We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean, awesome patio”
Review of Hotel Smeraldo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Smeraldo
Ranked #138 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We have stayed in this hotel for two nights during the summer of 2014. Overall, it is a solid 3 star hotel.

PROS:
- AWESOME location, walk everywhere (close to piazza Navona, Campo Di Fiori, Pantheon, Trastevere)
- Clean rooms
- Helpful staff
- GREAT views from the patio.
- Adequate breakfast (selection of yoghourt, meats, bread, some fruit, tea, coffee, juices)

CONS:
- Expensive?

Room Tip: Ask for a room on upper floor with a window in the bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiktor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 1,113 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2014

Smeraldo was a great location for sightseeing in Rome. My wife and I walked to the Coliseum, Forum, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, St Peters and the Vatican Museum. The roof terraces were great for relaxing and sipping some wine. The room was clean and updated. Great restaurant's and gelato just a couple steps outside the hotel. The only issue we had was only getting one room key because they were running short of entry cards. Never did get an extra key.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Loved this hotel. Staff was very friendly, breakfast was very good, and location was perfect for us. Rooms are small, but we were on the go so that wasn't an issue. I would stay here again. Would like to see the rooftop area fixed up.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

I loved this hotel. The price was very reasonable and the location was absolutely perfect if you prefer to explore the city by walking . Our room was newly renovated and was perfect for a 3-4 day stay. Highlights: the bed was comfortable, our room had a balcony, roof terrace open to guests, bathroom had a waterfall shower, and the staff was very friendly. The only negative is that the TV only has 2 channels (CNN Int. and a German station I think) but who wants to watch TV in Rome anyway?

There is a great bakery on the side street next to the hotel with delicious pizza. There's also a gelato stand and several restaurants near by. Also, the Campo de' Fiori is a 2-minute walk and a great place to sit and people-watch. If I get the chance to return to Rome, I will stay here again without a doubt!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Marlena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

The only positive note is the position of the hotel. Small and old room, no view (on an inner and disordered space), noise of conditioning system (or other stuff), very small bathroom. Just ok for one night. I would not arrange a longer staying there.

Room Tip: View on the small street is maybe to be preferred, couse very few cars passes there. On the opposite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank cristina p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Excellent location and very helpful staff. The bath is extremely small, in line with most Rome hotels. We had 2 rooms. The air conditioner in one of the rooms was terrible and the manager just could not fix it. Also, there was no hot water in the shower in the mornings, perhaps when more guests in other rooms were having their shower too.......despite complaining the manager did not understand or could not fix. However, the location, the very good breakfast and rooftop terrace made up to enable us to rate the property well.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank BhupiJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We were very pleased with this hotel.The room was small but otherwise very nice and comfortable (and, as others have noted, quiet). One minor downside was the lack of a mini bar. All of our other hotel rooms in Europe had one and they were useful to keep a few things cold. Breakfast was very nice as well. Some have commented on the coffee being horrible, but we found it okay - not as good as we had at some other hotels on our trip, but fine to start the day. The terrace was also another plus, though we were only able to use it once since it was raining 2 of the 3 days we were there. The staff was very helpful, offering valuable information about how to get to places. There was a bit of confusion at the end of our stay when we were told the evening before we checked out that we could divide our bill between the cash we had left (we were returning to the US the next day) and our credit card and then told we could not do that the morning we left. But that left us with the pleasant problem of which bottles of wine to buy at the duty free store at the airport to take home with us to run through our euros.

But the location of this hotel is by far and away the biggest selling point. It's a great value for being as close as it is (5 minute walk, I'd say) to Campo dei Fiori. Even closer is a great restaurant right across the street from where you enter (had the swordfish tuscany style - delicious!). Just a few more steps away is Vineria Salumeria Roscoli. We didn't eat there since you seriously need reservations in advance, but bought two bottles of wine there and was not disappointed. They definitely know their wines making it a dependable place to buy one for the room. More accessible is their deli style extension, the Forno Roscioli where we had the best quick lunch of our vacation. We were very pleased being right in the middle of such a great neighborhood in Rome.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank shendley36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Pensione Barrett
Hotel Pensione Barrett
#73 of 1,272 in Rome
831 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Navona
Hotel Navona
#112 of 1,272 in Rome
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Ponte Sisto
Hotel Ponte Sisto
#127 of 1,272 in Rome
1,596 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#44 of 1,272 in Rome
1,063 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Argentina
Residenza Argentina
#38 of 1,272 in Rome
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Smeraldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Smeraldo

Address: Via Dei Chiavari 20, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#315 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $119 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Smeraldo 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Smeraldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smeraldo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing