We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great - Very Accommodating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Ranked #57 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great - Very Accommodating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

This hotel is very sweet and small, but the perfect location. The staff always wants to help out and are willing to bring you anything you need. Breakfast was good, not great but perfect for early mornings in Rome. I would recommend this place.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank luann b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    99
    12
    6
    11
See reviews for
102
147
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleckheaton, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Scalinata Di Spanga, for three nights last week and really enjoyed our stay. The location was good, close to the top of the Spanish Steps, and very handy for the metro. The breakfast was good eaten on the terrace, which was open for coffee all day. We had a good room on the same floor as the breakfast bar which was clean and comfortable. The staff on the reception were very pleasant and helpful and recommended a good restaurant only a few minutes away. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Scalinata Di Spanga for 4 nights recently and were just delighted with the experience. The hotel staff was first rate, both efficient, helpful and friendly. They gave us recommendations, knew the guide we hired (by coincidence), and made us feel like family. The room was on the small side, but pretty and comfortable. The breakfast was wonderful, and there were cappuccinos and beverages available at all hours. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, SC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

In a perfect location just steps from the Spanish Steps and the Hassler Hotel(perfect for a drink), the rooms were lovely, the terrace great for a late night drink and breakfast was nice, the shops nearby were amazing and lots of great restaurants nearby, a short walk to the Trevi Fountain, friendly staff, good shower.......can 't say enough nice things about this hotel. We surely would stay there again and again.....................,,,.,

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SallieSpartanburg_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

This hotel was amazing for us! It was in a perfect location for great restaurants, shopping, and getting to all the big sites. The staff was very friendly, welcoming, and helpful for all our many questions. The roof-top patio is fantastic. You get a full view of Rome while eating your breakfast and we would buy a bottle of wine after dinner and go to the patio to relax and enjoy the view. The rooms were very clean and the breakfast had a wide variety and was fresh every morning. We have zero complaints for our visit! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NicoleElaine88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

As a base for exploring the city the hotel is ideal. Yes the rooms aren't huge but if you are using this hotel you are likely to be exploring the city not spending hours in the place. Our rooms were clean and tidy and the breakfast provided enough variety to keep everyone happy. The staff are friendly and helpful. Nearby are some decent places to eat that don't cost the earth and if you turn left out of the front door you are at the top of the Spanish Steps.

Room Tip: I would probably pick a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

The rooms are beautiful and cozy and the staff are very friendly. We had adjoining rooms for our family, which was perfect, and our rooms even opened up onto a wonderful balcony with a view over Rome. The bedrooms are small, but really it's just what you need. They have a great sunny breakfast and an outdoor balcony eating area, with a very nice and simple selection of breakfast foods. The staff were very accommodating for our rooms, and gave us helpful directions around the city, especially Fabio. We were definitely come back if we return to Rome. It was the perfect hotel for us!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatC173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#117 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#94 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Campo Marzio
Mario de' Fiori 37
Mario de' Fiori 37
#24 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#285 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scalinata di Spagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scalinata di Spagna

Property: Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Address: Piazza della Trinita dei Monti, 17, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#179 Family Hotel in Rome
#248 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Scalinata di Spagna 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting the best location in Rome, at the top of the Spanish Steps, 3 star hotel Scalinata di Spagna offers a warm and elegant atmosphere as well as the most beautiful view of the Eternal City. Following extensive renovation works, the hotel is now ready to welcome guests in a more exclusive and elegant ambiance. Mentioned by the best tourist guides such as Fodor and Frommer, the Scalinata di Spagna is the best accommodation choice for those in search of a tiny and elegant hotel in Rome city centre equipped with all the necessary facilities for a comfortable stay in this outstanding ancient city.Guests will easily reach on foot all the main historical and tourist sites as well as the most exclusive shopping areas, such as Via Condotti, Via Frattina or Via del Corso boasting the best Italian fashion boutiques. The area also offers a wide choice of bars and restaurants, and Via Veneto, the famous street of La dolce vita, is just a few blocks away.Scalinata di Spagna Hotel facilities include a panoramic terrace, free wireless internet access and an Internet Point. Furthermore the hotel's staff is at your complete disposal in order to make the most of your memorable holiday in Rome.Please note: Complete renovation of the guestrooms and of the public areas has been completed in March 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Scalinata di Spagna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scalinata Di Spagna Rome
Scalinata Di Spagna Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing