We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Ranked #58 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The hotel is located at the top of the Spanish steps, a great location. The staff is very friendly and assisted us in arranging for a guide for both the Colosseum and the Vatican. Breakfast was great, with several selections, as well as a roof top porch overlooking the city. We would definitely stay there again!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank 400melissak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 445 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel right at home. Fabio and his staff were accommodating, courteous, and kind. We had all of Rome at our fingertips from the top of the Spanish steps. We plan to be back on our next trip to Rome.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peterkru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

recently stayed at Scalinata di Spagna... was absolutely perfect! Location couldn't be better..at the top of the Spanish Steps! An elevator is nearby (at the metro stop) if steps aren't your thing. Also, going the other way down the Via Sistina leads you to many great shops and restaurants. Hotel itself was great...rooms were, well, roomy and breakfast was awesome. I would recommend this hotel for anyone who wants a great location with local flavor. Fabio was helpful whenever we had a question. Would definitely stay here again!

We had a family suite..combination of friends family...worked out well,

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patricia Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I would not change one thing about this hotel! Friendly staff, perfect location at the top of the Spanish Steps, nice breakfast selection, beautiful clean rooms and views. My friends and I had one of the family suites with two bedrooms and two baths. Loved it and hope to return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Scalinata is our favorite " pensionne " in Italy. We have stayed there many times over the last ten years. It is not the " Four Seasons ". If you want that go across the Piazza to the " Hassler", but if you want , clean, quaint, reasonable, and one of the best locations in Rome, stay there and spend your mney at " Sofia's" a great restaurant just a block and 1/2 away.

Room Tip: All different. We think 2nd floor is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The staff was rude and my few interactions with them left me feeling like I was intruding. NOT welcoming, AT ALL! With a desk at the front door, they never even bothered to look up to acknowledge my comings and goings. Awaken at 6:30 am with the staff moving chairs and tables up stairs above my room, food for breakfast was old, one key per room only, Location is great for the Spanish Steps, but not worth dealing with this hotel. Find another place!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank zofmdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scalinata, Proprietario at Hotel Scalinata di Spagna, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013
Google Translation

Salve,
la ringrazio per la sua e mi dispiace molto che non si è trovato bene da noi.
Il personale è sempre molto gentile con tutti, e questo è confermato dai tanti giudizi che abbiamo ricevuto su Trip Advisor e su Booking.com e che lei stesso può leggere.
Non capisco cosa vuole dire con "non abbiamo cercato di riconoscere i suoi spostamenti".
La chiave per l'accesso alle camere, di tipo tradizionale, in stile con l'Hotel, è una sola per motivi ì di sicurezza. Cosi possiamo avere un controllo capillare e garantire i clienti. Comunque in caso di bisogno abbiamo le masterkey e poi noi siamo sempre pronti ad intervenire.
La colazione inizia alle 7,30 e il personale addetto arriva alle 7,00. Per cui il rumore da lei sentito deve essere stato prodotto da altri clienti molto mattinieri e non curanti degli altri, per cui io mi scuso ovviamente.
La colazione:
- ogni mattina arrivano cornetti e panini freschi. Se vuole posso inviarle il nominativo del fornitore per sua garanzia.
- vengono offerti 2 tipologie di pan carrè e 2 di panini, 2 di torta, 3 di cereali, 3 tipologie di fette biscottate, 5 di biscotti, 6 di yogurt; 5 di marmellata oltre nutella, miele, burro e macedonia con frutta fresca;
- vengono offerti uova sode e strapazzate, pancetta, salame, prosciutto, tacchino e 2 tipologie di formaggio;
- ci sono 2 tipologie di caffè (italiano macinato fresco e americano), cappuccino, caffelatte, cioccolato, 2 tipologie di succhi di frutta, 2 di latte, 6 tipologie di the e 4 tra zucchero e dolcificanti;
- su richiesta anche prodotti particolari, tipo senza glutine, basso contenuto di lattosio, ecc.
Il caffè italiano macinato fresco, il cappuccino, il the e l'acqua fredda sono gratuiti H24 in sala colazione.
Le forniture arrivano tutti i giorni in quanto essendoci molti hotel in zona i furgoni sono sempre qui.
Cordiali saluti
Fabrizio Jemma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

After reading some of the previous reviews I was a little nervous when I booked this hotel. However I am so pleased to say that we were very impressed with this hotel. Great location and the staff at reception (all 4 in total) were extremely helpful in so many ways for the 3 nighst we stayed there. They took our bags, they assisted with directions, they were friendly and helpful. One gentleman has worked for the hotel for 35 years and was so passionate and proud to work there - it was impressive. My wifi signal wasn't great at one point, so they gave me the whole wifi signaller to put in my room for the duration for which I needed access. So nice.
If you are expecting a big lobby and large rooms this is not for you. However for Rome, the room is a reasonable size which slept us - a family with 2 small children. We weren't in the room for long, except to sleep and so it worked perfectly.
Breakfast was a standard self service buffet, which I felt was a little understaffed and some items ran out which weren't replenished. But we weren't too bothered and it certainly didn't affect our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LCB9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#108 of 1,270 in Rome
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#111 of 1,270 in Rome
1,235 reviews
Colonna
Infinity Hotel Roma
Infinity Hotel Roma
#59 of 1,270 in Rome
682 reviews
Campo Marzio
Mario de' Fiori 37
Mario de' Fiori 37
#23 of 1,270 in Rome
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scalinata di Spagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scalinata di Spagna

Address: Piazza della Trinita' Dei Monti 17, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#248 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $105 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Scalinata di Spagna 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting the best location in Rome, at the top of the Spanish Steps, 3 star hotel Scalinata di Spagna offers a warm and elegant atmosphere as well as the most beautiful view of the Eternal City. Following extensive renovation works, the hotel is now ready to welcome guests in a more exclusive and elegant ambiance. Mentioned by the best tourist guides such as Fodor and Frommer, the Scalinata di Spagna is the best accommodation choice for those in search of a tiny and elegant hotel in Rome city centre equipped with all the necessary facilities for a comfortable stay in this outstanding ancient city.Guests will easily reach on foot all the main historical and tourist sites as well as the most exclusive shopping areas, such as Via Condotti, Via Frattina or Via del Corso boasting the best Italian fashion boutiques. The area also offers a wide choice of bars and restaurants, and Via Veneto, the famous street of La dolce vita, is just a few blocks away.Scalinata di Spagna Hotel facilities include a panoramic terrace, free wireless internet access and an Internet Point. Furthermore the hotel's staff is at your complete disposal in order to make the most of your memorable holiday in Rome.Please note: Complete renovation of the guestrooms and of the public areas has been completed in March 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Scalinata di Spagna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scalinata Di Spagna Rome
Scalinata Di Spagna Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing