We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice reasonably priced hotel well worth the stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Santa Prisca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Santa Prisca
Ranked #627 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A nice reasonably priced hotel well worth the stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2009

A family member and I just returned from Rome, where we stayed at the Santa Prisca. It was pleasant, very clean, and served our needs well. The room was small and the bathroom was too but seemed new. Both were air conditioned. We enjoyed not being in the tourist areas of Rome. The hotel is at the foot of the Aventino, one of Rome's lovliest residential neighborhoods, Across the street is testaccio, a bustling local working-class neighborhood with some excellent local restaurants and trattorrias. (You'll need reservations for Felice but go!) The street in front has one of Rome's great deli's, Volpetti. While off the beaten track, the hotel is convenient to bus lines and the subway is aobut four blocks away. The price is well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MuseumMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    65
    28
    9
    5
See reviews for
17
27
7
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2008

I've been here in Testaccio for the last two weeks on a work related trip. I have 2 more nights to go. The company takes care of the accommodations so, I didn't really have a choice. Needless to say, I would not recommend this hotel to anybody. The building is a converted convent thus many of the rooms are former nuns cells - tiny! The street noise is the worst I've experienced anywhere. In my line of work that's saying a lot. The Econo Lodge on Main street in Winnemucca, Nevada is quieter. The bathrooms are very small with the classic 2' x 2' Italian shower, but instead of the usual Plexiglas doors, they come with very clingy shower curtains. It's like being smothered in wet tissue paper. You're lucky if housekeeping remembers to give you clean towels. They will, however, always remove the dirty ones, leaving you with no towel at all. For the price, get a bigger room with a real bathroom closer to the center and just take the metro to come to Testaccio or Trastevere. You'll sleep better!

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank N2RUINS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London
Level Contributor
119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2008

Stayed there on business in September 2007, and the room was a twin bed room, with an ensuite bathroom.
Sounded nice, the room was extremely basic, the beds had very thin mattresses and what was effectively a camp bed frame. The pillows were very hard, making it difficult to sleep. The TV was tiny, and only provided local TV, no sky or international channels.

The bathroom was awful, paint was peeling, and mould in the corners. Bars on tne windows made it feel like a prison.
There was little food served at breakfast, and the pastries provided tasted stale. The milk I requested for my tea had a fly in it.
It is not walking distance to the centre. very little in terms of restaurants around it. Service was lacking, as needed an iron, to iron blouse for meeting the followng day, and the staff were most unhelpful. Said irons were not allowed!

The lounge area did have internet access, but the seating was old and tattered.

I would not stay here ever again.

  • Disliked — All of it
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ADailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2008

Like others have mentioned, this place isn't fancy or luxurious, but it's always solid and the staff is very helpful. Nice that it's set in a little park with palm trees. The best thing it has going for it is the more quiet residential aspect of Testaccio, plus the restaurants and farmers market south of Via Marmorata. With a pastry shop and cheese/meat shop across the street, what more do you need? But more seriously, the metro is nearby, trams and buses go up and down Marmorata, and you can take a pleasant walk up the Tiber to get into the heart of the city with the main Renaissance and Classical monuments. Really liked the area around the hotel the first time I was in Rome, and have subsequently rented apartments in Testaccio on other visits.

  • Liked — Convenience to transportation and the neighborhood
  • Disliked — The decor could be a little nicer
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2007

I first visited this hotel about 15 years ago, I found it depressing then and it remains the same now. It is a former convent, the rooms are small, and the bathrooms tiny - and the drains smell. The shower has nasty plastic curtains which stick to you when wet. The (very worthy) energy saving light bulbs add to the sense of gloom. As my room was on the street side, it was very noisy.
On the plus side,the staff are very pleasant and the place is perfectly clean, the room rates are very reasonable for Rome.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thetwojs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2006

stayed there twice last year. Price is right, location great. Only two Metro stops from the central train station, and two bus stops away from Palatine Hill, forum, and Colisseum. Has a small park next to the hotel where we enjoyed a free concert one night. In a quiet residential neighborhood, but can find several good restaurants around it frequented by the locals. Altogether it is close to the heart of Rome yet somehow off the tourist track.

Pros:
* They have internet access. Used it to book train.
* Staff very nice overall, and accomodating.
* helped in booking taxi, making concert reservations - manager very nice
* very quiet - hard to find in Italy


Cons:
* breakfast is mediocre
* there seems to be a primary school next door. Wakes you up early on weekdays
* one waiter was rude - we had come down for breakfast, and apparently he had just rearranged one section of the dining room for lunch. There were no signs, so we just picked a table, only to be greeted with a "no, no, no" from that waiter. How are we supposed to know? No manners.


Issues:
* Did not have room I requested upon arrival, so upgraded us to bigger room with promise to move us the next day. The new room had a private bathroom, but like many Italy hotels, the bathroom was not in the room. They gave us a discount for that inconvenience. Next day we decided to stay in the big room and keep the discount.

* Somewhat hard to find. We did fine ourselves with a combination of Metro and bus the first time. Second time I had run out of cash [no banks open on weekends] and so couldn't use Metro. Had to wait 1 hour at the station for a cab that takes credit cards, and he had a hard time finding the place. I had to tell him to take me to the Pyramide and then gave him directions myself. The hotel is not hard to find - more likely it was my Italian accent that the driver couldn't get.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2005

Hotel Santa Prisca was defintely a find! After spending hours surfing 'round, comparing rates and services to find a clean, familyrun type hotel with a little extra, I went for S Prisca and did not regret it for a second!

At first I was surprised that they took my reservation without deposit or credit card nr. ... Just my name seemed to be sufficient. Already had a good feeling when calling to book the room and it only got better

PERSONNEL: all very nice and helpful

LOCATION: in the lively and "real Rome" Testaccio neighbourhood, with Underground (M: Piramida), train and buses within minutes walk. Buses to Vatican and many other central destinations stop right in front of the S Prisca
The hotel's location is on a small hill above street level which is a really nice detail
All very close to the hotel are Testaccio Market, Volpetti (the best deli in Rome), lots of specialty food and wine shops, cafes and terrific restaurants and a vibrant nightlife scene a bit further down


ROOMS: mine was really small but very quiet, and had a small but immaculate bathroom - I partucularly liked the old fashioned style (mix of 50s and 70s) furniture and details, so refreshing after having stayed too often in hotels belonging to international chains

There is a lounge, a little bar at the hotel and a bright breakfast room. Breakfast is simple but OK though try to go early. You can have breakfast extras but be prepared to pay the price...

S Prisca also has an outside terrace with tables and chairs to relax

If you want to stay in the real Rome, in an immaculately clean, pleasant hotel at a reasonable price then the Sta Prisca is ideal!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank naftalinabrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Major Aventinus Hotel
Major Aventinus Hotel
#899 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Aventine
Domus Aventina
Domus Aventina
#654 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#92 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Testaccio
Re Testa
Re Testa
#424 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#61 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Ostiense
Cleopatra Affittacamere
Cleopatra Affittacamere
#657 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Prisca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Prisca

Property: Hotel Santa Prisca
Address: Largo Manlio Gelsomini 25, 00153 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #627 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Santa Prisca 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE HOTEL The hotel is located in the Aventine has been in business for 50 years, surrounded by a garden with private parking and 'embellished with Lebanon cedars, flowering plants and tropical plants, pine trees and oleanders, is a sleek and attractive building built in the fifties. A spacious terrace surrounded by plants is available to customers for the sultry evenings of the year or in the evenings to enjoy the peace of the Roman garden. Adjacent to the lobby of the hotel, just renovated, is the living room with the fixed location of the Internet for our clients. On the same floor there is a restaurant, bar and a small room for private meetings or meetings for 8/10 people. RESTAURANT Our restaurant serves traditional Roman cuisine, without forgetting the international cuisine to suit the needs of our guests. The desserts prepared by hand, seasonal fruit is always fresh, the wine cellar stocked with classic wines DOC national, along with the kindness of our waiters help to make your stay a pleasant moment of your day. SERVICES ROOMS Non-smoking rooms WI-FI (FREE) Phone LDC flat screen TV Hairdryer Air conditioning Heating Bathroom with shower or bath Cot on request HOTEL SERVICES Multilingual concierge 24 hbreakfast buffet from 7 am to 10.00 Am Room service is available from 7 am to 21Servizio lavanderiaServizio stiraturaPrenotazione excursions, theater, museums, city tours, ristorantiTrasferimenti private car from hotel to airport and vice versaCassafortePostazione internetDeposito storage 24 hParcheggio private BAR The bar located in a picturesque corner of the hotel, and 'open from 7 to 21 and from 18 on request, our barman offers theme nights, happy hours and cocktail classics of' international hotel business. LOCATION The Hotel Santa Prisca is located at the foot of the Aventine Hill, the hill noble of the eternal city. In front of the Testaccio neighborhood full of life, full of restaurants and trendy night spots, surrounded by a garden, is a 'quiet island for a pleasant stay in a friendly and relaxing environment. Surrounded by the remains of ancient Rome, witness of the past still live in the Eternal City. By Train From Termini station take the metro line "B" direction Laurentina, get off at Piramide. Cross Piazza di Porta San Paolo and reach Via Ravello, just after the first traffic light turn right you walk through the gate of the hotel. By car From the highway take the exit "Ostiense" towards the center, continue on the Via Ostia until you get to Piazza di Porta San Paolo, make a half turn dellapiazza to Via Ravello, at the first traffic light on the right you walk through the green gate of the hotel. By plane From Fiumicino airport take the train to Rome - Ostiense, get off at Ostiense station, take Via delle Cave Ardeatine and walk to Piazza di Porta San Paolo, cross the square, Via Marmorata reach the first traffic light on the right you walk through the gate green of the hotel. (Rome) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Santa Prisca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Prisca Hotel Rome
Santa Prisca Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing