and overwhelming. We stayed on the 4th floor, which did mean lots of walking up stairs. We are all in decent health and shape and I did not think taking stairs is that bad but the stairs are sort of awkwardly spaced and spiraling, which I will say is both charming and annoying. The staff was consistently friendly and the rooms were always clean. The beds were a little on the hard side, but after a long day of wandering Rome, we always slept just fine. We did have some issues with the shower pressure wearing off for the morning-showers but when I showered at night it was fine. Another thing to note is that the WiFi only worked when you were downstairs in the reception area, and even then there were a few times that it did not work. This wasn't that big of a deal, but of the 5 hotels we stayed in over our vacation in Europe, this is the only hotel we were in where the WiFi didn't work in the rooms. Breakfast was generally good, served continental style and included coffee, juice, croissants, cream cheese, other cheeses, crackers, fruits, yogurt, and cereal. I didn't care for the coffee but it was very easy to find other places with awesome coffee later.The days we were in Rome it was very, very hot and luckily the A/C worked great. I would definitely recommend this hotel based on its location and cleanliness. The way I see it is you're not spending much time in the hotel anyway, so you may as well save some money and just get a room that is clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachelk456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Arenula
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 441 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

Bottom line: Arenula is a 2 star hotel: 1 star for location, 1 star for being inexpensive by Roman hotel prices, 0 stars for accommodations. I wouldn't stay there again.

Pros:
-Great location: It's situated between the Jewish Ghetto (not a real ghetto, that's just the name) and the Campo di Fiori. The only time we had to take a taxi was to the Vatican, everything else was walkable.
-Quiet: It's down a small street off of a main street, so while it's centrally located, it's also nice and quiet.
-Maids catered to our requests when we left a nice note and a good tip

Cons:
-Unclean: torn sheets, mildew & mold-smelling bathroom (horribly smelly), dirty walls, did I already say that the bathroom was disgusting? We had to keep the door to the bathroom closed so the smell didn't infiltrate the room. When we went in the bathroom, we held our breath.
-Uncomfortable: The beds are rocks and pillows are extremely flat. It was very uncomfortable sleeping there. Luckily the maids brought extra pillows for us when we wrote a nice note and left a good tip.
-Air conditioner: It was loud and hardly worked. It might have cooled the room by 5 degrees Fahrenheit, maybe.
-Grumpy staff: When we arrived, the man behind the counter was not friendly. We didn't hear him ask for our passports and when he repeated himself a few minutes later after we were just standing there thinking he was doing something on the computer to get our room ready, he gave us serious attitude and rolled his eyes. Not the best welcome. Also, I would have appreciated it if they had someone would have carried our bags up the stairs for us. I didn't mind the stairs and no elevator. But, when we had the same situation at a hotel in New York, they had someone do that for us and we gave them good tips for it.
-Breakfast: I'm not complaining about the food itself, because we realized after visiting 3 cities that breakfast in Italy is a wash anyway. The only thing we didn't like was being forced to sit down and eat in an awkward room. We don't drink coffee and so we just went down to grab some of the crackers and cheese each morning and bring it back to our room. One of the mornings, one of the Hotel staff members snapped at me and made me feel like I was doing something evil.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank epoeschl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The location for this hotel is amazing. Loads of restaurants and bars around the hotel and within walking distance of many of the sights in Rome.

The price was amazingly good for such a good hotel. The only reason why it is a 2 star and not a 3 star is because there is no lift in my opinion.

Reception is on the first floor. Luckily our room was also on the first floor. Don't let it put you off as the hotel is considerably better than a 3 star i stayed in a few months ago. Air Conditioning, Safe and TV all in the room.

Beds were very hard but after a long day anyone can sleep on them.

For those traveling from Fiumicino Airport get the train to Roma Trastevere then tram line 8. The whole trip will take about 45 minutes. €8 train and €1.50 tram.

Room Tip: Some rooms closer to via Arenula may be noisy. Because there is no lift i room on the first or seco...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSMU7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The location and price are excellent, other than that set your expectations low. The rooms are small, typical size for Rome though. The biggest drawback is that there is not an elevator in the hotel, we were on the fifth floor and hauling luggage was a pain in the neck.

The breakfast offered was much better than I expected. The AC worked well. The location is great walking distance to Pantheon, Trevi Fountain. Also the Trestavere area is just across the river and access to tons of great restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turtle722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Nice hotel,great location in rome 15 mins to vatican,10 mins to pantheon,tram stop outside hotel.Rome terminal railway station 10 mins by bus.
Staff could not do enough
Hotel clean,tidy excellent value for money.


  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is not a luxury hotel but it is perfectly adequate and the location is great. Don't stay here if you really are unable to handle stairs, but the steps are shallow and any reasonably mobile person should have no problem. Breakfast is in four sittings and perhaps the hotel needs to make it clear that guests should arrive at the start of their sitting, not anytime within it, as queues can from later on.
The hotel is clean, comfortable, friendly and good value for money. Apart from the surprisingly good supply of toileteries, there is little luxury but you get what you pay for and when on a city break how long do you spend in your hotel anyway?

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keeproamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed her for 3 nights. I have to say first impressions of the staff and hotel were not great. Got to the hotel at 1pm and was told would have to come back at 4pm not really what i wanted to hear after getting off a flight.
The hotel for the location is fantastic - close to everything you need and want in Rome.
Bad Points
Loads of stairs and no help getting you case up and down on check in and check out. Rooms basic. Beds Hard. Breakfast well can't really call it that it was more like a piece of bread and coffee and a croissant out of a a packet. Room had a funny smell its hard to describe.
The price tag for this hotel is good for the location but thats about it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ady2k0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Imperium Suite Navona
Imperium Suite Navona
#645 of 1,267 in Rome
489 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Pomezia
Hotel Pomezia
#989 of 1,267 in Rome
333 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Domus Ester
Domus Ester
#895 of 1,267 in Rome
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Primavera
Hotel Primavera
#432 of 1,267 in Rome
258 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Exe Hotel Della Torre Argentina
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Locanda Cairoli
Hotel Locanda Cairoli
#670 of 1,267 in Rome
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arenula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenula

Address: Via di Santa Maria De' Calderari 47, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #700 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $123 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Arenula 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Arenula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenula Hotel Rome
Arenula Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing