We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Museum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Museum
Ranked #441 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I have stayed at Hotel Alimandi 3 times and have recommended it to friends several times, all with the same review. The hotel is efficient and clean, nothing fancy but in a great location. You are steps away from the Vatican and some of the best gelato in the world. The staff is very friendly and the rooftop breakfast room is wonderful. Francesco greets you every morning with a wonderful smile and an amazing cup of espresso. He has been there for years and makes the morning!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank debdex66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Museum
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 300 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

I traveled to Rome with 23 others for a class trip, and I think a majority of us were quite please with this hotel. It is STEPS from the entrance to the Vatican, and the hotel is in easy walking distance to public transportation and the bus. It was also very easy to walk and in a nice neighborhood. It is very basic and clean and the staff was very helpful with providing close restaurants within walking distance. The breakfast in the morning was the best part...very convenient and generous. The breakfast room on the terrace was very nice. Although this is a very basic hotel, it is a perfect place to crash at night!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelstervee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed at Alimandi from 24/12 to 31/12.Weather was beautiful every day which of course colours opinions but staying at the hotel was once again a pleasure.Sr.Alimandi and all of his staff were delightful and very helpful once more with much good advice about things to see and do.Breakfast in the 4e terrace restaurant was fine and Francesco a bit of a delight although he seems to think that the British only eat bacon and eggs!Good job we did a lot of walking in the constant sunshine.Had a room on 1st floor opposite the gelateria and no problems with noise.Car was waiting at airport on arrival on evening of 24th as hoped and whisked us to the hotel.We were also allowed to leave our luggage all day on 31st before leaving in the evening which was a relief and much appreciated.Thanks to everyone at the hotel for a great stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lotois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Location best for Vatican, easy to catch bus and subway to other areas. Clean, basic, NOT fancy, wifi free, staff at desk very good and helpful, breakfast fun on roof top, food average but plentiful with the chief extremely fun and welcoming every morning. You can use roof top garden in evening for wine/cheese. No problem with language, staff spoke english very well. Did not need AC in Oct, we found it very quiet, small bathroom but plenty towels/hot water and able to do laundry in the sink. The elevator small, but 2people and bags just fit. No pool, piano in lobby room. Not a romantic spot, grocery close, restaurants in area nothing special.
The sister Hotel Almandi just up aprox 100 steps and right across entrance to Vatican Museum appeared more upgraded, but did not go into rooms and not sure of different cost.

Room Tip: We were on 5th floor just below roof garden facing side road, noticed larger room that had a small d...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Alimandi in Rome in August 2012. It was convenient to the Vatican. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The breakfast was generous . The best thing was the help we received from the staff for directions and how to get places in the city. Also, they arranged to have my friends' 84 year old mother met at the airport and transported to the train station and see that see got on the train to Florence where we were after we left Rome.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Hotel Alamandi, is a pleasant little hotel with a labyrinthine floor plan. The rooms were small but satisfactory. The street noise at all hours was mildly distracting. Ear plugs helped when trying to sleep.The bed was comfortable. The A/C struggled with the late summer heat. Bathroom was small but serviceable. Despite all of that seemingly negative stuff, it is adjacent to the Vatican Museum and portal to all things Papal. The roof top garden / dining area is pleasant. The staff were especially helpful in navigating the Roman sites, and for explaining transportation options.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The Hotel Alimandi Tunisi is a wonderful place to stay! It is literally located near the front entrance of the world famous Vatican City Museum and an easy walk to St. Peter's Square, St. Peter's Basilica and so many other wonderful attractions nearby. We purposely wanted to located in this area of Rome and pleased we did. The Hotel Alimandi Tunisi has been run by the gracious Alimandi family since 1960! Their exceptional accommodations were most appreciated. The staff there was engaging, helpful and very friendly. They also had a great command of the English language which helped us immeasurably as we tried our limited Italian. The setting was stunning. On beautiful mornings, we even had breakfast upstairs in the penthouse area with a wonderful view. The breakfasts there were remarkable. A notable gentleman, Franchesco, was particularly friendly and very well mannered. We were served far more than we expected for a traditional European breakfast. While you are in a city, you actually feel you are more in a neighborhood environment which we loved. You can walk in almost any direction to find a wide range of restaurants. In sum, I would highly recommend the Hotel Alimandi Tunisi for those who intend to properly see Rome in a week's time. I would also recommend travelers to use the "Roma Pass" for three days. If we were to return to Rome, we would return to the Hotel Alimandi Tunisi.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buddy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Alimandi Vaticano
#50 of 1,267 in Rome
824 reviews
Heart Hotel
#110 of 1,267 in Rome
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Flower
#747 of 1,267 in Rome
27 reviews
Prati
Amalia Hotel
Amalia Hotel
#424 of 1,267 in Rome
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Museum

Address: Via Tunisi 8, 00192 Rome, Italy (Formerly Hotel Alimandi Tunisi)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #441 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $97 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Museum 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Museum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alimandi Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing